TeddyTedson wrote: » The number of suicides here is obviously a huge problem, but what do people think some of the reasons are?
MrStuffins wrote: » No need for that lads. If you disagree with my points then say so, no need for what you're doing here.
syklops wrote: » You must be the most irritating poster I have seen in some time. Those two are just acting out their frustration. Threads like these is why we need 24-hour moderation.
MrStuffins wrote: » What the hell is this all about? What ever happened to attack the post and not the poster? How exactly have I irritated you sir? DO you have an issue with my points? If you have a problem with my posts, report them. There are mods online right now. And if you have a problem with me, feel free to PM me.
MrStuffins wrote: » This is pretty amazing! As if suicide is smallpox and we need to discover some sort of key ingredient or make some sort of breakthrough and BANG..... suicide is no more. Cop on lads jaysus! :rolleyes:
MrStuffins wrote: Maybe you haven't been able to put across your thoughts as well as you can up until now but so far one of the things you've said is that a cause for suicide is that there is no possibiliy of negative repercussions in the afterlfe. I strongly disagree! applehunter wrote: What are you thoughts? MrStuffins wrote: My thoughts on suicide in general or my thoughts on religion as a factor? applehunter wrote: On the thread title. Well we don't have a specifically high suicide rate.
applehunter wrote: What are you thoughts? MrStuffins wrote: My thoughts on suicide in general or my thoughts on religion as a factor? applehunter wrote: On the thread title. Well we don't have a specifically high suicide rate.
MrStuffins wrote: My thoughts on suicide in general or my thoughts on religion as a factor? applehunter wrote: On the thread title. Well we don't have a specifically high suicide rate.
applehunter wrote: On the thread title. Well we don't have a specifically high suicide rate.
Well we don't have a specifically high suicide rate.
MrStuffins wrote: Mind telling me what exactly your problem is on the suicide thread? If you've got a problem with my points, discuss them. Calling me irritating is just petty and childihs if you ask me. I've no idea who you even are. I don't think i've ever spoken to you on Boards before. Regards.
syklops wrote: » I read seven pages of comments on this thread, and I can't tell whether your comments are designed to wind people up or not. You started off with a corker:
I am not going to quote every single one of your comments. Some of them did seem to engage on the subject, but it was as though you could not decide whether you wanted to be funny, or serious. This little 'conversation' was annoying to read.: After all that, your thoughts are that we dont have a specifically high suicide rate? Then why bother with this back and forth? Why not just say that?
To respond to your PM publicly And I am sorry if I offended you with my comment but I honestly could not tell if you are being genuine or not. My intent was not to be either petty or childish, but that is how you come across.
MrStuffins wrote: » I explained later in the thread why I said what I said in that comment. It was because a poster earlier in the thread said that the circumstances surrounding suicide should be "eradicated". That word is generally used when speaking about viruses or infectious diseases which is why I said "Smallpox". it completely fails to take into account the complexities of the human psyche, human emotions, the complex web of reasons, whether they be psychological or personal, contributing to ones decision to commit suicide.
MrStuffins wrote: To claim that some general circumstance can be discovered and "eradicated" and BANG, the end of suicide, shows the lack of understanding surrounding the issue by some people.
MrStuffins wrote: Well, I did when i was asked. What I was speaking about before was the posters' ill concieved (IMO) notion that drink, drugs and lack of religion were the 3 main reasons for suicide. 3 horribly superficial reasons (IMO) and you can read my thoughts on that in the thread.
MrStuffins wrote: I seriously don't appreciate you posting my PM on the forum. Not because I said anything wrong, but because it is a PERSONAL message, hence the acronym PM. It's just not cool!
syklops wrote: » Yeah you explained later in the thread but it was like getting blood out of a stone. Why could you not be up front about your opinions and engage. Instead of making cryptic comments, and one line answers. It was very annoying to read.
The first line of the thread includes "... what do people think some of the reasons are[for suicide]? So my understanding is the point of the thread was to discuss what some of the reason might be. No-one said Drink, drugs and no religion were the three reasons, they were just opinions put out in a discussion. You seemed to take an affront to them but didn't clearly state why for some time.
applehunter wrote: » 3 main things for me 1. Alcohol misuse 2. Drug misuse 3. Reduced roll of God/religion in peoples lives.
