pah wrote: » My topaz charges €1 and it even says "Coffee Garda" on the till. I've no problem with it although I wouldn't take a free one. Could be an agreement higher up as the fleet does all fuel business with topaz. I have been offered freebies before, chipper etc but rarely accept. On one occasion I was basically told "you can have it for free or you can't have it at all!!" no point arguing with that.
Boombastic wrote: » girl in the striped socks wrote: » Are you seriously saying a cup of coffee is a backhander? Yes it is. Cup of coffee €2.35 (approx) * 5 days*52 weeks= 600 and if they get a free roll aswell:eek:
girl in the striped socks wrote: » Are you seriously saying a cup of coffee is a backhander?
AnonoBoy wrote: » Yeah everyone knows Topaz is a front for cocaine smuggling but they've been getting away with it for all this time because they give a few cups of sh*tty coffee away every day. Have you ever filled out a tax return? Do you remember seeing a 'Number of free cups of coffee received' box to put a number in?
Boombastic wrote: » Maybe not cocaine smuggling and not specifically about topaz, but if this is the perks they take in public, who knows what they're willing to accept in private? It's unprofessional, where do you draw the line?
Boombastic wrote: » Yes it is. Cup of coffee €2.35 (approx) * 5 days*52 weeks= 600 and if they get a free roll aswell:eek:
Aranza Glamorous Punk wrote: » Everyone's job has certain perks, get over it. You're talking nonsense.
yore wrote: » If the contract is worth such a lot of money to Topaz that they can afford to give away such freebies then it is obvious that they make a lot profit from the deal. I think that instead, a less profitable deal for them, and more a more economical one for the taxpayer, should be struck
elviscostello wrote: » The cost price would be a lot lower than that I would imagine.
seven_eleven wrote: » Its a sad day for AH when we have to discuss and be bitter about a Garda getting a free coffee. Who fills up in Topaz anyway? Their prices are ridiculous.
Boombastic wrote: » Why am I talking nonsense - it's unprofessional
yore wrote: » My point exactly.....for some reason the powers that be in the Gardai have awarded the contract to fill up the cars of their fleet to this expensive company. If there are cheaper options for petrol/diesel then one would have to wonder why, oh why, would the Gardai land the taxpayer with a higher than necessary bill......... :cool:
Aranza Glamorous Punk wrote: » Why is it unprofessional, do you turn down the perks of your job? How is it any different to the free tea and coffee that's provided for me in my work place? A guards work place is everywhere.
elviscostello wrote: » Maybe because they have a branch just about everywhere... And they do a good coffee.
Sorcha16 wrote: » A public servant shouldn't have to be bribed into doing their job.
mathepac wrote: » Free coffee, free snacks, free entry to night-clubs & cinemas, free drink in pubs, etc. The badge-flashers really go to town on it when in civvies and off-duty, "Security check bud, Gardai on duty, righ'?" I've watched it go on for years.
yore wrote: » My point exactly.....for some reason the powers that be in the Gardai have awarded the contract to fill up the cars of their fleet to this expensive company.
Boombastic wrote: » I hope they are declaring their extra benefits on their tax forms
Boombastic wrote: » Aranza Glamorous Punk wrote: » Why is it unprofessional, do you turn down the perks of your job? How is it any different to the free tea and coffee that's provided for me in my work place? A guards work place is everywhere. Lady behind the counter gets caught for lets say prostitution - Garda -sure it's mary form topaz, she gives us free coffee, she's grand..see you tomorrow Mary, will you throw in a roll?;) Another poster put it well here it highlights the low level corruption going on in the PS, sure isn't everyone on the take and getting a few freebies thrown in
AnonoBoy wrote: » I was on a business trip a few weeks back. I was treated to a night where all my food and booze was paid for. I hope Johnny Revenue don't find out about it!
yore wrote: » How is this in any way similar
Would you be happy if some public sector body had an exclusive and lucrative contract with some golf course for hosting official functions and then you found out that all it's members coincidentally got to play there for free too?