44leto wrote: » Me moth I heard it comes from maith, as in Culchie for "the girl I like", something like that.
grenache wrote: I love the way Irish has influenced how we approach and speak English. It's unique. Hiberno-English should be cherished and be allowed to flourish, not corrected!!
grenache wrote: » I love the way Irish has influenced how we approach and speak English. It's unique. Hiberno-English should be cherished and be allowed to flourish, not corrected!!
Spore wrote: » "Amn't I only after showing yiz!" what the hell tense is this?!
bennyineire wrote: » also when I was in the states the people over there could'nt get over me saying "it's half ten" when saying its 10.30, not sure if thats an Irish thing, maybe the brits say it to
Cú Giobach wrote: » It would come from the Germanic with a slight change. In German and Dutch "Halp zehn" and "Half tien" (literally half ten) mean half nine, they say half to the hour, whereas English uses half past the hour.
bluewolf wrote: » in denmark/finland etc they all use "half" for to- the hour as well. I am starting to think that using it for past the hour is unusual
Spread wrote: » Craythur in Kerry Creature in Middle England Critter in the good ol' US of A
lividduck wrote: » Yizzer reckkin me buzz so yiz is:D
Spore wrote: » I did some sound recording work a while back, again in Kerry, and we accidentally left the tapes running one day and I picked up this chestnut (it's a man talking about an illiterate miser he knew that had died a few years ago, and was subsequently found to be loaded after his death): "A neighbour of mine took me there, he was an old man, millionaire. Thirty-seven million he was worth when he died. Ten years ago. Thirty-seven million he was worth, in money. Now when you die you’re worth nothing. Which is something you know, because he could hardly write his name. He was a small farmer here and he was very poor when he was growing up. He’d be about eighty-five now if he’d lived, he’s dead about six or eight years. But, what he told me, he was injured in the railway, whether genuine or not, he drew a few pounds. This was sixty years ago. He bought a shack of a house. And he told me he knew so little about the house he could hardly lock the door. But what he told me as well was don’t ever hire professional tradesmen because they’ll brake you. Go to the corner, he says, with the winos or whatever you’d like to call them and sober them up and don’t pay them until they finish the job. Give them porridge and give them soup and bring ’em on, and get them working."