chin_grin wrote: » Full video here if you missed it.http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/21566287
smash wrote: » I feel the debate, as excellent ad it was, was missing one crucial ingredient. Dev, you should have stood up and shouted "f*ck you minister Sherlock.... Sorry I withdraw that comment!"
roro1neil0 wrote: » always presumed devore was a guy in his twenties wearing jeans and a transformers tshirt with a bit of subway mayonnaise rubbed into it. he's actually a busy business man.
Confab wrote: » this SOPA stuff isn't very important to most people. Like most Irish laws, it sounds threatening until you realise that it won't be enforced
DeVore wrote: » Actually I'm kinda both truth be told... I can wrap my earthly form in a suit of course but I was also in the mosh pit at Rage Against The Machine last year too. I've never been comfortable with the whole "suit" thing but other people base judgements on such things.
Dustaz wrote: » Seriously, is there an existing thread on this anywhere else? 1000 forums and theres no Live Internet Political Debating forum? disgraceful.
GAAman wrote: » And lastly, "Because I fight, ask MCD" Ye feckin beaut haha!
Duggy747 wrote: » If anything, Sherlock made it more clear that his intentions for firing this out the door so quickly was so that Ireland could be seen in Europe and in the commercial market for having done something "innovative". Good grief.....
Dubit10 wrote: » Sherlock makes a lot of sense tbh. Good to see he's doing something to tackle the problem.
Jimoslimos wrote: » Just watched this now, interesting debate. Usual empty meaningless waffle from Sherlock, although fair play to him for having the balls to enter any sort of debate. Though on reflection it is probably the least I'd expect given the dearth of discussion this has received, most notably in the Dáil. He did look seriously out of depth and at times I nearly felt sorry for him - it is now patently obvious that he's only the tool (in all senses of the word) used to drive the laws through. DeV gaven an excellent account, strongest in the Q&A section at the end. Didn't mince his words but was respectful towards the Minister nonetheless. Mark: 8/10: One because he could have been pitted against a more worthy opponent and two because there's always room for improvement! Also I would have liked to have seen somebody there debate on Sherlock's side - just for the sake of balance. Interesting that none of the lobby groups pushing weren't represented - were they invited?
Logical Fallacy wrote: » lol, balls to Sherlock, he only showed because he had one of the proposed debate members removed.
take everything wrote: » I dunno what his problem with McGarr is.
ScienceNerd wrote: » Anyone know what the story with that is? Clearly some sort of history or something between them.