aero2k wrote: » There's always someone faster to look up to - unless your name is Haile!
TheRoadRunner wrote: » Sunday: 9 miles total, 5km race in 16.05. Very happy with race. Haven't done any sort of 5k specific training so was pleasantly surprised I was able to go close to 16 minutes for 5km. Was a little windy out on certain sections of the course and definitely cost me a few seconds. Played it smart by not going off too hard as in previous years. Some of my splits (see below) would lead you to believe I ran erratically but it was a good sustained effort but did push an extra bit on the final km. I was constantly moving up through the field. Actually finished race quite strongly and feel there is a good 10k on the cards in 3 weeks time. 1km - 3.08 2km - 3.14 3km - 3.17 4km - 3.20 5km - 3.06
BeepBeep67 wrote: » Looks like you were pretty close to one of our lads he came 15th in 16:02 - did you have a ding dong or were you closing on him?
TheRoadRunner wrote: » I think I know the guy you are talking about. Had a bray singlet on? Put it this way I never saw his face only the back of his singlet! I was closing on him but didn't get close enough to have any chance of beating him.
TheRoadRunner wrote: » Thanks aero, that was my attempt at being humble
aero2k wrote: » I find having the odd browse here helps with the humility - warning: may lead to making a bonfire of running gear!Link (It seems I'm either 9 or 70....)
theboyblunder wrote: » jaysus - just clicked on that link....who lets a 5 year old run a marathon? :eek:
TheRoadRunner wrote: » I'm very impressed with young Bucky Cox
Patrick_K wrote: » That's really not on.Ramming him with the car might be slightly OTT but I'd certainly call around and tell them what their dog did - might be advisable to bring a stick! If it belongs to a farmer who looks like he might not appreciate your visit it might be easier to send around your local dog warden either.
TheRoadRunner wrote: » Was lounging along back roads when suddenly a dog came out of no where and bit me on the lower calf. Luckily I reacted quick enough and he didn't break the skin. Jarred my knee a little though although it feels grand now. I know the back roads quite well and where all the angry dogs live. Generally they can't get near ya but this is a new kid on the block. I'm thinking of going for a drive later and ramming the bastard.
Krusty_Clown wrote: » Next time launch him into the canal and see if he can swim.
tunguska wrote: » Nightmare scenario. Happened to me during the Athlone 3/4 marathon last year, really shakes you up. I hate cruelty to animals but if you're being attacked, the gloves are off. As Tom Cruise said in Magnolia: If they come near me, I'll F u c k i n g drop kick those dogs.
TheRoadRunner wrote: » Ah wasn't so bad really just got an awful fright. You running Sunday?
tunguska wrote: » Yeah gonna give it a crack. It'll be a howler though, been out for 8 weeks with heel injury. Just gonna turn up on the day and see what happens. No pressure on me, but sub 34 is expected of you sir.
TheRoadRunner wrote: » How did you get the heel injury?
tunguska wrote: » Remember that evening we did the 1 mile reps and I said that my heel was giving me a bit of trouble? I should've stopped running then and there but I did a cross country race the following week, which was a mudbath, and really fecked myself up. Been on the sidelines ever since. Probably shouldnt race on sunday but I feel the need for a good blowout.