CommuterIE wrote: » Butchering?
Solnskaya wrote: » Yeah, but he's called "Keith":D:D Who could take a Keith seriously??? Keith!!!! Apart from Cheggers, the name Keith is reserved for wallies....oh no, chegs was a wally too.Obviously, KeithAFC is waay cool though, its all the other keiths I'm talking about.
THE actor Brendan Gleeson caught the public mood when he railed against the situation in our hospitals on The Late Late Show on St Patrick's night.
KeithAFC wrote: » Can you actually please stay on topic. This serious subject is not about political ideology. So i would like it if you kept that at the door. Lets discuss this.
Irish Fire wrote: » I have posted my intension to defect from the catholic church as of today, I'm lead to believe that I can no longer do this?? Remains to be seen....
Buceph wrote: » You're five nights too late to do it in any way that would make a difference. The no-religion option in the census is the only real way to indicate your belief. Apart from shouting it in messageboards, but nobody believes what they read on them anyway.
RichieC wrote: » regardless, the church still uses your christening as a stat.
Buceph wrote: » They can say whatever they like, anyone who looks at their stats with any scientific rigour knows they're bollocks.
Buceph wrote: » They can say whatever they like, anyone who looks at their stats with any scientific rigour knows they're bollockes.
Solnskaya wrote: » Basically, if you are a practicing Catholic, you have to ask a few small questions. 1. It states in the Bible, should anybody cause suffering to children, they should have a millstone tied around their necks and be cast into the sea. Not really the Churches current practice, is it? 2. "It is harder for a rich man to pass through the eye of a needle than to enter the kingdom of heaven". This is slightly at odds with the ethos of the Vatican Bank. 3."If you seek to follow me, sell your worldly posessions and give the money to the poor". Hmmmm, lots of gold chalices, new cars, big buildings, antiques, land, cash in accounts, not really hitting the ideal there lads, are ye?? 4."seek to serve the poor". Probably not by locking the church doors(in case anyone steals the chalices etc) thus excluding the poor who need shelter. 5."Be humble, love thy neighbour". No mention of buggering their kids there, is there? 6."You can not serve two masters, choose God or Mammon"- whats with the Vatican bank, surely it should be emptied and distributed to the poor? Whats that Benedict? Thats crazy??? Well go figure. 7.There is but one God, a jealouse God, you shall have no other". Well, unless you listen to Fr McMoney, who reckons there are 3, despite being told otherwise. 8."To worship your God, go to some private place"(probably not the local sunday fashion parade so) "and without others knowing, simply say the ""Our Father"" - that rules out the whole "singing with the neighbours scenario, in your sunday best, in front of the whole village" thing then, doesn't it. Really, the Catholic Church is a whole load of sh1te, run by hypocrites who studiously ignore that which they preach. One of my oldest friends is a Cannon Law expert for the Vatican, a Church big hitter, but all of the above escapes him. Sadly, it escapes a lot of others as well. Incidentally, I am a believer, but I believe in God, not a bunch of old hypocrites who make the rules to suit their purses.
RichieC wrote: » Yea but I would rather there was a way to actually have my name removed from the vatican.
Irish Fire wrote: » I did..... To be fair I'm not overly concerned what way they count heads etc.... This shower ALL knew what was happening and did nothing!!! Really have to wonder if there is a god!!!
Standard Toaster wrote: » Ah yes, the fabulous mythology of talking snakes and magical beings. A book written thousands of years ago by primitive men. A book that advocates senseless murder, opposes homosexuality, slavery and the oppression of women has no place in our society today.
Solnskaya wrote: » That post is rubbish. The message of the Bible is "Love your neighbour as yourself and give thanks to God", all the rest is just filler and spin. I'm not a holy joe, but I do try my best to not sh1t on anyone, and yes, I do believe in 1 God.
RichieC wrote: » By jaysus the anger I feel watching this..
Buceph wrote: » It's just a record of an event that happened. You can't unhappen that event. And those records have been shown to be very useful to historians. And any decent historian 150 years hence will know that just because a church has a record of a baptism doesn't mean that the person practiced that religion later in their life.
CommuterIE wrote: » https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jHqndf9Kx4 It didn't take that video to show me the abuse suffered... these scumbags call themselves Catholic!! I'm a Catholic, and I hope these ***** rot in hell!
Solnskaya wrote: » The message of the Bible is "Love your neighbour as yourself and give thanks to God"
RichieC wrote: » No, it's an active statistic that the church uses. I want the number of catholics in the world to drop. the church made that impossible... and the reasoning is pretty fking obvious. *points at OP*