earwax_man wrote: » I'm feeling quite happy about it; I can speak Irish as fluently as English. I have no problems with it whatsoever I guess respond with what they have said and ask for clarification; that's a good way
GaryIrv93 wrote: » earwax_man wrote: » I'm feeling quite happy about it; I can speak Irish as fluently as English. I have no problems with it whatsoever I guess respond with what they have said and ask for clarification; that's a good way just say ''Ni thuigim an cheist'' ''I don't understand the question'' if you're unsure. Hopefully I'll have the sanme examiner as for the mock she was really nice, which are few and far between! She marked them quite hard though - I thought I got at least a C in mine, it went quite well - two weeks later I find out i got only 42% in it.
FinnD wrote: » Would you lose much marks for saying that? We didn't do a mock oral in our school so the oral coming up will be my first and last ever :L
finality wrote: » FinnD wrote: » Would you lose much marks for saying that? We didn't do a mock oral in our school so the oral coming up will be my first and last ever :L Wow really? We did orals for fifth year summer and Christmas tests and for the mocks, it really helps and you know exactly what to expect.
Killian In The Name Of wrote: » Does anyone have any useful websites/links/videos in relation to the Sraith Pictiúri? In my practise Oral Exam, I found that to be the most frustrating, awkward pause-y part.
haro124 wrote: » isfeidirleat.ie is amazing for the pictures ! Had my Irish oral mock yesterday and got 80/80 in the pictures because of this website ! One word of advice dont go over board with the pictures ie spend too much time on them in the oral as the examiner told me that the general conversation will be shorter and will take off marks !
David1994 wrote: » I went onto the site but the downloads only had a few questions..Is that it?
haro124 wrote: » David1994 wrote: » I went onto the site but the downloads only had a few questions..Is that it? They have all 20 pictures ?
shellita wrote: » Hi, Does anyone know have you to discuss the pictures like a story or are you literally just saying what you see in them? Does the examiner ask you to say it in a certain tense or can you just say it all in past tense? The print outs I got are all "general" for ex. "Cuireann bean óg fios ar na seirbhísí éigeandála". From : http://irishstudysite.com/ I am trying to write out my own answers but I can't understand what I should be doing. I did a mock oral and she said I did it perfect all in past tense but didn't say enough, got 30/80. I am really confused about what to say, am I supposed to mix tenses, stay in one tense or what? As a mature student the teacher can't tell us.
Patchy~ wrote: » For the questions bit, what are you really expected to ask? I know it can be as simple as 'how many boys are in this picture' but thats just stupid. I generally ask things like, in Timpiste for example, after I said the guard thought the man was drunk I asked my teacher if she thought he was drunk. Is that a bad idea? I mean, if you can get away with such basic questions any eejit can get 10 marks
Bobblehead Panda wrote: » http://www.scoilnet.ie/ScruduBeil2012.shtmhttp://irishstudysite.com/ Tbh you just need to keep it simple. Know your verbs and the key vocab for each picture. There's a lot of work involved in it but time constraints will mean that you can't spend too much time on it. Most of the marks are going for your communication so make sure you can keep describing the pictures. Don't forget about the questions portion. There's an easy 10 marks to be gained there.
frulewis wrote: » as I'm an external student with no teacher to ask just out of interest what topics are ye covering in schools i've done the usual me fein, mo theaglach etc.. but just curious to see what ye are doing in the schools particularly modh chonnilodh questions... can't even spell that right oh god this is going to be a disaster!!
Namlub wrote: » If you're doing higher level, you'll might want to do some saol an lae inniu stuff, on unemployment, emigration, alcohol, etc. (If you haven't already), then you can fit it a few modh coinniollach pieces on what you'd do if you were taoiseach/minister These orals are going to be bant, ta siad ag tnuth go mor liom chun a bheith macanta libh. I have no idea if that made sense...
rkeano5 wrote: » Bhuel, táim ceart go leor ach beagánín néirbhíseach chun a fhírinne a rá.. (
Wesc. wrote: » Haha, our oral examiner in the mock had a word with us about this, she said it was the most overused sentence in the oral and to definitely not say it because everyone says it!! I admit to saying that exact sentence myself :P One other thing, did anyone here have a really abstract conversation? Ours was extremely basic with all the simple questions and I'm a bit puzzled in that will the actual thing be like this?