angelfire9 wrote: » Nope, he's stating a fact as K_mac said If the Gardai are called to an incident they have to respond regardless of who is calling them for help be it a rapist, a murderer, a paedophile or a little old lady in a wheelchair
westendgirlie wrote: » I disagree. His post oozed arrogance. I hopefully won't have to encounter a time when I need the assistance of the guards. If I do it will obviously be because a crime has been committed against me. Will I be "Damn Glad" that a crime has been committed against me?
westendgirlie wrote: » You really are coming across as one of those Guards that thinks they are better than everyone else.
angelfire9 wrote: » Nope, I wouldn't imagine you would But if you get robbed or assaulted believe me you will be glad when the gardai arrive There is nothing more guarantee to shake your self confidence then having your house burgled or being assaulted The fear that the scumbags will come back and finish the job will terrify you (i speak from experience) I spent an hour talking on the phone to the 999 operator one night after a serious assault because I was convinced if I hung up and was on my own in the house he'd come back & I'd be killed, somehow talking to the cop on the phone kept me together til the lads in the car actually arrived
tayto lover wrote: » AND you call them arrogant.
westendgirlie wrote: » Honestly, burglary? I'm not up on statistics but I am sure the best possible outcome I could get from a burglary is a crime number for insurance purposes. And that is from experience. If I thought someone was in my house, yes, I would call the guards (a crime is possibly being committed after all). But I could also then ring my neighbour and receive the same assurances and possibly their actual presence whilst I waited for the guards to arrive. The 999 operator and neighbour both as honourable as each other but one of them doesn't get paid to be.
westendgirlie wrote: » Their posts = my outlook on them :rolleyes:
Break all ties wrote: » There is no such thing as a poor cop.
tayto lover wrote: » So you have met all of them or just have an agenda !!
tayto lover wrote: » I didn'y know the pay was so good in Bulgaria.
Break all ties wrote: » http://www.allvoices.com/news/7348903-official-bulgarian-traffic-police-receives-more-than-100-000-bribes-a-year/stories
Our man in Havana wrote: » Good old corruption.
westendgirlie wrote: » Their, as in that particular poster. Please read above for my reasons and take note I said some, not all. For the record, there are Tw@ts in all professions that think they are better than you just because they are who they are.
tayto lover wrote: » So they are ALL into bribery and corruption in Bulgaria ? Big generalization there imo.
Break all ties wrote: » Only the other week I had to give them 20 Leva (around 10 euro) for a speeding stop. Would have cost a lot more if they did the paperwork. It happens everyday, bribery is common place. At least you know where you stand.
tayto lover wrote: » Why didn't you report that and get them sacked?
steddyeddy wrote: » Do you think they would be sacked?
tayto lover wrote: » Definitely. Corruption is unacceptable and should be reported. Taking bribes is corruption. That is something which certainly would lead to them being sacked.
steddyeddy wrote: » In fairness man I have nothing agaisnt the gaurds but there have been several cases of assaults brought against the gaurds, monies paid out to the victims and not one of them have got sacked. In donegal gaurds made up evidence and had corruption coming out their ears yet the left with a pension. If corruption is acceptable within the irish gaurds what makes you think bulgaria would deal with it?
tayto lover wrote: » If they were found guilty they would have been sacked or disciplined. If sacked then they lose their pensions as far as i know. If disciplined they have other forms of punishment, fines, transfers etc. Just because there has been cases of assault taken does not make someone guilty as there has to be a court case or enquiry. Donegal was a bad episode in the Garda history but how many were involved in total? I believe only about five or six in total and it was dealt with. I have spoken to some Gardai who were glad these people were caught. Corruption is never acceptable. I have to say that throughout 38 years of both working in the P.S. and running my business i have had many dealings with the Garda and have only come across 1 or 2 that i had a problem with because of their attitude. I cannot say that about other professions i had dealings with to be honest.
steddyeddy wrote: » The procedings against theses gaurds involved other gaurds lying in court to protect other gaurds being found guilty and being guilty are two different things but how do I know as a citizen that these things have changed its not good enough for someone to tell me they are.
tayto lover wrote: » You now have the Ombudsman for the Garda and they keep an eye on everything as its their job to do so. You can report to them if you know of anything suspicious.The Ombudsman is informed of every issue involving the Garda even traffic accidents i believe.
steddyeddy wrote: » No doubt things have improved and I do agree with you that gaurds in the force who are decent people are sickened by the few criminals in the force.
g_moriarty wrote: » You think it's only the front-line police accepting bribes in poor countries? Ha, the guys at the top are the worst offenders.
end a eknny wrote: » the general response to a robbery is a bit of lip service with the final word usually you will never see your stuff again as for the asssault surely a doctor would be a more welcome sight