seanybiker wrote: » Ah Jesus the poor little thing. Fair play for helping out. I got a little jack Russel a few days ago. Really nervous chap. He has teeth marks on his snout and on the top of his head. Poor fella was treated horribly by whoever owned him before. Wonder if I rang the vet would he tell us if the dog is grand
Noo wrote: » That poor little dog, sounds just horrifying. But i can't help but imagine what would have happened if the little dog hadn't been there with the toddler being next in line and all.
nkay1985 wrote: » It's not that they are more prone to be aggressive than other common breeds, it's that they're raised that way.
letsbet wrote: » This is just not true. The way they are raised makes them more aggressive but it's well-known that certain breeds are more predisposed to aggressive behaviour - just ask a vet or an expert in the area. It's what they are bred for and how they are bred. Why do you think scumbags don't try to make labradors or great danes into mean lean fighting machines. Anyone who argues that a pitbull can make a lovely pet and a more soft breed can become vicious is completely missing the point. These dogs are more prone to it - that's why they're bought by certain people. The nurture exaggerates what is natural in these dogs. To say that it is just the way they are raised is just plain wrong. Maybe the reputation of all dogs of a certain breed is exaggerated and some more friendly breeds get away lightly in the same way that sharks are seen as vicious and dolphins are sweet. Still, I know which type I'd rather swim with!
andreac wrote: » Sorry but you havent a clue about dogs, pitbulls especially. I really wish people wouldnt post such crap about dogs being more aggressive than others because of the breed it is:mad: These dogs are not more prone to it at all.The only reason certain dogs are vicious is because of humans making them that way, not because of the breed it is!!!
byhookorbycrook wrote: » Breeding has everything to do with it. If animals did not take on traits of them sire/dams why would people pay milions for stallions and avoid breeding from certain mares?
Yes Boss wrote: » Why on earth are vicious dogs allowed anyway - muzzled or not? I don't buy - they are pets, they are lovely animals really, it's the owner...bla bla bla. There should be a complete ban on these types of animals.:mad:
nkay1985 wrote: » That's a completely ridiculous comment. This dog is obviously vicious but think of how many other children etc that it had passed on it's way to the eventual attack and ask yourself why didn't it attack them. Dogs very, very rarely attack humans unless provoked./QUOTE] That's not true. It's not rare for a dog to attack humans unless provoked. I've often had dogs snapping at my ankles while I've been out cycling. Also when I've been running in the phoenix park, I've had situations where dogs, although with their owners but unleashed have ran at me snapping and biting at my ankles even though I would not be even close to their owner. In no way was I provoking the dogs.
thegreengoblin wrote: » But the fact remains that if these dogs were banned then these kinds of incidents would not happen.
nkay1985 wrote: » Sure the scum would just find another breed to corrupt and in five years' time we'd be haing the same argument about a different breed. I should have said that the cycle with pitbulls in self-perpetuating. Because they're seen as vicious, they're bought by people who want vicious dogs, which mean there are then people who breed the dogs badly in order to make more vicious dogs. The pitbull as a breed is not more prone to be aggressive. Whatever about the rest of these points, check out point 9 here. And letsbet, in your reply to andreac you say that her just saying "you're wrong" with no reasoning isn't clever. What exactly are you doing so? Ridiculous!
letsbet wrote: » I was giving reasoning! If you think that in five years with selective breeding that we'd have the same problem with a different breed then you must think they're going to reinvent genetics. It takes a long time to breed aggression into a breed. It wasn't in some of the current problem breeds 50 years ago but was bred into them.
deisedave wrote: » The owner of the pitbull should be prosecuted in todays incident.
nkay1985 wrote: » You didn't. You just said that you know quite a bit about dogs and that if people did a bit of reading they'd see that the consensus is that same as you think. None of that is reasoning! If that's the case I, or anybody else, can just say we know even more about dogs and having done more reading than you on the topic have found that the consensus is the opposite to your view. Get me? Either way, I've said my piece and am not goign to continue any further as it's taking away from the original topic. In terms of today's incident the dog will have to be put down and its owner should be prosecuted but that's unlikely to happen. I hope the little dog is ok.
YumDeiseMum wrote: » Agree 100%The owner of ANY dog, irrespective of breed should be prosecuted when it attacks.
abouttobebanned wrote: » People were frantically ringing guards and all sorts (who hadn't arrived after 15 minutes btw). A horrible scene that effected everyone that saw it.
Princess Peach wrote: » Was it a smallish white pitbull? I saw the animal welfare van picking up a dog that might have been that one on Catherine Street at about 12.30 today. It had no collar and was just standing in the middle of the road.