When pushed on it, as per my above example, you said you didn't think we have a specifically high suicide rate. Another one line answer. You were given ample oppertunities to explain yourself but instead it seemed like you were being obtuse on purpose, which I found genuinely irritating.
Well to be honest I didn't appreciate getting a PM from you asking why I thought you were irritating, mere moments after you had asked same on the thread and while I was concocting a reply. I have apologised. I suggest we leave it at that.
jester77 wrote: » The fact that there is so much peer pressure to go out and binge drink at the weekends doesn't help someone who is fragile.
pappyodaniel wrote: » Where's this São Tomé & Príncipe and why is it the only country in the world with a higher suicide rate for females over males?
theg81der wrote: » I attempted suicide twice as a teen I realise now thou it was brought to a head by pms. I think pms in female suicide is an underated cause. I still get suicidal before my period but have learned to cope. Now of course I have reasons in my life that make it very difficult to live more so than most but I do hope my first port of call will be to run away if I ever get that bad again. I also think the attitude of the Irish, everything is a laugh and a joke you dare not be serious and people don`t want to be around you if you are, if you have problems don`t talk about them too much. I think even with family relationships can be superficial here people are very selfish and only here for the good times. I don`t drink and am a bit different so I never fitted in and not fitting in in a country this small is a problem but then the ones who do commit suicide are commonly the ones no one expects the ones who really fit in, They probably here what people say about weirdo`s like me and never want to be spoke of like that so say nothing.http://www.scribd.com/doc/46479466/Bill-Zeller-Suicide-Note Here is someone justifying his actions in commiting suicide and I think it does accurately display what a lot of people feel when they realise their past is unsurmountable.
guitarzero wrote: » I could think of a few reasons for suicide. - Feeling unloved - Feeling inadequate - Having no beliefs - The struggle of working and striving outweighing its reward. - Incapable of feeling happiness is a good one. - Having personality disorders such as aspergers, BPD, etc - Feeling you've gone beyond your peak in life - Not being liked by the opposite sex - Being alone all the time due to not relating to people. - Not having an interest in sex - Losing someone so dear to you and having no one else in your life - Apathy - Having no creativity - Being boring/bored - No religious belief to judge your act (Im sure many in the past would have thrown in the towel long ago had they the same lack of belief as folks today) Seriously, I could go on but I wont. What I find particularly interesting is people who cant understand suicide.
Voodoo_rasher wrote: » odd. NObody has mentioned debt as a cause yet.
Seachmall wrote: » I see lack of religious belief coming up as a possible cause for suicide and I have to make a point on it. The fear of repercussions in the afterlife may prevent some people from ending their life but it's not a valid response to suicide rates. It's the equivalent of me telling a suicidal person if they kill themselves I'll kill their family. Sure, it may prevent them from committing suicide but it doesn't address the issue nor would anybody suggest my lack of threats are responsible for suicide rates. On the other hand Faith may help someone get out of the suicidal mindset but I'm sure plenty of religious people have ended their own life because they believe God has abandoned them which is the only reason they can see why they are where they are. It can be a double-edged sword in this respect. I'm sure most would agree that economic situation, family situation and personal mental health are much greater factors, and I'm not saying religion isn't or can't be a factor only that it is not a solution nor necessarily a major factor in suicide. In other words having belief may be a good thing for those in desperate situations but it should not be considered a long term solution to suicide rates.
applehunter wrote: » Mr. Stuffins you remind me of a guy that was in my class in school. Loved arguing over nothing. What an annoying bollix he was.
hondasam wrote: » Suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem.
ottostreet wrote: » She is a very logical, rational person, and was an atheist for years. Finding some form of spiritual enlightenment that her logical mind can accept has allowed her the happiness that she was missing.
Doc Ruby wrote: » Its amazing how much of positive mental attitude is literally just choosing to feel good though, making the decision to smile and play up the little successes. The harshest critic is usually the one looking back at you from the mirror. And yet so few people know this, let alone practise it.