phasers wrote: » this is probably a stupid question, but i've always wondered... What would happen if all this international debt was just written off? This money doesn't actually exist a lot of the time anyway, which is why i've away struggled to understand the whole bailout thing...
CommuterIE wrote: » Hmmm, I really don't think the Icelandic electorate quite understand the implications of such a move (possible sanctions, economic isolation etc) And if they do, they have some balls!
K-9 wrote: » A lot of pension funds and various other investment funds would be wiped out.
Biggins wrote: » I'm conversing with someone that wants to go off with their own agenda and a chip on their shoulder to boot.
Biggins wrote: » I'm not dragging this thread off point so you can go off on a self-indulgent rant. Bye.
muckwarrior wrote: » ...Cop out.
phasers wrote: » So that's why old people keep their life savings in their mattress!
partyatmygaff wrote: » Cue the inevitable "Let's default" posts...
deise go deo wrote: » Something I wanted to know when I was hearing about this on the news. What Courts would a case like this be heard in? And what legal system would cover it?
...The issue will now be referred to an international court, the European Free Trade Association Surveillance Authority.
AskMyChocolate wrote: » There used to be money. It represented,the work that your parents and your grandparents did. They used to save a little bit each week. This money could then be loaned to you.It would enable you to have a house, while looking after their investments (you), while also you would be paid a living wage. This would enable you to look after the next generation and save a little bit each week. Unfortunately, the people who understood this were squeezed out. Niall Fitzgerald was replaced with Dermot Gleeson. Greed took over. Men and women who knew how to play the long game were derided. Short term profits were lauded above the long term welfare of a company. Justice went to hell. Peter Sutherland was fawned upon by RTE. The interests of Goldman Sachs became more important than the interests of the people. And it became vital to convince the people that the interests of Goldman Sachs were vital to the future of the people if they were to have any future. Then World War Two happened. And we started all over again, just like we have done since the time of Spartacus and before. We'll never change. Although you have to love Einstein. "I have no idea what weapons WW3 will be fought with, but WW4 will be fought with sticks and stones" "If you can't explain it simply then you don't understand it well enough". The man was a fooking legend. Edit: Oh yeah, Phasers. Don't ever posit reasonable questions towards people who are "far better educated" than you. At best, they'll sneer at you, and convince the masses that you're a foolish child. At worst, they'll sneer at you and fail to convince the masses that you're a foolish child. Then it's sedition, and you're in Michael Collins territory. And then you're in real trouble.
giggsy664 wrote: » Hang on a second. Isn't that just artificial debt that shouldn't exist in the first place? Since the UK and the Netherlands decided to "bail out" Landsbanki/Icesave, doesn't that mean they should foot the bill? Also, fair play to the Icelandics.
hatz7 wrote: » Iceland will be able to buy some valuable time in the courts. A case of this magnitude is going to be one delicate operation.They will have to pay the money back, But it is the right course of action, Will they have to start giving out the names of the bondholders? somebody has to sign for them, somebody has to own them. Some cool court case, I bet ya the solicitors from the tribunals here will be sending out the cv's to the British and Dutch banks, another gravy train fot the legal profession if ever there was one
Fratton Fred wrote: » It's not artificial debt, it is real money owed to real people. It wasn't the banks that were bailed out, it was the average person who had their money in savings accounts. The only exceptions are local authorities who placed money in icesave deposit accounts as a "safe bet".
sbsquarepants wrote: » I don't see why? The icelandic government, unlike our own shower of gobshítes didn't guarantee every cent their crooked friends owed out. The english and the dutch took this action of their own accord, they should view it as a costly lesson and only allow banks who's deposits are 100% guaranteed and insured to operate in their jurasdiction in future. There is no reason why the people of iceland should pay for this and fair fúcks to them for standing up for themselves. It's a pity we don't have the backbone for it.
steddyeddy wrote: » There are allegations of dodgy dealings in the icelandic banks fred and the people dont feel like they have to pay it back, I get that the dutch and the british are angry though.
Fratton Fred wrote: » Icesave owes hundreds of thousands of people money. Strangely enough they want it back. Landsbanki has assets that will cover 90% of the money owed. What right do the people of Iceland have to prevent that money being given back?
Ban Ki Moon wrote: » Many Icelanders say taxpayers should not have to bail out irresponsible banks.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » And the problem with this is...? Since when did everyone adopt this ethos of "Private companies can keep their profits if they make them, but if they end up with bad debts that's the government's problem" BS? A bank is a private company. Ordinary taxpayers who have nothing to do with it, should have to clear up none of their mess.
Guill wrote: » Why dont we default??
hmmm wrote: » The most irritating thing about those who say "default!!!" is that most of them really believe it's a painless option and they will listen to no-one who says otherwise. They're probably the same crowd who thought they were all going to become millionaires buying property in Bulgaria.