PDN wrote: » No, but I am going to pull up posters who give distorted parodies of what their opponents believe. No-one has stated or suggested that all heterosexual acts are moral, or that only gays engage in immoral activities. You do your cause no favours by such over the top stuff. Reducing yourself to Actor's level simply plays into his hands. Except that Actor didn't make any claim that only gays are immoral. If I were to correct every poster that repeats themself then I would be a very busy poster indeed. Oh stop farting about for goodness sake! You asked me if there was a single Christian poster who had mentioned that heterosexuals can be and are sexually promiscuous. So I looked at the first page of the thread and saw one straight away. And that is the point.
JimiTime wrote: » I gave up on yee, because yee were all too preoccupied with gay people, when I was trying to talk about mammies and daddies. though I suppose it is the gay megathread so I'll let it slide.;)
Actor wrote: » "Gay Daddy" is on tonight at 9:30 (past the watershed, thank God). What do ye Christians think of homosexuals adopting children? Personally, I think this programme is nothing more than a grand social engineering project where its makers are attempting to push nature in a way it wasn't designed to go in. I saw a gay man feeding a child and wiping bums in the commercial. I feel this info-tainment show is all about the two gays themselves and them trying to drum up public acclamation of their union in advance of the upcoming constitutional convention. The poor child is caught in the middle of all this - its mother ought to be ashamed of herself.
Benny_Cake wrote: » How can you say what the makers are attempting to do when the programme hasn't even been aired yet?! As for changing nappies and feeding...can't see the problem myself. In my opinion, yet another cheaply made reality show, which have become very popular with RTE as they don't cost a lot of money to make and fill time. While it may shed some light on whether the two men themselves are suited to being parents, by it's very nature it can't say a lot about the suitability of other gay men and women to be parents. Everyone is different.
Actor wrote: » It amounts to nothing more than child abuse AFAIC.
doctoremma wrote: » Perhaps you could offer that opinion to those suffering genuine child abuse. You know, the children being raped by their uncle and beaten to a pulp by an alcoholic father. Those ones.
Actor wrote: » Child abuse is child abuse.
Corkfeen wrote: » And this does not fall into category of child abuse. How exactly is it affecting them negatively? Give me one real example.
Actor wrote: » I saw a gay man feeding a child and wiping bums in the commercial.
JimiTime wrote: » Lets not get personal endacl. There is a discussion to be had here without talking about what people do in bedrooms. I don't know why when anything to do with this topic comes up, people obsess about bedroom antics. This is a thread to do with rights that seem to conflict at times. In fact, the idea for the thread came from a thread on the A & A board, specifically Mr Puddings post:Freedom of religion versus freedom not to be discriminated against. This is a very interesting area and the ensuing conflicts raise interesting questions. BTW, I'd love for once for this to be kept civil. Don't know if the mods can do this, or indeed the good posters on boards have the decency to do this without mod intervention, but it'd be great.
Benny_Cake wrote: » Jimi, I hope you don't mind but I've merged your thread with the gay megathread. Although it would be possible to have a discussion about conflict between religious minorities and secular society without bringing the issue of homosexuality into it, the examples you gave are quite specific to this area.
JimiTime wrote: » No bother, not into the abomination that is the megathreads so I'm out. Feel free to delete, or you can leave it be for others. Cheers. PS. You know mods, you could just do your job rather than set these megathreads up. Just an idea like
Benny_Cake wrote: » I'll leave it here if anyone wants to discuss. Regarding the megathreads, they are still moderated so I don't see how their existence implies that mods aren't doing any work. The reason they were set up is because the same topics were constantly being raised, usually by the same people. Others may want to moderate a forum with nothing but flamewars about homosexuality, atheism and Catholic vs Protestants - but not me. If anyone has any issues with moderation they are welcome to raise them via PM.
JimiTime wrote: » [...]Or the case in the states recently where a woman who was the diversity officer in a university being suspended for signing a petition at her church that sought for marriage to stay with its traditional definition recognising the unparalleled and unique relationship between a man and a woman.
MrPudding wrote: » Hi Jimi, Can you not see the irony in this one?
Perhaps you might try this thread:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056775014 I think it is exactly what you are looking for, and I would agree that it is a very interesting area. MrP
JimiTime wrote: » Lets not get personal endacl. There is a discussion to be had here without talking about what people do in bedrooms. I don't know why when anything to do with this topic comes up, people obsess about bedroom antics.
NuMarvel wrote: » Then perhaps you should have been clearer in stating that you the issue you wanted to discuss related to sexual orientation, and not sexual preferences. It's curious that all the examples you gave related to sexual orientation. There are plenty of other circumstances where there could be a conflict between someone's belief and the people they provide a service to. For example, why not talk about civil registrars being forced to marry divorced people? That would make them party to adultery. Or what about the obstetrician who delivers a child whose parents aren't married? Should that doctor have the right to turn the parents away? But, for some reason, you seem to believe the conflict only arises because of LGBT rights. There are plenty of other groups whose behaviours run contrary to Christian beliefs. If the world hasn't erupted up to this point, then I wonder why you think there's a clash on the horizon now.
JimiTime wrote: » There ye go Mr P. a case in point So many rabbit holes, so little time. There are too many pre-conceptions that some posters have to get over. It just turns into me trying to correct misconceptions and misrepresentations, and false accusations and personal abuse, and everything else but actually dealing with the subject matter.
gvn wrote: » Jimi, A&A and Christianity are not the only forums suitable for discussions about conflict of rights, for example, even if the discussion is based in a religious context. You can try the Humanities forum, which has extremely high discussion standards and lots of posters who, I'm sure, would be interested in such a discussion. There's also the Philosophy forum if you'd like to discuss the topic at a more fundamental level. So, don't feel confined to A&A or Christianity, there are other suitable forums for discussion. Just a tip. (P.S. If you're going to post in Humanities or Philosophy have a read of their respective charters; both forums have stricter discussion standards than here or A&A.)