TheRoadRunner wrote: » Thanks lads, if I get my hands on any East Africans bar Tadese they are dead men. Thursday: rest Friday: 20 mile leg loosener. Legs feeling good although I'm physically knackered from work. Good night sleep should do the trick. Race strategy miles 1-5 sub 31 mins miles 6-10 30.30 miles 11-15 30 mins miles 16-20 30 mins last 10k as hard as I can for as long as I can. If I blow up I blow up. If very early on it doesn't feel sustainable I'll revert to plan B which is basically anything faster than 2.47 (London marathon PB ) Nothing to lose everything to gain. Viva LaRoadRunner
RacoonQueen wrote: » 20 miles? What ultra are you training for? Good luck. Make sure you don't let Abhainn pass you out.
TheRoadRunner wrote: » woops, fixed that. Don't want to get ultraman1's hopes up. I think Abhainn will be in front of me from early on so no need for me to watch my back
Abhainn wrote: » Sandbagging again:) I was hoping you'd be sheltering me from the wind from 5 to 13 miles. See you at the start big boy
TheRoadRunner wrote: » You won't ride me you bollox. You might see this big boy at the start but you won't see him coming up behind you in the showers
Krusty_Clown wrote: » Hope you have a superb experience Dave. Run a time that'll make me sick.
tunguska wrote: » Thats a classy run off feck all training, well done Dave.
Abhainn wrote: » Amazing result considering you were only 2 mins outside your PB. You have a natural talent that will certainly see you lower that Berlin time soon. I wanted 5:59's all the way last Sunday. Deep down I wanted 2:36:44 or better. Thanks RR for indirectly pushing me that little bit further Over to you now, how low can you go?
TheRoadRunner wrote: » Have a fridge magnet with my London finishing time on it. I've been smiling all week when reaching for the milk. This morning I wasn't smiling as much.
TheRoadRunner wrote: » I really want to get back to racing. I've raced very sparingly over the last number of months and am dying to get going again. I know I need to listen to sense and my body and not jump into a race too soon but I'm really biting at the bit.
Abhainn wrote: » I wanted 5:59's all the way last Sunday. Deep down I wanted 2:36:44 or better. Thanks RR for indirectly pushing me that little bit further Over to you now, how low can you go?
TheRoadRunner wrote: » Regards the race itself. Long story short I finished second. Was hoping for a 34.15-34.30 so was delighted with 33.54. I was well beaten in the end but if I had of had a bit of fight in me I could have minimised the gap that the eventual winner had over me (about 30 seconds).
TheRoadRunner wrote: » Nothing better than a bollix to get you motivated
Abhainn wrote: » It worked for me:D
TheRoadRunner wrote: » I've decided to close my account and have asked the mods to lock this log. See you guys at the start line of races. Cheers Dave