seamus wrote: » I would rather the Gardai were able to move about freely, regardless of whether there's a current emergency, than have them sit in traffic.
MCMLXXV wrote: » This more suited to motors or roads? Only going to turn in to a gardai bashing thread here.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » *facepalm* For the LAST time. Demanding that our police force be held to the same standards and the same laws as ordinary citizens is NOT "police bashing", it's called democracy. No one is above the law, be they enforcer or legislator.
chin_grin wrote: » Saw one in a car yapping away on her mobile while driving. Eejit.
MCMLXXV wrote: » I'm not disagreeing with you - I'm just telling you the way this thread is going to go on AH. It's hardly the first one of its type here - you should know that by now yourself.
TheZohan wrote: » Another garda bashing thread...awe bless. Gardai have to take advance driving courses to drive garda vehicles, they're a damn sight better drivers than most that will post on this thread. But anyway, rabble, rabble, 2 points for speeding and I'm bitter, rabble rabble, gardai are shìt, rabble, rabble let me drag my knuckles...
hatrickpatrick wrote: » I do, and I have never seen "garda bashing" threads here
hatrickpatrick wrote: » For the LAST time. Demanding that our police force be held to the same standards and the same laws as ordinary citizens is NOT "police bashing", it's called democracy. No one is above the law, be they enforcer or legislator.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » Why should I get two points for speeding and not a Gard, if they're not doing so out of necessity but to get to the feckin' shops quicker?
si_guru wrote: » chin_grin wrote: » Saw one in a car yapping away on her mobile while driving. Eejit. IIRC the donut munchers are exempt from that law. ..didn't ye know they have driving super-powers? Anyway, why does any one think Gardai are some kind of benchmark for behaviour. It's no exactly brain surgery being a Gard.
seamus wrote: » For proper enforcement, it stands to reason that the enforcers should be exempt from a number of laws while on duty in order to maximise their effectiveness. If an ordinary citizen were to forcibly detain someone in order to execute an arrest, they could be charged with assault. Would you require that a Garda be subject to the same law? A Garda who is off duty should absolutely be held to the same standard as everyone else, perhaps even more rigidly so.
Lurching wrote: » If this is the case, why are these driving courses not available to members of the public to reduce the number of road deaths? Eitherway, this is a cop-out (pardon the pun). It doesn't matter how good a driver a Gard is, using bus lanes and talking on a phone etc is illegal.
TheZohan wrote: » Gardai have to take advance driving courses to drive garda vehicles, they're a damn sight better drivers than most that will post on this thread. Pretty sure there are a fair chunk of them driving under super's letters and it doesn't matter if you are the Dukes of Hazard if you are texting or on the phone or distracted. Cop's flout the law all the time. In every country in the world- with power comes abuse. Simples.
Pretty sure there are a fair chunk of them driving under super's letters and it doesn't matter if you are the Dukes of Hazard if you are texting or on the phone or distracted. Cop's flout the law all the time. In every country in the world- with power comes abuse. Simples.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » I do, and I have never seen "garda bashing" threads here, only threads demanding that Gards follow the law and complaining that they get away with it when they don't. To qualify as "bashing", the complaints have to be unreasonable, and they're usually not in the slightest.
TheZohan wrote: » Gardai have to take advance driving courses to drive garda vehicles, they're a damn sight better drivers than most that will post on this thread.
I have been further informed by the Garda authorities that, the number of gardaí who are driving Garda cars generally and have chief superintendent’s permission [is] 2013
I have been informed by the Garda authorities, who are responsible for the detailed allocation of resources, including personnel, that the number of gardaí appointed to the Traffic Corps in the past 12 months who are driving on chief superintendent’s permission [is] 17
TheZohan wrote: » Another garda bashing thread...awe bless
tayto lover wrote: » I believe they are exempt this law.
Bosco boy wrote: » I've a feeling your no brain surgeon yourself!
chin_grin wrote: » Although that is shocking to me. Didn't know that! Why can't they put bluetooth sets in their vehicles then?
chin_grin wrote: » Who Guards the Gardaí! Somebody please think of the children. Rabble rabble, etc. Although that is shocking to me. Didn't know that! Why can't they put bluetooth sets in their vehicles then?