tayto lover wrote: » They should protest outside the homes of the Ministers. Make their homes the subject of the protest in the same way as they made our homes the targets of their attacks. I know for certain that this effected the thinking of Dermot Aherne when people protested outside his home. He didn't last long in his ministry afterwards and jumped ship. Protesting outside the Dail they can ignore.
tayto lover wrote: » Labour are next year's Greens.
dvpower wrote: » Not stepping up to the mark yourself there Tayto? When are you going to organise one of these protests in your local area?
the groutch wrote: » two fundamental flaws with the tax: 1. the banding system with midvalues used for applying the tax means there will be alot of people who are friends with valuers will get their properties undervalued to fall into a lower category. 2. letting the local authorities adjust the rate in 3 years time is counter-productive, as it means that rather than having to find greater efficiencies at local level, they can just up the property tax rate at will.
Ogham wrote: » Plenty of Info on the Property Tax here http://www.moneyguideireland.com/self-assessment-of-property-tax.html
Each return sent out by the Revenue Commissioners will also include a notice of the ‘Revenue estimate’ of the property tax due.Where the liable person does not submit a return, the Revenue estimate will become payable by default and Revenue will collect the amount due in the normal ways – by deduction at source, attachment orders etc.. The estimate will automatically be displaced on submission of the return containing the self-assessed amount.
dvpower wrote: » New campaign slogan "Don't Register; Just Pay"
mikom wrote: » I can picture the chinless wonder civil servants yakking it up around the watercooler when they came up with this gem..........
loggedoff wrote: » To think it took them over a year to come up with it.... as efficient as ever. Probably had to set up another quango/working group/committee to think of that one.
donalg1 wrote: » Didnt DV just come up with it?
Ghandee wrote: » Are you calling DV a 'chinless wonder civil servant' Donal:eek: I thought you guys were on the sane team lol :pac:
loggedoff wrote: » It'd never work anyway. There's no mechanism in place to allow you to pay and not register. Back to the drawing board.
dxhound2005 wrote: » Valuation will be by self-assessment in 2013 and those valuations will be used until the end of 2016.
Am Chile wrote: » Well lads I know some of you haven,t being on any protests as of yet-are ye now ready to act and start protesting ? - its all well and good commenting and giving out about the budget on Internet discussion forums, but as long that,s all people keeping doing talking about things on Internet chat forums without taking to the streets in mass numbers we won,t make much difference-there needs to a serious upping in the anti in the way we protest about things- last year in the UK protesters blocked the Westminster Bridge over proposed NHS reforms--what if for arguments sake on a certain date if we were to block bridges in different towns even for an hour to make a point and our feelings known-if we were to march up and down a few bridges blocking them up-we would bring the traffic to a standstill.http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-15234631[/QUOTE] Pardon my ignorance AC, who are the broads?
loggedoff wrote: » No thanks to another property bubble and no thanks to interest rates of 20% (I seen what that did to my parents, put my father in his grave.:() The thing is though, that after 6 austerity budgets we don't seem to be getting anywhere. We still have a crap banking sector, unemployment is stubbornly high, we're seeing massive cuts, there's no growth and it seems like no hope. I think that if we could say for definite that the worst was over, and we're on the up so to speak, people would start spending a bit more and things would improve quickly. Something is needed to get the ball rolling and for us to stop feeling sorry for ourselves. What that is, I don't know.
dvpower wrote: » You would have to be living under a rock not to know what a ghost estate is. Do you live on the underside of a rock? In a discussion thread, if you want someone to shut up, you can just use the ignore facility. I suggest you do this.
Ghandee wrote: » I just heard the FG party described on newstalk as "going from an austerity driven party, to a draconian financial dictatorship'. Quite an apt description tbh. Joe Higgins calling on a mass boycott of the property tax also.
Le_Dieux wrote: » With all due respects Gh, this the same Higgins who used TAX PAYERS money to fund his jaunts around the country churning up opposition to the HHC? The fúcking lot of them are exactly the same! Maybe excluding Róisín Shortall
tayto lover wrote: » Talking about Roisin Shortall, I think she has a great opportunity to form a New Labour. This is the right time for it. She would blow the existing lot out of the water and would have the support of the women of Ireland too who are very badly represented in Dail Eireann. After the cuts to Child Welfare, Childrens Allowance, Carers and Pensioners she would stroll in at the next elections with a good smattering of women in New Labour.
dxhound2005 wrote: » You're away in fantasy land. Even if there is a new party formed it could only ever get into government as part of a coaltion. Which party or parties would you suggest she could align with? But I think you have sussed her motives for her recent behaviour. Re-election for herself.
Le_Dieux wrote: » So now, I ask you DV ( who has an answer for everything that suits Your agenda), what now?
tayto lover wrote: » I'd say there are very many members of the Labour Party who will not sleep well tonight after what they voted for in the Budget. When the cuts start biting and the people really begin to vent their anger in their direction a lot of them might jump ship. Gilmour is power hungry but he is not stupid. He is living just for the day, for the little buzz the power gives him. Deep down he knows he had done the dirt on his party and on his people. Gilmour is a modern day Diarmaid Mac Murrough. Selling out his own people.
dvpower wrote: » Pay your damn taxes, that's what
dxhound2005 wrote: » The women of Ireland. The people. It's good to see the system of self appointed spokespersons is still going strong.
tayto lover wrote: » Well it's strong on these threads for the party in power
loggedoff wrote: » And you are spokesperson for who exactly? This is a public forum, we are allowed our say.