Sir Oxman wrote: » Discussion could have evolved on: Underage drinking. Parental supervision. Societal values. Ubiquity of every moment of everyday life being filmed and uploaded for public view. The rights and wrongs of those who videoed it. Privacy rights etc etc ...
Boards.ie: Nicola wrote: » Our stance and the actions taken have very little to do with cyber bullying, we knew no good would come from the video or threads so acted accordingly. There is no double standard or enforcing of class divisions at play here, if, in any of the other cases mentioned we foresaw the potential for a huge amount of trouble then the same action would have been taken. With stuff like this we have to take it on a case by case basis, applying a one size fits all rule simply isn't feasible.
RandolphEsq wrote: » The double standards argument; just because this girl talks in an accent, looks the way she does, and says the things she does, there is a mass amount of begrudging. This isn'ta typical random Irish person drunkenly ranting for that reason. People in Ireland take anyone down who is up on a pedestal. Fair play to the father for working hard in life, and fair play to the girl for not taking that crap the begrudgers like to throw.
Skid wrote: » If that is a euphemism for "we didn't want to receive correspondence from her Father's solicitors" then you should just say so.
Boards.ie: Nicola wrote: » Ethical and cyber bullying implications aside, and while nobody was explicitly defamed in the video, there is a part of the Defamation Act which deals with damage to reputation and this video has the potential to do that for the girl and her family.
Gosub wrote: » For me, the issue is that Boards.ie have taken fright because the girl probably has serious clout behind her. This is journalistic cowardice. However, this is a privately run board and they make the rules. If that includes a level of cowardice, so be it. Let's move on.
P. Breathnach wrote: » Yeah, right. You have been posting here since 2004 and have thousands of posts in your record. Do you seriously believe that is what would have happened? Even the tone of the "discussion about discussion" in this forum persuades me that you are wrong. It is clear that there are people who want to eviscerate her with impunity.
Penn wrote: » OH MY GOD! So? It wouldn't change anything. Notice how Youtube, Dailymotion etc have been taking down the videos? Do they use KPMG too? The fact remains that there are legal implications to showing the video and Boards doesn't want that trouble. Hell, the audience guy in the Late Late was bringing out injunctions and Boards removed the videos and pics. The guy who was alleged to have done a runner from a taxi hit Boards with an injunction Do their fathers work at KPMG too?
pithater1 wrote: » Would the Indo cover this 'story' I think you'll find the answer is no, this is for many reasons, 2 of which are respect for the privacy of the individual involved and the almighty legal schitstorm that running with it would bring.
mikemac1 wrote: » The Indo has respect Bwahahahahaha :pac: Liam Lawlor was in a car crash with his translator and they said she was a hooker Waaaay offtopic post
PC CDROM wrote: » http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056709484 descended into pure bullying IMO. (I was being sarcastic in that btw, while making a point that went over peoples heads)
Fr_Dougal wrote: » Guess who Boards.ie Ltd. and Distilled Media Ltd. use as auditors? KPMG
jonsnow wrote: » Meanwhile the corkschoolgirls tearing each other apart thread is still open.Just posted on it. I guess they are at no risk of cyberbullying.
Oryx wrote: » Its just the cynic in me who sees the ban on discussion occurring primarily as a result of this video being associated with a big company with a big legal team. Not because we want to protect a silly 16 year old who is, as we speak, being witch hunted all over the web anyway. The great thing about boards discussions, when they are allowed, is that they are NOT witch hunts; the ethos and moderation here ensures they generally dont deteriorate into such without the need for a blanket ban. But maybe I see a conspiracy where there is none. Anyway, I hope the girl gets to forget about this sooner rather than later.
Fr_Dougal wrote: » This reeks of double standards. Scumbag howls racist abuse on a train, fire away lads; chances are she's not lawyered up. Princess howls abuse at people in a different social class to her, stop; her doddy has a few bob and will sue us. People should be allowed post the video and discuss it on boards, but I would suggest it is done on one of the stricter fora where you're less likely to get trolls; maybe Humanities.
Sully wrote: » As Nicola said, its not a 'one size fits all' rule. The two threads are completely different.
Sully wrote: » OMG! To the Conspiracy Theories forum! *puts on tinfoil hat* The mods wouldn't have known that and there was no direction from Boards.ie Admins/Owners to do anything. The mods acted on their own and made the right choice.
smash wrote: » I don't think she'll do it again, unless of course it gets 100% censored and she realises how powerful her position as one of the elite in Irish society actually is. She's a bully in real life, telling others that they'll get nowhere, or they can't afford 'real' shoes etc etc. A witch hunt is not needed though and at this stage I'd say she knows what it's like to be on the receiving end.