pajero12 wrote: » Definately need more than 130hp. My summer rig is chipped to 202hp and you'd need it in heavy first cut meadows, Using two 10ft mowers. Id say 150-160hp anyway!
vanderbadger wrote: » what you driving pajero, john deere i take it? serious power, you must have a diesel bowser following you around
13spanner wrote: » Back to ye again lads Just as regards the mowers, a 228a John Deere front mounted and a 1355 John deere trailed (both 8ft disc conditioners) The kind of ground we'd be travelling would be hilly enough and wet in spots, county clare's finest :rolleyes: Thanks again, 13spanner
pajero12 wrote: » Did you settle on a tractor yet?
13spanner wrote: » Well we were looking at a 2008 massey 6480, the local dealer has one in a nice condition. Supposodly around 140-150hp. Would we want to go bigger? Or should we buy a Deere while we're spending money at all? We've Massey and Deere dealers close enough so we're lucky in that way...
pajero12 wrote: » Are you going full time or are you still in school or college?
beretta686s wrote: » def 200hp+ 2 mowers in heavy grass on hilly ground ull know all abt it
13spanner wrote: » Well I'm in Mary I all the time for secondary teaching, but when I come out of there and (hopefully!) get work, It'll be silage during the summers. Just doing my research as to how I'll go about it. By the way, what do you make of the front mounted/back trailed combination? Thanks for the help, 13spanner
pajero12 wrote: » Ah it's a brilliant set up, But it very much depends on the kind of fields your in! You can't use it for the rounds so that slows ya down abit but once you get going you can mow at a serious rate. In a long flat level field we can mow at about 25kph
pajero12 wrote: » Oh god no, You'd be shot if you were seen one of those yokes round here, It's an 09 Fendt 818 with twin taarups, Haha, actually got the tank brimmed in the field by a corrib oil truck a few times last summer Really dont want to skimp on power with the twins....They start plugging like f*ck! Did you settle on a tractor yet?
vanderbadger wrote: » ive heard that the front mounted mower can be a nightmare on tight roads ?
13spanner wrote: » What kind of horse power would be needed to work....1. 8ft front mounted mower and a 8ft trailed conditioner.2. To pull a 2000-2200gal tanker comfortably.Thanks in advance,13spanner