Ghandee wrote: » What's the difference in an Irish wake, and an Australian wake?
IrishAm wrote: » Some employers might have. Not the Irish people. Nor the Irish government. And I cant ever remember the Gardai picking on them either. Big difference.
Caliden wrote: » Nearly had a similar situation in Boston when I moved over. The landlord had bad experiences with J1'ers who came over during the summer and wrecked the house and was apprehensive about renting the accommodation to us because of it. As someone already said, it's probably little Joey's first time away from home living on his own and doesn't know any better. Not looking forward to the summer when they're over here again, it's embarrassing.
lividduck wrote: » So the Irish people havn't? tell that to the families of the two Polish lads stabbed to death by screwdriver wielding thugs in Crumlin, or the family of the young Polish worker kicked to death in North Dublin.http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0326/breaking51.htmlhttp://www.irishtimes.com/search/index.html?rm=listresults&keywords=polish stab&rows=10&start=20
sunflower27 wrote: » It sounds as if the Irish are being singled out in certain areas because of their behaviour. And if they are wearing Irish jerseys and speaking with Irish accents, then it is obvious they are Irish. I don't imagine if a group of say, English, were doing the same they wouldn't be warned to tone down their behaviour either.I don't see why Australian police would genuinely target Irish people when a large majority of Australian people have Irish heritage. Maybe, as unbelievable as it may seem, it is just the case that in certain areas, Irish louts are causing trouble.
ejmaztec wrote: » Perhaps those with Irish heritage aren't the ones making dicks of themselves?
dirtyden wrote: » Terrible example Those incidents whilst tragic were random acts of violence by scumbags, and for you to somehow link these to the attitude of Irish people to immigrants is boggling.
woodoo wrote: » I'm well aware of that. But I have been to plenty of places around Europe and America and the Irish and English seem to be the worst for that particular 'acting the goat' type of drinking. Other countries drink plenty like the Germans but they don't get all boisterous and annoying. Have you ever been in drinking company with Irish people and been asked whats wrong with ya? If you are sitting quietly enjoying your drink or if you speak out against someone about to do something silly. That seems to be a bit of an Irish thing. To equate acting an ass as = good craic.
sunflower27 wrote: » No it is the ones over on a working holiday by the sounds of it.
lividduck wrote: » Really? The list of attacks on immigrants in ireland is as long as it is anywhere in world, what is mind boggling is that you appear to believe , as the poster i was replying to, that we Irish are never racist or abusive to immigrants, in fact we are, quite often actually.
IrishAm wrote: » Are you an Aussie? If so, whats the media reaction to this back home? Is there a chance the Australian government could pull the working holiday visa for Irish people?
hondasam wrote: » I don't think anyone said immigrants here did not get some abuse/racial comments. The thread is how the Irish are behaving in Australia and how they are giving the Country a bad name.
IrishAm wrote: » There are over 100,000 Poles in Ireland. Some of them are now Irish citizens. Some are on welfare. Most are working away and enjoying their life here. Doesnt seem to me that the Irish are anti Polish. Quite the opposite, in fact.
lividduck wrote: » The list of attacks on immigrants in ireland is as long as it is anywhere in world,
lividduck wrote: » that we Irish are never racist or abusive to immigrants,
lividduck wrote: » in fact we are, quite often actually.
crazygeryy wrote: » I lived there for 2 years stop talking out through your arse.u must have loads of experience with them then.are you a gaa jersey wearing savage by any chance?
A_Sober_Paddy wrote: » I was over in Oz, about a year ago at this stage... The way most Irish people carry on over there is a disgrace, I'm all up for the craic, but drinking all Friday, Saturday and Sunday and causing fights and fighting amongst themselves isn't really the craic... This happened the week after I left Sydney last year...http://wentworth-courier.whereilive.com.au/news/story/sunday-bloody-sunday-1/ We are getting a bad rep over there and its kinda worrying
woodoo wrote: » The polish don't seem to be a problem at all considering there are 100,000 of them.
sunflower27 wrote: » I am, but I have lived in Ireland nearly 12 years.
lividduck wrote: » Really? The list of attacks on immigrants in ireland is as long as it is anywhere in world, what is mind boggling is that you appear to believe , as the poster i was replying to, that we Irish are never racist or abusive to immigrants, in fact we are, quite often actually.http://www.herald.ie/news/bus-drunk-jailed-for-racist-abuse-2542523.htmlhttp://www.independent.ie/national-news/i-get-daily-racist-abuse-for-being-a-coloured-taxi-driver-2980239.htmlhttp://www.independent.ie/national-news/racist-dublin-bus-driver-faces-six-months-in-jail-516067.html
IrishAm wrote: » Its not. You are a liar. Stop lying. I never said that. And I can post up incidents were immigrants attacked or murdered Irish people, but I am not interested in a pointless p*ssing contest. Ireland went from having a 1%-17% foreign born population in one decade. No other western country has experienced such a change in population, in such a short time frame, post world war 2. None what so ever. And not one far right party, no race riots, even though we are going through a recession. A racist people, we are not.
IrishAm wrote: » Australia is stuck with its own idiots. It doesnt need to import Irelands too. I lived abroad, before I left my granddad gave me this advice, "Good luck, kid. Remember, you are not just representing yourself over there, you are representing your country too". Wise words.
JONJO THE MISER wrote: » This time its the western aussie police, maybe they should take a look at there own troublemakers and ignorant idiots that seem to be prevelant in the land of skippy than pick on one race of people, of course what would you expect from one of the most ignorant countries in the world.http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/05/08/notice-from-western-australia-police-%E2%80%93-irish-antisocial-behaviour-in-perth/
lividduck wrote: » The list of attacks on immigrants in Ireland is as long as it is anywhere in the world.
admiralofthefleet wrote: » strueth ailsa