swiftman wrote: » galway advertiser ... The background is that it is called twist and is a charity set up by Oliver Williams and Mike Reilly. They receive no funding but they ask people who can afford to make a small donation to do so..... this is great and was badly needed.
JustMary wrote: » Badly needed - by who? Cope, Simon and VdP do a pretty thorough job of looking after the people who really do fall between the cracks of the health and welfare systems. I'm not at all convinced that another agency which provides un co-ordinated services that don't address the underlying problems is a good idea. Especially on the docks, just before the VOR comes to town. And there's a bit of me that's saying "a guy called Oliver, setting up a service called Twist ... yeah, right, how every Dickinsonian". Pics or GTOF ...
ben.schlomo wrote: » Jesus what happened to you in a soup kitchen!!! :rolleyes:
inisboffin wrote: » Sleeping rough in Galway weather is not something I would wish on anyone. I'd say any that 'chose' it would cop on fairly quickly. Some people make bad choices and can't get out of the hole without a helping hand. I wouldn't begrudge anyone a hot meal, whether poor, alcoholic, junkie whatever. Do ye really think it will attract homeless people to Galway? There are plenty more services like this in Dublin.
JustMary wrote: » It's not about begrudging, it's about delivering services in a way that really does offer a hand-up, rather than a handout. And yes, I really do think it would attract people. I've enquired before why Galway has such a high level of services for its population, and apparently the answer is that Galway is already a magnet town - sure it's a grand place to be down and out - party town, with lots of tourists to beg from. Re the folks skipping meals to make ends meet: they need advocacy to make sure they're getting their benefit and housing entitlements, budgeting and shopping help to make good use of those entitlements - and if all that fails (there are some who fall through the rules), donated materials so they can make their own meals. Just giving them cooked food lets the welfare system off the hook, and creates more dependency. Soup kitchens have their place, but I just don't see Galway as large enough to need one.
JustMary wrote: » And yes, I really do think it would attract people. I've enquired before why Galway has such a high level of services for its population, and apparently the answer is that Galway is already a magnet town - sure it's a grand place to be down and out - party town, with lots of tourists to beg from.
LucyBliss wrote: » Over the last week, I've seen two people sitting begging around Eyre Square with 'homeless & hungry' signs ...
LucyBliss wrote: » Galway reminds me a bit of Vancouver in that respect. Both are magnet cities (though I haven't been in Vancouver lately so I can't tell you how if it's changed the past few years) because they're on the West coast and yes, it rains but it's milder than other parts of the country. So people may find it 'easier' to manage for a while.
bigpink wrote: » This guy is getting alot of coverage whats his background?