johnn wrote: » I would usually say fair play to barmen for doing a shit Job and showing you are an honest worker like me and not one of them dole scroungers who I have no respect for, but stealing from your customers who are paying your wages actually puts you on a par with someone on the dole IMO
johnn wrote: » This is common knowledge in bar-tending circles so I don't know which bar you drinking in if it never happens. I heard of a barman once who went a step further and actually pissed in a pint glass and gave it to some guy who was off his face and he knocked it back like it was a pint of Arthur's finest.
No1J wrote: » Go and have a few pints, have a laugh, and stop coming across so picky.
alyuciao wrote: » A good barman ( and the same goes for a customer ) should always state how much is been given to/by him. I hand over drinks for say 15.50 and the customer hands me 20. I look them in the eye and say 20. Then give them their change and say 4.50. Likewise, as a customer, when I buy something in a bar or shop, I always say how much I'm handing over. Basic, common sense but sometimes mistakes do happen. Nobody is perfect.
yoppo wrote: » I work in a bar in Ennis and I never short change people no matter how drunk or how ignorant someone is! I wouldn't like it done to me so it wouldn't even cross my mind. What I hate are people, mostly women (in my experience), who insist they gave you a twenty and it was a ten. I told her to come back the next day and she cursed a ridiculous amount at me. The till was spot on so I was pretty infuriated at her behavior. She wasn't even drunk. Edit: The bar I work in is busy but I always tell them how much it is. What I hate are people who say "It's a fifty (when they hand me the money)". I know why you are saying that but a good barman doesn't need to be told how much he has in his hand!
johnn wrote: » Most barmen in town empty the contents of the trays under the taps into pint glasses near the end of the night and start offloading them on the drunkest customers, then keep their money rather than charge it to the til, they're making a fortune off it. Scum :rolleyes:
travellingbid wrote: » No it isn't - I know of a place where at the end of the night, they'd do it to a particular customer to encourage him to go home
chin_grin wrote: » This isn't a new thing. Was at the point (f*ck off if I'm calling it the o2) and cousin bought two over-priced drinks and handed yer man the exact change. I walked up to the same til after and noticed that instead of putting them through as two pints he put it through as a pint and a short and went to pocket the remainder. I went "oh, is that my mates change?" to which yer man just threw it back in to the til. Fecker. :pac:
johnj26 wrote: » Shortchanging/Stealing from punters. Seems to be a epidemic of this behaviour going on at the minute. Was attempted on me twice on Sunday. Spoke to a couple of friends and a similar thing happened to them. Seems like more than "innocent mistakes", funny enough have yet to be given more change than I was due. Do barmen think they can fleece the drunken reveller?
johnn wrote: » 28/12/2010 Most barmen in town empty the contents of the trays under the taps into pint glasses near the end of the night and start offloading them on the drunkest customers, then keep their money rather than charge it to the til, they're making a fortune off it. Scum :rolleyes:
johnj26 wrote: » 22/11/2011 Yeah I know mate, Also Most barmen in town empty the contents of the trays under the taps into pint glasses near the end of the night and start offloading them on the drunkest customers, then keep their money rather than charge it to the til, they're making a fortune off it. Scum :rolleyes:[/I]
Remmy wrote: » I gave a barmen twenty euro for two pints of guiness once and got back the twenty and some change.He probablly thought I gave him a tenner or something.:D
Degag wrote: » How would that work exactly?
Fishyfreak wrote: » Must have been in Oppositeland.
Plazaman wrote: » Crikey, are they still doing this? People should know what slops vs a real drink should look like by now. People are more observant in a recession, aren't they ?????
johnj26 wrote: » Yeah I know mate, Also Most barmen in town empty the contents of the trays under the taps into pint glasses near the end of the night and start offloading them on the drunkest customers, then keep their money rather than charge it to the til, they're making a fortune off it. Scum :rolleyes:
theT wrote: » Its not just in town that this happens, I worked in quite a few bars in town and the suburbs were we were told to do this but the money all went in the till.... Pints of Kilkenny were the worst,you could put absolutely anything into that muck and get away with it....