girl in the striped socks wrote: » Which topaz is obviously happy to hand out free of charge! It's entirely their business if they give out free cups of coffee to certain people or they can pour it down the sink if they want because it's their product to do as they please. When there's a road safety campaign going on & they offer a free cup of tea or coffee to a driver in order to refresh them on a journey, do you have an issue with that?
DwightSchrute1 wrote: » Seeing as Gardaí are getting free/discounted coffee from some establishments, do any of ye have any proof that in return the Gardaí are giving these establishments preferential treatment? Or maybe ye are just using it as an excuse for some Garda bashing
Boombastic wrote: » girl in the striped socks wrote: » Which topaz is obviously happy to hand out free of charge! It's entirely their business if they give out free cups of coffee to certain people or they can pour it down the sink if they want because it's their product to do as they please. When there's a road safety campaign going on & they offer a free cup of tea or coffee to a driver in order to refresh them on a journey, do you have an issue with that? Any links to show it's coming out of Topaz's budget?From GardaReview (You couldn't make this sh1t up!) CuP OF TEA Wet heat damages the body more than dry heat. Steam has the capacity to carry up to 4,000 times more heat than dry air. Inhalation injuries normally present down to the vocal chords; inhaling steam penetrates to the base of the lungs and may cause internal bleeding. Thicker liquids retain heat longer than thin liquids and do more damage. .............................................. Bourke said, “A cup of tea is poured at 85°C; at this temperature a spill onto human skin may result in surgery. Superficial burns start at around 44°C; the tissue beneath the skin starts to break down and the burns are quite painful. Partial thickness burns start at 60°C, and automatically blister. If you have blisters you are in trouble. If you have partial thickness burns you also have superficial burns. Partial thickness burns are excruciatingly painful. ............................ Psychological pain increases the agony. This type of burn happens at around 69°C, so every cup of tea or coffee requires care:pac::pac: T^he bill probably works out cheaper than paying an allowance to head kettle boiler in the Garda Station or claims:D
ScumLord wrote: » I don't think it's a case of buying their favour, even if the guards were completely incorruptible it would make logical sense for them to incentivise the guards to be regularly calling to the shop for services and food. If the criminals know that at any minute a guard could show up looking for a cup of coffee their less likely to want to rob the place.
Clarehobo wrote: » It is thankless. Imagine having a job where some people have an irrational dislike for you and judge you without getting to know you. People don't judge me on my job. They don't judge me when someone makes me tea. And I don't put myself in harms way to protect those same people. Do you take the same exception to paramedics or fire fighters or nurses being given a cup of tea?
Pumpkinseeds wrote: » The level of begrudgery in this country is unreal. Talk about some people putting the 'cnut' into country.
SuperInfinity wrote: » I hate the gardai, but that's not why I'm saying this
Local-womanizer wrote: » Why are you saying its disgusting?
SuperInfinity wrote: » Local-womanizer wrote: » Why are you saying its disgusting? Because they should have to pay for their own damn coffee just like every other working stiff. Let me ask you this: Why would the managers give free coffee to these people if it weren't for special diligence and privileges in promoting the area? It's clear bribery. Now don't tell me you don't see the problem with people paying gardai extra money to pay more attention to their property and possessions.
Richard Hillman wrote: » We should support out brave men and women out on the streets trying their best to protect us.
humbert wrote: » The Avengers?
SuperInfinity wrote: » Because they should have to pay for their own damn coffee just like every other working stiff. Let me ask you this: Why would the managers give free coffee to these people if it weren't for special diligence and privileges in promoting the area? It's clear bribery. Now don't tell me you don't see the problem with people paying gardai extra money to pay more attention to their property and possessions.
MidlandsM wrote: » are you calling me a cnut?
Pumpkinseeds wrote: » I don't recall addressing you directly, however should you choose to take my comment personally I won't argue with you:p
Richard Hillman wrote: » Garda stations close to shops and service stations have tabs. I was in a shop a few months ago and the Garda asked for a roll for a prisoner. Needless to say the deli assistant put all the stuff about to be thrown out onto the roll
MidlandsM wrote: » Pumpkinseeds wrote: » I don't recall addressing you directly, however should you choose to take my comment personally I won't argue with you:p reported.
Griffin1988 wrote: » Or maybe, just maybe, she sucks the Guard's willy on the weekends.
MagicSean wrote: » Brilliant thread. I particularly like the suggestion that a regular Garda makes the decision on who supplies the fuel to the fleet and that he'd put his job on the line for a few cups of coffee on nightshifts.
Boombastic wrote: » Cup of coffee 0.1 (if cost price of the coffee is 10c as another poster suggested)
ScumLord wrote: » I don't really see the problem. The golf course is adding value to the deal at minimal cost to themselves but what would be a big cost to client if they tried to buy it. Businesses do this all the time. Free refills of soft drinks at american fast food restaurants would be a prime example. Even a free or discounted pastry with your coffee is another example. throw in something that will cost the company little as an incentive to buy the expensive thing.
latenia wrote: » More like 25c when you include the cup, lid, milk, heating the water etc.