ottostreet wrote: » Well, in a way, it is. It is an act which, put bluntly, is a self aware animal that has been mentally tortured (either through its own thought process or the circumstances of its existence) to the point where it feels self-termination is the only cure. If you think I am being too cold about it, it is something that I am lucky has not deprived my family and myself of my mother. She has suffered from depression for a few years now and has tried to kill herself. She is a very logical, rational person, and was an atheist for years. She said that on bad days, she wakes up and its like a massive black hole has enveloped her mind and is writhing around, kicking and screaming constantly in her head, constantly telling her that the only end to the mental torture, is through physical death. She has undergone treatment and continues to do so, and she is much better now. She has rediscovered some old hobbies, but...oddly, has become a fully fledged Quaker. Finding some form of spiritual enlightenment that her logical mind can accept has allowed her the happiness that she was missing. A poster above mentioned a lack of God/religion, and I can't agree with that right now. I'm 23, and maybe because my own mortality has not been brought into focus in my own head, my atheism has not made me unhappy yet. I don't understand suicide, I don't understand mental illness, despite seeing it first hand. I can't understand how a logical mind can crack. It makes it very difficult for me to sympathise with someone who is depressed, as logically, I feel that a change in circumstances can rectify the situation.
guitarzero wrote: » No, I was saying I wouldnt want to fall into throwing foul language at you for such a half witted comment as you roll your eyes and throw around smallpox analogies.
MrStuffins wrote: » Now THAT'S an insult! Sarcasm isn't against the forum charter. Also, I wasn't being sarcastic at all in this thread.
lestat21 wrote: » Not at all.. Mental illness, depression and unfortunately suicide arent going away, but by discussing these issues were might chip away at the the stigma around it.. and maybe even get men talking about there feelings!! Efforts wont eradicate suicide but in Ireland especially, we need to be aware and do what we can to reduce the numbers of people in this situation
MrStuffins wrote: » Great point. This is part of what i've been trying to say. Rather than trying to figure out and understand the reasons why this person was drinking or on drugs, it must've been the simple case of the person being care-free, started usng drugs and then commited suicide!
crash davis wrote: » Sorry for interupting, but are Quakers people who just like to live off the land, form communities and live peacefully with one another? I know nothing about them apart from what I've said, and it's more than likely untrue.
applehunter wrote: » So what is your opinion? I was just giving my thoughts. I'm not an expert. You've said its more complex and you have laughed down my suggestions so what is in you opinion that has made suicide so common here?
applehunter wrote: » Again I can only speak from personal experience. Member of my family has attempted suicide on 3 occasions that I know of and every time they have been under the influence of drugs/alcohol.
MrStuffins wrote: » Maybe you haven't been able to put across your thoughts as well as you can up until now but so far one of the things you've said is that a cause for suicide is that there is no possibiliy of negative repercussions in the afterlfe. I strongly disagree!
applehunter wrote: » What are you thoughts?
MrStuffins wrote: » Ok. And you think that the drugs/alcohol were the reasons for attempting suicide? Is this right?
MrStuffins wrote: » My thoughts on suicide in general or my thoughts on religion as a factor?
applehunter wrote: » Well, he's never attempted suicide while he was sober.
MrStuffins wrote: » That's not what I asked
lestat21 wrote: » In a way, but not everyone who suffers from depression is at risk of suicide. Everyone on this site seems to think that one leads to another. Clinical depression is one of many factors that might result in someone taking their own life. In my role as a volunteer, I have heard many distressing stories about suicide and so often, I hear people say we had no idea, they never talked to us about it. Speaking to lads who have survived depression themselves, they had a support there, someone to talk to and someone who listened. That can really make the difference!
applehunter wrote: » On the thread title.
applehunter wrote: » ok, yes he attempted suicide because he was on drink/drugs.
amacachi wrote: » Again, are they an addict? If not then surely the fact that they keep drinking/drugging is a symptom of something?
applehunter wrote: » Yes he is an addict.
amacachi wrote: » Using drugs or alcohol is a very different matter than addiction to them.
applehunter wrote: » Mr. Stuffins you remind me of a guy that was in my class in school. Loved arguing over nothing. What an annoying bollix he was.
ILikeBananas wrote: » I heard a quote before about the two things that Irish people notice when they first go to America: 1. How big the country is 2. How the people there seem to want to tell you everything about themselves
guitarzero wrote: » I never thought of berating him via proxy! Shiiiiiiit!