JamieKCCO wrote: » Landlords need to give 24 hours notice before showing up
crazy cabbage wrote: » SOmething siilar happened to me last year. Wasn't the landlord though but the manitance guy. Would let himself in and have a cup of tea. He was dead sound though and we could all have the craic with him so no one minded
Millicent wrote: » That's normal, OP, and would seriously piss me off. A housemate once caught our landlady stealing cleaning supplies from our kitchen, the stingy auld cow. We were a student house so none of us were usually there at the weekend. Made me wonder how often she'd let herself in. Who steals from students, seriously? And more importantly, who steals cleaning supplies from students who are actually keeping a student house clean? Nutjob. I wouldn't mind but she then had the audacity to try to keep some of the deposit to clean the place!
Johro wrote: » Millicent wrote: » That's normal, OP, and would seriously piss me off. A housemate once caught our landlady stealing cleaning supplies from our kitchen, the stingy auld cow. We were a student house so none of us were usually there at the weekend. Made me wonder how often she'd let herself in. Who steals from students, seriously? And more importantly, who steals cleaning supplies from students who are actually keeping a student house clean? Nutjob. I wouldn't mind but she then had the audacity to try to keep some of the deposit to clean the place! Yeah the last time I lived in rented accommodation the landlady said 'just leave the rent in an envelope in the drawer or something and I'll pick it up when I'm passing'. :rolleyes: I said no thanks, you can ring me to let me know you're coming to pick up the rent and if I'm not there we'll arrange a time when I am. I ended up leaving because I found her snooping round the flat when I came home on several occasions, pissed me off no end.
pancakes rule wrote: » I'm just wondering about people's experiences in shared houses. I recently moved into one and I'm wondering how normal is it that my landlord is here so often despite it not being owner occupied. It's not that I mind as much, but I thought it was a bit odd for him to be hanging out here as often as he does. He usually just sits in the living room and watches tv or goes on his laptop. I also know that he'll eat people's food while he's here. Also, the one time I went down for breakfast before I left I found him sleeping on the couch. Is this normal? Does anyone have any stories about their landlords or housemates?
Millicent wrote: » That's not normal, OP, and would seriously piss me off. A housemate once caught our landlady stealing cleaning supplies from our kitchen, the stingy auld cow. We were a student house so none of us were usually there at the weekend. Made me wonder how often she'd let herself in. Who steals from students, seriously? And more importantly, who steals cleaning supplies from students who are actually keeping a student house clean? Nutjob. I wouldn't mind but she then had the audacity to try to keep some of the deposit to clean the place!
who the fug wrote: » students with cleaning materials:eek:
Millicent wrote: » I know. We paid the TV licence and all. :eek:
who the fug wrote: » Must go and have a lie down to recover Cleaning materials, TV license and students in the same house
Millicent wrote: » To be fair, the cleaning products were used quite often to clean up after two of the students who were messy arseholes. Leaving butter knives on the counter and buttering toast without a plate... *shudder* Oh also having house parties where people pissed in the garden, left cans everywhere and basically were inconsiderate dicks.
Neyite wrote: » Years ago, being too poor on a pittance of a wage working in retail, I went home for my lunch instead of buying one. All the flatmates were at work as usual. I heard a noise in one of the bedrooms and went to see if a cat got in the window or something. There was our landlord, with the drawer open and a pair of knickers in his hand. :eek: We couldnt move out fast enough.
Millicent wrote: » What did you even say to him?!
pancakes rule wrote: » I recently moved into one and I'm wondering how normal is it that my landlord is here so often despite it not being owner occupied. It's not that I mind as much, but I thought it was a bit odd for him to be hanging out here as often as he does. He usually just sits in the living room and watches tv or goes on his laptop. I also know that he'll eat people's food while he's here.