Boombastic wrote: » girl in the striped socks wrote: » So are you going to answer my question??? If you were in a petrol station now & saw the exact same thing happen would you speak up against it or stay quiet? What I would do is irrelevant as the Garda should have the ethic to refuse freebies. Who do you think pays for these extras? Not the Garda and you can be sure Topaz isn't loosing money, so who does that leave?
girl in the striped socks wrote: » So are you going to answer my question??? If you were in a petrol station now & saw the exact same thing happen would you speak up against it or stay quiet?
ScumLord wrote: » I'm sure the group buying for the state shopped around, a group having that much spending power can afford to get the best deals and every fuel provider in the country would have handed out all kinds of incentives to try and get the deal.
yore wrote: » Because even if there is no actual conflict of interest, it gives the appearance of a potential conflict.
yore wrote: » Would you be happy if some public sector body had an exclusive and lucrative contract with some golf course for hosting official functions and then you found out that all it's members coincidentally got to play there for free too?
yore wrote: » It's irrelevant the absolute number that they pay. (Plus they wouldn't pay the taxes on it anyway). Of course it's cheaper than you or I can get it for. The point is could they get the same deal for less expense? Obviously there is room for maneuver if topaz can afford to give away all those freebies!
osheen wrote: » Likewise my company uses topaz fuel cards and we get free coffee regularly as eell as vouchers for dicounted sambos or tolls
nig1 wrote: » i think its standard in all topaz to give free coffee to guards, coffee only, i used toget free coffee at one topaz filling up my truck(topaz card). sometimes i would buy a sandswich and on receipt were coffee should have been it said , guard €0.00.
yore wrote: » ... A lot of professional industries have ethics regulations against what you described viz-a-viz your freebie night out. Because even if there is no actual conflict of interest, it gives the appearance of a potential conflict.
AnonoBoy wrote: » A golf course offering free golf as part of a deal? How immoral. It could very well have been part of the package. For x amount of money we will host and cater those functions but we will also throw in free golf for your members. Sounds like a good business head on the owner of the golf course.
seamus wrote: » Sure you would. "No no, here, take my money, I don't want it free".
AnonoBoy wrote: » I'm pretty sure they'd be doing their job regardless of whether they got the free coffee or not.
ScumLord wrote: » You don't really know what their fleet prices are like, they could be very competitive. Bulk orders are completely different to what normal people pay. On average what you pay is 40% - 60% more than what the shop pays.
yore wrote: » How is this in any way similar
Would you be happy if some public sector body had an exclusive and lucrative contract with some golf course for hosting official functions and then you found out that all it's members coincidentally got to play there for free too?
AnonoBoy wrote: » I was on a business trip a few weeks back. I was treated to a night where all my food and booze was paid for. I hope Johnny Revenue don't find out about it!
Boombastic wrote: » Aranza Glamorous Punk wrote: » Why is it unprofessional, do you turn down the perks of your job? How is it any different to the free tea and coffee that's provided for me in my work place? A guards work place is everywhere. Lady behind the counter gets caught for lets say prostitution - Garda -sure it's mary form topaz, she gives us free coffee, she's grand..see you tomorrow Mary, will you throw in a roll?;) Another poster put it well here it highlights the low level corruption going on in the PS, sure isn't everyone on the take and getting a few freebies thrown in
Aranza Glamorous Punk wrote: » Why is it unprofessional, do you turn down the perks of your job? How is it any different to the free tea and coffee that's provided for me in my work place? A guards work place is everywhere.
Boombastic wrote: » I hope they are declaring their extra benefits on their tax forms
mathepac wrote: » Free coffee, free snacks, free entry to night-clubs & cinemas, free drink in pubs, etc. The badge-flashers really go to town on it when in civvies and off-duty, "Security check bud, Gardai on duty, righ'?" I've watched it go on for years.
yore wrote: » My point exactly.....for some reason the powers that be in the Gardai have awarded the contract to fill up the cars of their fleet to this expensive company.
Sorcha16 wrote: » A public servant shouldn't have to be bribed into doing their job.
elviscostello wrote: » Maybe because they have a branch just about everywhere... And they do a good coffee.
yore wrote: » My point exactly.....for some reason the powers that be in the Gardai have awarded the contract to fill up the cars of their fleet to this expensive company. If there are cheaper options for petrol/diesel then one would have to wonder why, oh why, would the Gardai land the taxpayer with a higher than necessary bill......... :cool: