SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » Who signed off for giving a 2 million mortgage to a pensioner?
abouttobebanned wrote: » When Sean Sherlock signed the "irish sopa" into law, this forum and the rest of the country were up in arms. They almost took to the streets with the most vehement display of anger that wasn't seen when the government were doing things a thousand times worse. What were people really angry about? Don't tell me it was about freedom and free speech etc. It was because it would soon be harder for them to illegally download music, movies football matches etc. These people who can so easily pass judgement on others who "break the law". It really is one rule for some and another entirely for people that you don't know.
gatecrash wrote: » if those of us who agree with it keep on quoting it then maybe the others will actually gain a bit of understanding.
dvpower wrote: » The property was in the ownership of the bank but in the possession of someone else. It's not 'their property'.
doncarlos wrote: » What's the best way to get old people smell out of a house?
Duggy747 wrote: » It's not like the bank just appeared out of the blue at their door, dragged them out of the beds and told them to go sleep in a shed. They had 2 years to sort this out. Their defiance against the banks got them here, they had multiple properties so they more than likely had options. You enter a contract, fail to uphold it then you face the consequences. Rich or poor, young or old, it doesn't matter. The man being evicted didn't help matters by acting out, pushing and charging people (what was he going to do with that wheelie bin in front of the Garda?) so I can't see this as an "evil banks come and drag sweet old couple from their quaint little house" thing. These were people who rode the wave in the boom years and thought they could ride something like this out. As for that comparison to 19th century eviction............disgusting.
abouttobebanned wrote: » Look at the post on the front page of this thread that got all the thanks. It makes me laugh, and then a little sad that people support the physical removal of pensioners from their home. Some people on this forum absolutely sicken me. Fcuking do gooders the lot of ye.
Tazz T wrote: » Right then, they were Anglo's loans. Anglo was in a business it wasn't good at, built up huge debts and defaulted. Anglo should have been evicted. But Anglo wasn't evicted. It was bailed out. There's the mistake.
mike65 wrote: » "I was never a speculator, I was doing one of the essential things in life, people need to be housed"
the groutch wrote: » if that's the case, both the bank were very foolish giving mortgages to a man in his 50's (at the time), as was the man himself for taking them.
mike65 wrote: » speaking on RTE right now "I was never a speculator, I was doing one of the essential things in life, people need to be housed" This guy is a landlord you know (no doubt its been mentioned)
Unrealistic wrote: » He is 71 now and the house was built in 2004 so, even if they bought the house as soon as it was built, he was at least 63 at the time. It's more likely it wasn't a mortgage but that they owned the house outright and put it up as collateral to take out a commercial loan to fund their other property acquisitions or some other investments.
Unrealistic wrote: » It's more likely it wasn't a mortgage but that they owned the house outright and put it up as collateral to take out a commercial loan to fund their other property acquisitions or some other investments.
seamus wrote: » The fact that he can go whinge about it on Morning Ireland shows that he's not in any difficulty. If someone with real problems had been evicted yesterday, they'd be too busy today scrabbling to find somewhere to live, to go and whinge on the radio about it. This idiot shouldn't be given any air for his nonsense.
An elderly couple were evicted yesterday from their home in Killiney, Co Dublin, after falling behind on mortgage payments to the institution previously known as the Irish Nationwide Building Society
ejmaztec wrote: » It seems that it was Fingleton's casino that initially lent them the money.http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0419/breaking20.html