chahop wrote: » I'm not a Guard and think this has been blown out of all proportion, as it was a private discussion between colleague's not a threat to the lady, but as for just a slap on the wrist I think they should get more. If this was in a private company and some staff members were found to be joking about rapeing a other menber of staff or a client they would be sacked or at least supended without pay. BTW the reporting of this has been shocking. Just my 2c
Thoie wrote: » Just to reiterate this point which seems to have been largely ignored. This was not a private conversation in someone's house after work. This was a conversation which took place between colleagues (and a superior?) who were on duty. There is no workplace in Ireland where it would be appropriate for people to jest about raping a "client" or anyone else.
Spacedog wrote: » So... eh, the woman holding the camera... why was she arrested again?
CarMuppet wrote: » I'm also very scared that a lot of lads here think it's ok too. I've been around the planet in many roles.... The only people I found to joke about rape were very dodgy people indeed. .
Delancey wrote: » Did anyone here see Martin Ferris and the Sinn Fein Justice spokesman on the RTE news ? Jesus talk of ' Dumb and Dumber ' - their Justice Spokesman comes across as the sort of moron who would be disqualified from the Dail if TD's were required to take a basic literacy test.
ifiwasonlyrich wrote: » a joke, and made in jest, would they have pursued in raping the woman?! Hell no!
gbee wrote: » At no stage was rape threatened or taken seriously.
BrianD wrote: » not a threat made in public to a member of the public. It is being wrongly spun by the protestors as a threat to members of the public.
Finnbar01 wrote: » And that’s what exactly what it was a joke about hypothetical rape. Not a threat of or a real rape.
cocoshovel wrote: » Christ, I'm finding it annoying the way this is plastered everywhere in bold writing as headlines and top news stories. He just made a small crude joke that any person could of made. It wasnt even that bad when I heard it. Even my friends and I would make jokes like this quite often, infact nearly everybody I know would make a similar joke every now and then. There is no harm intended with this comment. Its just being blown massively out of proportion because a Garda said it.
professore wrote: » To be fair, I think you have unreasonable expectations. Of course they should not joke about something like this and should get a telling off but in the context of the conversation, which they assumed was in private, it was a stupid thing to say. Even the other guard said "I wouldn't go that far Jim" obviously seeing it was an inappropriate comment.
Delancey wrote: » I would be shocked if the Gardai involved were ' disciplined ' over this nonsense - no citizen should be punished for views expressed in a private conversation.
goldie fish wrote: » Tommy Tiernan
LeixlipRed wrote: » Whenever the boys in blue surpass themselves in the public eye one can always be guaranteed giggles in this forum. Sure, they were only a bit stressed. Mistreating women and protestors is tough work!More stress relief here
Deleted User wrote: » Not sure. I believe she repeatedly refused to give her name to the officer (who, in fairness, warned her he would arrest her if she didn't comply). Public Order Act, i think.
pokerface_me wrote: » Lads there is joking and joking. Rape is not funny. If one of you members here overheard me joking with a mate in a private conversation, ahh i think i'll rape that ban-Garda over there hahaha. Wouldn't think you Guys would find it so funny all of a sudden. I'd imagine i be on the recieving end of a trip to the local barracks and a fairly sharp court apperence with God knows what charge.
Contra Proferentem wrote: » I guess it comes down to being more careful in the environment you speak in, at the moment for instance using a public computer, there's a team of techies sniffing what I post.
ifiwasonlyrich wrote: » I agree with ye all. Although, you'll get the feminist screaming "you can't joke about rape", and granted, no you can't, but not in the context they were saying. Due to all the genuine corrupt members of policing, I think the lads did as is, a joke, and made in jest, would they have pursued in raping the woman?! Hell no! I did have to snigger myself a bit when I read the transcript "Will ya be me friend on facebook"......
gbee wrote: » Listen again. A comment comes up about being deported. Then 'and raped' and afer this the male locker room banter began. At no stage was rape threatened or taken seriously.
fatalll wrote: » Leave the Gardai deal with it internally.
Firstly, joking about rape is not funny of course (!). Secondly they are member's of our state's police force and should not be joking about a very serious criminal act. It's not going to make it any easier for rape victims to report their ordeal to the Gardaí when they read and hear about this. Unbelievable on every level.
None of my friends have ever cracked a rape "joke" behind closed doors to me and I would think less of them if they did. This is the kind of crap any decent Irish male would want to distance themselves from, serious idiots these guys. They're pretty screwed though, no one will want to defend these guys even their union (the GRA).
Beruthiel wrote: » As a Garda, in uniform, doing your job, comments about rape, even to another colleague just aren't funny and completely inappropriate. I fail to see how you have to be a feminist to understand that fact.
Sure, they were made in what they thought was a private conversation, that doesn't stop the joke from being completely inappropriate.
vetstu wrote: » What would happen if someone told a bangarda that they were going to rape her? I'd say it would not be regarded as a throwaway comment.
CarMuppet wrote: » Regardless of profession to joke about rape is horrible. I would not these guys working in my locality tbh. I'm also very scared that a lot of lads here think it's ok too. I've been around the planet in many roles.... The only people I found to joke about rape were very dodgy people indeed. Job stress is not an excuse. Stress is curable. See a councillor.
eroo wrote: » I suppose everyone is glad to point out the faults these Gardai had in their private conversation? Yet you will gladly sweep all of their good deeds under the carpet? Such as arresting the sort of people you would walk across the street to avoid; dealing with road accidents that would lead most to sleep with the light on; getting assaulted in the course of their duties; bringing cases before a system that favours the criminal... I could go on, but I wont. Because most of you wont care. I, for one, hope those members are not scapegoated to appease the protesters in Mayo(who aren't from Mayo strangely).