RoverJames wrote: » That's a good point. I have a fairly sick sense of humour but the context they used the rape term in was not at all funny. Take your name and address and rape you, deport and rape you. WTF , it's not even remotely funny. The fact that two or three Gardai laughed at it along with the lad who said it is fairly shocking. Can't really understand anyone standing up for these mongs or trying to explain it as a bit of crack either. Sick f**kers. Ban or delete as ye feel fit.
Spacedog wrote: » Public Order Act specifies that a Garda believes someone has committed an offence, they can ask their name and address, and arrest them if they believe they are not telling the truth?
Deleted User wrote: » The girl wouldn't giver her name, was clearly familiar with another woman at the scene who was getting arrested by AGS at the time, was uncooperative and, from the looks of the video, tried to push past Gardaì to her friend, who she claimed was unsafe. I'd say that's reason enough. I don't believe either of the ladies involved reported Gardaì or complained, so I'd assume they agree that they weren't arrested unlawfully.
challengemaster wrote: » First to state I've no experience with these laws
k_mac wrote: » This arguing is a bit futile. I'm sure anyone involved in the emergency services understand why the lads said what they did. And those who have no involvement probably won't. I doubt any amount of discussion will change that.
Locust wrote: » Thanks. Leave that for the courts... This 'rape comment' was a throw away comment/laugh between friends/colleagues. Inappropriate - yeah sure - but it was said in a car, in private, and it just happened to be caught on tape. whats the Offence? Whats the crime? Who was the injured party here? Gardai made an inappropriate remark in the car - NEWSFLASH - geez slow day in the News.. Is all of this media attention just because they have blue shirts and are supposed to be some kind of Batman type characters?!
Traumadoc wrote: » I am sure a lot of people involved in the emergency services such as female members will not.
JonJoeDali wrote: » If it was a priest, people would be up in arms and demanding assets be stripped from the church. I expect similar standards from members of the Gardai.
RT66 wrote: » In everyone's rush to hang these lads at the behest of the delighted/offended (delete as appropriate) protesters, you've all assumed that you do know the full context. The assumption has been made that the rape reference came out of the blue. Perhaps it didn't? What if the members policing the protests there are habitually called rapists (among all the other terms of abuse they receive as a matter of course) by hysterical crusties? Then it's a fairly harmless and humorous method of dealing with such abuse once out of the public eye.
RT66 wrote: » What if the members policing the protests there are habitually called rapists (among all the other terms of abuse they receive as a matter of course) by hysterical crusties?
CarMuppet wrote: » Please clarify you point above: are you saying that because they encounter nasty types on regular basis some of these nasty traits rub off??!!
RT66 wrote: » No. I thought I made it clear, but here goes again. I'm simply saying that the rape reference may not have come out of the blue (if you'll excuse the pun) and that there may be another context for it. As an example, when someone calls me a pig I might be distraught & offended and go rushing to the nearest journo in tears - or I might make light of it by imitating a porker. It doesn't mean I'm wandering around with thoughts of swine in my head all day. Likewise, if protesters were shouting "Murdering scum" at me all day, I might make light of it with my colleagues by joking that I would demand name & address, "or I'll murder you". Tommy Tiernan would have little to worry about, but then neither would the coroner. All I'm saying is that there *may* be some external context to this that you all don't know about, but to not let that stop you from making Kilimanjaro out of this particular molehill.
Spacedog wrote: » what if? so were on a hypethitical here? seems like after the fact, many of you are trying to convince yourselves into a kind of justification for what was said and done. is this common? I see potential abuse of power in the arrest of at least 1 woman - something that shell to sea have claimed is commonplace in the past and has been ignored. I think the gardai here should not be scapegoated / made an example of. but overall the treatment of these feckin crusties needs to be investigated. because from the evedence, their madcap claims just got a whole lot more plausable this week.
Garda rape probe: Young women tell of terror during arrest
RT66 wrote: » RoverJames claimed to know the context of the remarks. I made the point that he/she may not know the context. You then quote me out of context, which presumably suits your agenda. I'm just glad to have been of service.
Gardaí to be probed over Corrib rape jibe
Eru wrote: » just putting it out there but how would people feel if they turned on the news and saw themselves having a private conversation with a work colleague?
RT66 wrote: » RoverJames claimed to know the context of the remarks.