MidlandsM wrote: » This thankless job bolloxology that keeps being posted........ A decent secure salary with lots of perks and a pension..........thankless me hole
timmywex wrote: » Work nights in a 24hour petrol station in the country. Often give away free coffee's etc to the local guards, just makes sense from a business point of view. In return ive their mobile numbers and ring them any time someone is causing a bit of hassle of whatever, theyll be there instantly, theyll check on the place a few times during the night aswell. Likewise i give free coffee's to bus drivers, cause they bring customers, likewise delivery drivers sometimes and other people who help out the place, its good business sense!
enricoh wrote: » i met the publican beside me in the local cop shop before crimbo last year, dropping in a box full of jemy, brandy etc. his place has plenty of late nights n never any hassle with cops knocking. good bit of business on his behalf but i think its a slippery slope
Boombastic wrote: » and free coffee :pac:
MidlandsM wrote: » ...and yes, it's the establishments choice to award food and/or drinks to a member of the Gardai but my question is, should a member of the Gardai accept such like? I was in a very busy Topaz filling station where I always see lots of member of the force having their "break" the other day. There was a long Queue waiting to pay for stuff at the tills, which I was in. I know the girl at one of the tills and I noted a discreet exchange between her and a Garda who just got a coffee and some sort of snack.....she said "you're grand,no charge" ....and he just said "thanks" .......lots of people noted the Freebie, and lots of eye's rolled to heaven.... Personally I think he should insist on paying for it.....it look like a "Stroke" Freebie to me...... what do you think?
KindOfIrish wrote: » pay me 50k + and i don't need any "thanks"! and you can abuse me as much as you want
girl in the striped socks wrote: » ......................... And really why does it bother you that much? It's coffee ffs. There is nothing unprofessional in taking a cup of coffee if it's offered for no charge. I................
RGDATA! wrote: » huh? Which one should they prioritise? What other information have we about these robberies to make a decision about who gets priority?
Assassin saphir wrote: » I worked in a place where I always gave the local guards free tea, biscuit and use of our canteen at night. I worked in a 24hr store and dealt with all the dregs of society at 3am. Why did i look after the guards?? Cos when i was getting punched, robbed or threatened they came to help as soon as I called them and often drove past to check we were ok.
suicide_circus wrote: » you'd hope so but obviously these businesses aren't too confident about that, so they ensure a good relationship with the gardai by giving them free stuff.
Boombastic wrote: » 2 shops on the same street are robbed. Which one does the Gardai prioritise? - the one that gives them freebies of course -
Boombastic wrote: » Lady behind the counter gets caught for lets say prostitution - Garda -sure it's mary form topaz, she gives us free coffee, she's grand..see you tomorrow Mary, will you throw in a roll?;)
KindOfIrish wrote: » fishy fishy wrote: » its because they are out doing a job that they get no thanks for, just abuse. . pay me 50k + and i don't need any "thanks"! and you can abuse me as much as you want
fishy fishy wrote: » its because they are out doing a job that they get no thanks for, just abuse. .
Assassin saphir wrote: » Why did i look after the guards?? Cos when i was getting punched, robbed or threatened they came to help as soon as I called them and often drove past to check we were ok.
AnonoBoy wrote: » I'm pretty sure they'd be doing their job regardless of whether they got the free coffee or not.
mathepac wrote: » A minimum-pay food server in a restaurant or hotel has her tax allowances cut because the Revenue "know" she gets tips. How come they don't "know" about the stuff Guards get for free and tax them on it? Is it because they are "brother" public servants and of course one hand washes the other in PS jobs.
girl in the striped socks wrote: » How do you know it's not a deal brokered when getting the fuel contract? There is nothing unprofessional in taking a cup of coffee if it's offered for no charge.