shezer wrote: » Hi lads, Our gaff and a number of others were burgled in douglas tonight.Lock up yer gaffs and be vigilant.Scummy feckers out there.
shezer wrote: » Shamrock Lawn
bizz213 wrote: » jesus im only round corner. there was a GAA disco tonight. tonnes of youths around by shamrock lawn and all down towards the GAA club.
Glenviewjf wrote: » The house i'm renting in Wilton was robbed early September, they stole and burned my car the w*nkers.. Think 5/6 houses in my estate were done that night.. Seemingly they are doing the rounds..
shezer wrote: » The poor family next to us.The mother passed away and they took all the jewellery she left for the family....How scummy is that.I'd rather have our house robbed again than have that family go through that.Whatever about cash and electronics but Items of sentimental value is pure scummy...Your robbing peoples memories there
honerbright wrote: » Eeek! What part of Wilton are you in?
pwurple wrote: » Kub, we have an alarm fitted, and in use. And there is the most jumpy and loudest barking dog alive next door. Just wondering though, are these burglaries taking place by day or by night? We are almost moved out, with evrything we own in secure storage, so there is feck all to be stolen from our house. If there was a break in during the day, they would get a few cardboard boxes, and our clothes. Even our vehicles wouldn't be worth much if we were there in the night. but I would be terrified if there was a break-in when the family was in. So, night or day worse? And what kind of thing do you mean by exposed? Car keys or wallet is it?
Orizio wrote: » No surprise a load of Gah knacks are responsible for this.
cork_south wrote: » Yeah, because "gah knacks" as you call them, are famous for their burglary skills. You don't have to be a GAA player to attend a GAA disco. Have you ever been to Con disco? Are the kids who go there all "Rugby knacks"?
Orizio wrote: » Is there typically burglaries when these rugby chaps conglomerate for a party...? Of course not.
The_Banker wrote: » Im living in the Douglas area and I would be a bit worried about all the burglaries, especially with small children in the house who would be asleep and if one of the creeps got into their room. To those who have been burgled, how did the intruders get into the house? Did they pick a lock, jemmy open a window or force a door? I would be very conscious of doors and windows and I would always make sure everything is locked. Do these scum bags actually break glass to gain entry? Or were you lax in the security area and left a window or door unlocked? As a teenager back in the 80s my family home was burgled but they got in because a window was left open so I learnt my lesson about security from that time. But if the thieves are able to jemmy open doors then it’s a lot tougher to deter them.
Cork Lass wrote: » Does anyone know if it is possible to set your alarm to perimeter only when you are leaving the house. We have a dog that stays in the house and would set off the alarm if it was set while we are out. We have a Secure Watch HKC alarm.
TheChizler wrote: » Plenty of burglaries around Wilton/Glasheen recently I've heard, I've seen regular Gardaí patrols in the area the last couple of weeks.