shampoosuicide wrote: » "My friend was told to get up of the street and go home." calling shenanigans on this.
JJayoo wrote: » I am not blaming the two cops, I mean what should they have done, chased down the two scumbags, possibly catch them? then what? hope they don't put up a fight. I actually had to call the cops into work just before this happened. A guy was passed out in the toilet and I couldn't move him or get him to his feet. The guards showed up promptly, 6 of them in fact, and whisked him away in the van. Some times I wonder have the guards just given up with dealing with scumbags, I mean moving some old drunk guy is fine, but whats the point in dealing with lads that already has 50 previous convictions. The French taxi bike guy was a real hero, and took some damage to help a stranger. Things like this really put me off going out in town. If i had heard this had happened down an alley at 4am I might not have been so suprised, but to happen at roughly 1am on the path which runs through Eyre Square, its just messed up.
biko wrote: » I'm always careful in Eyre Square at night. That do be where scumbags congregate. The garda might already know these particular scumbags and as long as your friend wasn't badly hurt they'll just keep adding this to the offence list for these scrotes. For the victim it's usually a life-changing experience, for the scumbag it's a moments diversion in an otherwise empty life. They probably wouldn't even recognise your mate if they met him again. It was in Eyre Square Colm Phelan was killed by Barry and his friends in a unprovoked attack in 1996.
The Scientician wrote: » I regularly get the late bus back to Dublin after gigs in the Róisín.
zenno wrote: » The gardai are afraid most of the time zod love them, lazy bunch of fcuks most of them are
Sponge Bob wrote: » I have a strict and long running policy of not being in Eyre Square from 1am
biko wrote: » Don't use this thread as a chance to have a go at the AGS in general, thanks
biko wrote: » It was in Eyre Square Colm Phelan was killed by Barry and his friends in a unprovoked attack in 1996.
Fri 03 Mar 1997 2 charged in Galway killings TWO Galway City men were charged with the manslaughter of a Tipperary man at a special sitting of Galway District Court last night. Mr Jimmy Mongan (18) of Hillside Park, Ballybane, and Mr Gerry Barry (17) of St James Crescent, Mervue, were charged with the unlawful killing of Mr Colm Phelan (26) at Eyre Square on July 21st, 1996.
Malice wrote: » Apologies for going off-topic but I'm just looking up some information on that case: That's not the Gerald Barry who's currently serving a jail sentence for the murder of Manuela Riedo is it?
zenno wrote: » but most of them sh1tballs will get a bating themselves sooner than later.
kippy wrote: » I hope I hear more about this in the local media.
JustMary wrote: » Mr justMary picked up a story from a barman that Wednesday is now "student night", whatever that means.
the_syco wrote: » Cheap drink night. It used to be Thursday, but as they get enough punters out for Thursday, the publicans have moved to Wednesday to extend the amount of days that people will go drinking.
Doctor_Socks wrote: » During that fight I have to say the guards were very responsive and stopped it as soon as they came across it, they took names but unfortunately just told the scumbags to go home.