snipey wrote: » they just made a complete balls of it,all the money they spent on it they could of put a roundabout there and made it safer,all the cars coming from Abbott still turn right at the end of the hill and by the way i saw the cops turning right there numerous times.
alexmcred wrote: » Thats far to sensible and probably wouldn't waste enough money. I will say in fairness they appear to be putting a footpath all the way out to the end of the By-Pass though which could be quiet a good amenity for the local runners
snipey wrote: » Great amenity for our local Sulky's,it will be just perfect for them, imagine the horse **** that will be on that path, some welcome sight for our tourist's.
alexmcred wrote: » Feck it, I didn't think of that.
Cerbera wrote: » Opinions on the "improvements" to the roundabout near the petrol station as you head up for the Cahir road ??? I think they are fixing something that wasn't broken to begin with.
cml387 wrote: » Jebus, what a lot of moaning! The roundabout at the Texaco garage had to be fixed because the sightlines were poor (and may have been a contributory cause of the accident mentioned). Regarding the Heywood road, there are enough roundabouts on the bypass as it is. Just obey the fupping sign. Simples. And can we wait until the cycle path is finished before passing judgement?
snipey wrote: » you must work for the council and you obviously don't live near the heywood road
cml387 wrote: » I can actually see it from where I'm typing. I don't work for the council. Before the traffic islands and the right turn ban there were many accidents at that spot. Now the only danger is from those who cannot or will not read and obey a sign.
andrewdeerpark wrote: » I know their was one death on that road in the past 5 years, a tragic motorcyclist died however the road has generally been fine so I am in agreement with you on that..
dahat wrote: » Regarding the works on the bypass near the turn off to the Heywood road. The traffic islands are a danger as traffic is still bombing up from the Cashel Road roundabout,i cycle to work on this road every day and the traffic islands have done little to slow down traffic. At this point it looks to be driver ignorance that is causing all the problems in that area. It is only a matter of time before a car or vehicle clips one of the islands near the junction causing a serious incident...
Xenophile wrote: » Between the link road roundabout and the small roundabout entry to the Clonmel Park Hotel what are needed most are speed ramps as the downhill traffic is far too fast with no possibility for speed cameras or Gardaí checks, I think it is only a matter of time before there is a serious smash at the small roundabout.
Xenophile wrote: » After Thought.Immediately after exiting the Ballingarrane roundabout and after crossing the railway bridge there is a complete restriction preventing all traffic (including cyclists) from turning right, this makes very good sense. My concern is that maybe some impatient road users who have to go down to the small roundabout at the hotel to come back up to take the turn for Loughtally should be more mindful of other road users including pedestrians and cyclists on this very short diversion.
alexmcred wrote: » Thats far to sensible and probably wouldn't waste enough money. I will say in fairness they appear to be putting a footpath all the way out to the end of the By-Pass though which could be quiet a good amenity for the local runners[
AlarmBelle wrote: » alexmcred wrote: » Thats far to sensible and probably wouldn't waste enough money. I will say in fairness they appear to be putting a footpath all the way out to the end of the By-Pass though which could be quiet a good amenity for the local runners who will ignore it and run on the road, usually wrong side
alexmcred wrote: » It's better for runners knees to run on tarmac rather than concrete so if the council set it up correctly they could eliminate that.
snipey wrote: » They should put in an Astra Turf path
Vizzy wrote: » Yeah,definitely. Can't have the horses running on concrete and ruining their hooves. They could put in timing booths as well so we can time them accurately
It's better for runners knees to run on tarmac rather than concrete so if the council set it up correctly they could eliminate that
AlarmBelle wrote: » i did not post but its under my name?
iceage wrote: » I have been known to run that road, and yes I do occasionally run with the traffic and not against it, but it all depends on my route you see. But with all the hi vis stuff have no doubt you'll not miss me on the(tarmac)road. .
ppink wrote: » I was cycling along this road and i generally try to stay in as much as possible out of the way of traffic but where they put those stupid islands leaves only a small gap to cycle through and the kerb is so high my pedal gets caught on it:(. The sulkys probably wont go up on the cycle path along the bypass as there will be no room for them to race alongside each other:rolleyes: