Mr. Rager wrote: » But why the thread title, "Haters"?
ArtSmart wrote: » Yup. we get it here thanks to that 'independent' TV station TV3. ah, the aul fear-mongering. nothing like a cowering electorate. ye can't beat it.
Johro wrote: » all giving us the impression that every living soul is just itching to defraud us, con us, assault us, rip us off for every penny we got. Lovely stuff. Does it annoy anyone else?
Chuck Stone wrote: » The BBC has a public service remit and I guess the cowboy builders, doorstep scammer, type shows are trying to warn vulnerable people to be careful. I was watching one last week and these vultures are fucking scum - they prey on elderly people. I was thinking of solutions and was wondering if there could be a seniors bank account where accessing sums of over a given amount per day/week would automatically alert a trustee. Yeah, I'm a solutions guy.
Brutal Deluxe wrote: » Please, please don't take this wrong way, OP: I want to punch you for using the word "haters".
Johro wrote: » Because of the hate mongering nature of that type of programme.
Rigol wrote: » Its not all bad though, people watch things like that to educate themselves to not get made a mug of. For more positive tv you could always try Charlie Brooker or Frankie Boyle.
Where To wrote: » What have the thread title and the opening post in common? Apart from both being in English?
Rigol wrote: » Its not all bad though, people watch things like that to educate themselves to not get made a mug of.
Johro wrote: » I watch the english television channels as I have a free to air satellite box and no Irish channels are yet, if ever, available on it, so I've a choice of BBC, ITV, Channel 4 and such, and I'm just wondering if anyone else has noticed the depresssing negativity, and regularity, of shows like 'Saints and Scroungers' (in particular, and featuring No. 1 annoying twat Dominic Littlewood of 'Don't get done, get Dom' fame), 'Grimefighters', 'Tricks of the Tradesmen', and some the names of which I don't remember at the minute, one about fly tipping and another one which no doubt also features the words 'conned' and 'cheats', your taxes' and 'rotten tricks' etc. Then there are the 'Cowboy Builders', 'The Cowboy Trap' and 'Neighbours from Hell' type of shows to round it all off nicely, all giving us the impression that every living soul is just itching to defraud us, con us, assault us, rip us off for every penny we got. Lovely stuff. Does it annoy anyone else? The media play a huge role in this as well, with newspaper articles talking about the supposedly massive problem of 'benefit cheats' when in reality they number less than 0.5% of welfare recipients. Is it just about a need to feel 'better than them'? It just pisses me off that so much of what is essentially supposed to pass for entertainment is really just posing 'us and them' scenarios and frankly hate-mongering when there are so many more people willing to volunteer for all sorts of causes and there are many more examples of people doing nice things for each other that never get an airing.
MarkHitide wrote: » A Clue-
Chuck Stone wrote: » 'Doom-sayer media' might be a better title Johro. Just sayin'
B.A._Baracus wrote: » I know what you mean op In recent times TV3 has been guilty of the same. Shock documentaries (Shockumentaries? :P ) which are designed to be nothing more than "jaysus, you see whats going on" type of shows.
AEDIC wrote: » Off button...read a book...go for a walk...talk to people...problem solved.
Johro wrote: » I watch the english television channels as I have a free to air satellite box and no Irish channels are yet, if ever, available on it, so I've a choice of BBC, ITV, Channel 4 and such, and I'm just wondering if anyone else has noticed the depresssing negativity, and regularity, of shows like 'Saints and Scroungers' (in particular, and featuring No. 1 annoying twat Dominic Littlewood of 'Don't get done, get Dom' fame), 'Grimefighters', 'Tricks of the Tradesmen', and some the names of which I don't remember at the minute, one about fly tipping and another one which no doubt also features the words 'conned' and 'cheats', your taxes' and 'rotten tricks' etc. Then there are the 'Cowboy Builders', 'The Cowboy Trap' and 'Neighbours from Hell' type of shows to round it all off nicely, all giving us the impression that every living soul is just itching to defraud us, con us, assault us, rip us off for every penny we got. Lovely stuff.Does it annoy anyone else? The media play a huge role in this as well, with newspaper articles talking about the supposedly massive problem of 'benefit cheats' when in reality they number less than 0.5% of welfare recipients. Is it just about a need to feel 'better than them'? It just pisses me off that so much of what is essentially supposed to pass for entertainment is really just posing 'us and them' scenarios and frankly hate-mongering when there are so many more people willing to volunteer for all sorts of causes and there are many more examples of people doing nice things for each other that never get an airing.
The King of Moo wrote: » The worst, for me, is Don't Tell the Bride, though the hatred is all within the programme itself. It's predicated on causing friction between engaged couple during a period which would ordinarily be stressful for them, all for our amusement. I don't see the entertainment value in the look of profound disappointment on a woman's face when she sees that the gobshi*e she's marrying has chosen to have the ceremony in the neighbour's field in January, because she first saw a horse there as a child or something, and he spent all the money on booking Paintball for the reception. What really bugs me, though, which I've asked many a time, is why the couple don't just agree about what they want beforehand, then pretend that the fiancé is choosing everything himself.
AEDIC wrote: » Dont watch it and it wont annoy you. It doesn't have to go away, if you are not aware of it then it won't bother you. or are you suggesting that you should be the arbiter of what people do want to watch?
Johro wrote: » No. That's what they do.