Boombastic wrote: » €32,000 for 36 weeks work. €888.888/week, Isn't that close to what the sergeant in the Gardai was earning??
Benicetomonty wrote: » Demand for teachers has never been higher - our population is rising in case you haven't noticed. Basic demographics.
jester77 wrote: » The unions are such hypocrites, they screwed over the new teachers by not accepting to make cuts across the board and now they have the cheek to come out and protest.
krudler wrote: » How many people here would take work home from their office or job and sit there most of the evening and do it for no extra money? I sure as sh1te wouldnt. Not to mention all the crap they put up with "work"
PC CDROM wrote: » Then hang in there and be needed rather than be seen as needy. Basic economics. I trained as an aluminium welder because I saw a need for them and realised there were very little in the country, years ago. I creamed the large for about 7 years. I mean mental money. Swimming pool in my house type money. How was I to know some pr1ck would invent robots to di it? Did I strike and moan about it? No.
Benicetomonty wrote: » Teachers are needed. Do you really believe raising the student teacher ratio in order to make a couple hundred teachers redundant is not having an effect on the quality of students' education? I sympathise with you because you're in a job where new technology put (and will continue to put) you in a precarious position but you gambled on your career when you decided what to study (as we all do) and it simply didn't work out. Education is a right. Aluminium isn't.
krudler wrote: » 32 grand a year before tax? isnt all that much tbh ,I used to be of the "ah shure they get all summer off" brigade until I knew a teacher and she works a lot, a LOT of hours she doesnt get paid for. How many people here would take work home from their office or job and sit there most of the evening and do it for no extra money? I sure as sh1te wouldnt. Not to mention all the crap they put up with from kids, parents, interfering government bodies, these days if a kid is being bold and not doing their work its not the kids or parents fault, its the teachers,so they get screwed in every facet of their job.
poeticseraphim wrote: » The best way to get the govt to listen as a nation is to join them...seriously..you back the unions you have some power as people
Vladimir Kurtains wrote: » I suspect the those who complain about teachers salaries would be the same people who'd be up in arms about standards in education if their kids we're being taught by minimum wage drones. You get what you pay for.
unkel wrote: » 32k is a very decent starting salary for a teacher. I wouldn't be surprised if that is still well over the EU average In the private sector when someone is on 50k and the company can now only afford to pay them 32k, that's what they'll get (or get made redundant if they don't voluntarily accept). That has happened to hundreds of thousands of people in Ireland. Going down 30-40% is hard but those people are coping We can not afford to pay teachers 50k plus anymore. Why can't they all go back to 32k? Croke park agreement is invalid as our economic circumstances have significantly changed since then (clause 1.28 - inability to pay) Is there no politican / party out there with the balls to push this through? Sure they'll lose the vote of many a pulic servant, but I'd say they would win the next election
gosplan wrote: » This is a load of bullsh1t in that everyone seems to be missing the point. Pain is fine, higher tax is fine (if it gets us out of this mess) ... but it must be equal. You can't have two people working side by side doing the same job for very different pay. The Unions are sh1tting it now because they screwed over the NQTs and now they realise that no-one really wants to sign up to a Union that sold them out before they even got the job. Shameful display from them.
Icepick wrote: » nonsense Best paid teachers and one of the worst results.
Grace16 wrote: » So I was one of the student teachers marching earlier and a lot of people don't understand what we were marching for. We weren't out there saying that 32k is awful money and we want more, we know that we are beyond lucky to get that sort of money! We were protesting about the fact that it is only the NQTs who they are targeting and nobody else in the education sector. We are getting paid a lot less than people who qualified 2 years ago and we just want the Government to look at other places they can cut (maybe those who did qualify before us) rather than cutting our money every year. The main message was Equal Work for Equal Pay, not Give Us More Money
PC CDROM wrote: » You see... you are perceiving it wrong. It's not about education or aluminium. It is about you and what you want. Let society decide what's valuable. Not a load of d1kheads around a table at a dinner party (I'm throwing that out there) You look after yourself. Thinking that Education is right is a bad mindset. Good for society but not a great way to make a living.
My name is URL wrote: » Having said that, there was a girl on the radio earlier that was moaning about how €32,000 per year was pittance and hardly worth bothering for. I would have punched her in the gee if she was sitting next to me at the time.
Vladimir Kurtains wrote: » I suspect the those who complain about teachers salaries would be the same people who'd be up in arms about standards in education if their kids we're being taught by minimum wage drones. You get what you pay for
Grace16 wrote: » We are getting paid a lot less than people who qualified 2 years ago
krudler wrote: » G'way with your actual issues and facts, there's pitchforks to be waved about here. sure ye only work til 3 and get every weekend off.