dj jarvis wrote: » i was at a family fun day at a church event in shankill village a few years back , we parked out on the main road like most others , passed one car and it had a 1 year old or less having a crying fit in its child seat , me and the wife were very distressed at this vista - we waited for about 5 mins and decided to go to the event organizers - they put a call out for the mother / father to go quickly back and deal with the child 15 mins later another call was put out via the PA but this time the announcer was very agitated and upset and was demanding that this child be delt with NOW , it was a hot day and the child had been crying for at least 20 mins at this stage we left about 10/15 minutes later and started to walk back towards the car , at this stage a group of concerned people were debating should they put the window in and get the kid out from the car as we were leaving to move the car i could hear the ambulance/fire brigade / cops coming in the distance now i ask ya , what kind of cnut would leave a BABY on its own for so long ?? honest 2 god i cant understand the sheer ignorance and stupidity of some parents - a good dig in the face would have been perfectly justified for either male or female in this case :mad: they would not be so quick to do it again , poor child :mad:
IngazZagni wrote: » While it's wrong for sure, it would have been a lot worse if it was on the side of the road on a public street. This however was an underground carpark with lots of security and cctv and auto plate readers. As I said though it's still wrong.
phasers wrote: » Heh, I just remembered that my Dad used to leave me and my Brothers in the car all the time to go into the bookies, sometimes for 20 minutes or more. My area is like junkie central too, surprised I wasn't murdered or something.
bmarley wrote: » I left my week old baby in her pram in the aisle of a supermarket. I had walked nearly the whole way home before I realised. Baby was fine, unaware of the drama.
The-Rigger wrote: » Speaking as a human, I can't believe someone would do that.
TaraFoxglove wrote: » Today was a warm day?
ShamoBuc wrote: » what else would you be speaking as?
solerina wrote: » I was in my local car park last year when a little boy of about 3 cam running by crying histerically, i was worried about talking to a strange child (you cant be too careful, I didnt want to be accused of anything) but I stopped him and in between his sobbing I got him to take me to his car, a ticket was on the car which had been bought 20 mins earlier...I waited a further 10 mins, two other adults alerted by the crying joined me and we decided that as his parent was gone for at least 30 mins and the child had obviously been left alone in the car and had excaped that it was best to ring the gardai. The gardai came quickly and we waited, about 2 mins before the car parking ticket was up the motehr returned, and lie to the gardai but she hadnt a leg to stand on....I was totally shocked that anyone would leave a child in a car on a hot summers day too....I dont know what happened afterwards as I left the gardai to sort it out.
The-Rigger wrote: » 'a parent' - the only people who have any empathy or concern for children.
dan719 wrote: » I was going to link the video a few posts up. The whole series is very enjoyable, if a little repetitive. Personally, I'd break into a car where a child was left unattended for any period of time on a hot day. Call the guards, explain what has happened and wait for the mother to come back and get an earful from said officers. Leaving a child unattended for convenience is a scummy thing to do IMO.
TheZohan wrote: » I don't understand, can you explain what you mean by that statement?
The-Rigger wrote: » Commentary on situations such as this one often produce some 'Speaking as a parent' moments. 'Speaking as a parent, I think this is terrible', etc (watch the baby experiment video for some prime examples.) Certain parents seem to think that only people who are parents can understand what is right and wrong in relation to the welfare of kids. That's all.
TheDriver wrote: » And you would be totally liable for the window. Cops might be able to break it but not you and then you are doing criminal damage.......
LG3 wrote: » not a good idea to approach parent, one woman told me 'i should be ashamed of myself' cos i wouldnt buy my child a magazine, she was crying,. We cant buy our kids something everytime we go into a shop, especially kids maganines most costin €4 - €6!! I ate the woman out of it she'l defently keep her comments to herself in future, when it comes to how a parent should raise their child its a no go area!! Lady who saw child in car should have called security of the cops,.
Biggins wrote: » In all honesty - and I mean it - I would rather be charged with criminal damage that have on my conscience for the rest of my life, the death of a child and that I stood by and possibly let it happen. No decent judge in the world would penalised you harshly given the circumstances hopefully. If I looked through a car window and saw a child was really suffering, yes, I would break the window. Honestly.