midlandsmissus wrote: » I read it and thought it was so bizarre, not an average joke, seemed to come out of nowhere. But it makes more sense now. Apparantly the girl didnt want to go in the car with all male officers as she was afraid theyd do something to her, and went in the other car instead. So the converstion is in response to this. Guards who are annoyed at her thinking theyd do something to her. Making fun of her really for thinking something extreme would happen to her, 'we'd arrest her and rape her according to her'.
RT66 wrote: » That might make sense. Have you seen that published somewhere?
k_mac wrote: » If you look at the full recording it is at the start. The girl keeps saying she is afraid of wht will happen to her friend and she won't let her go alone.
gbee wrote: » What happened in the car was probably instigated in a thought process, instigated by the protester herself.
mr cowen wrote: » http://vimeo.com/21952231
Micky Dolenz wrote: » At least the GRA are taking it seriously and not as a joke as some suggest.
Finnbar01 wrote: » For the love of sweet jaysus you can't be serious? A few gardaí make a crude joke and 3/4 quarters of the country are up in arms. Let me ask you this, if you believe that gardaí are not allowed to make jokes in private, how do you enforce it? Monitor their conversations whilst on duty?
Terrontress wrote: » Once again, they are not 'in privte' while in a public car, being paid from the public purse.
Corcioch wrote: » A private conversation between consenting adults, no matter how bizzare or distasteful or childish etc is still that, a private conversation between consentng adults. It matters not if it takes place in on or off duty, in a car or elsewhere as long as it is between the same persons and they all consent to it . . . .
k_mac wrote: » Yes they are. By your logic anyone can just sit into a Garda car whenever they want, or walk through a Garda station or how about walking into the presidents bedroom?
fluffyorganic1 wrote: » If this is the case within the guards concerning jokes about rape, well then they have nothing to fear................
Terrontress wrote: » If they have sufficient reason to then they can. The president should not consider her bedroom private as there are people, for example domestic staff, who have access to it. Another Garda can gain access to a Garda car whenever he wants. A Garda could not claim the car to be a private place if he had left something in the car and another Garda subsequently finds it. There may be confidential conversations which take place inside a Garda car but confidentiality is extremely different to privacy.
Iwannahurl wrote: » Their conversation is no longer private, so absolutely no point in crying over that spilt milk. The controversy has arisen over what has been revealed, not what some might prefer to have kept concealed.
Corcioch wrote: » The President should not consider her bedroom private as domestic staff have access to it . . . . . . . . .that is up there with one the daftest comments I've ever read here . . . So if Joe citizen hires a housekeeper should he/ she no longer consider his/ her home private and as the constitution says, Invoilable, save in accordance with law. State ownership does not infer that property or places are public. Defence Forces armouries are state owned . .try forcing your way into one. The Áras is state owned, try forcing your way in there.
Terrontress wrote: » Are you stating that because there is restricted access to df armouries that people can behave as they like in there? The bottom line is that these public facilities are just that: public. There should be no expectation that your actions there will be treated as being those of a person in a private place.
BrianD wrote: » You're clutching at straws here. The conversation was in private. The party involved were not addressing the public nor, I doubt, had they intended the conversation to be heard by anybody else but those in the vehicle. It makes no odds who owns the car. A transfer and perhaps a training would seem to be me a fair course of action to be taken.
Finnbar01 wrote: » With the exception of a few (mainly K Mac) why have gardaí sold out their colleagues? We're all political correct now?Yeah? Shame on you!
King of Kings wrote: » agreed . The same leftie **** would be moan about freedom of speech if they were under the kosh