Amhran Nua wrote: » It doesn't matter if pedestrians are walking down the middle of the road, motorists have no right to muscle them out of the way or run them down, none whatsoever. The onus is entirely on the driver to be careful, which is part of the responsibility that comes with the privelege of being granted a drivers licence. A privelege which can be taken away. Likewise anyone that didn't notice striking a person, wing mirror or not, shouldn't be let on the roads.
tribesman78 wrote: » Pedestrians have a responsibility too on the road.
tribesman78 wrote: » with the types of wing mirrors that are on cars these days it is possible that she may not have noticed.
Amhran Nua wrote: » Then she wasn't paying proper attention. Again, I see no reason why negligence like that should go unpunished.
Bosco boy wrote: » A bit more cop on and common sence by pedestrians could save a lot of lives!
Happyman42 wrote: » Much as the driver may need to see the error of their ways, so too does your daughter. You may not think a pedestrian has any responsibilities in an ideal world, but in the real one they most certainly do, if they want to stay alive!
Amhran Nua wrote: » Ye can try explaining that to a judge folks, see how far you get with it. And you'll probably have to sooner or later if that's the attitude. Assume every pedestrian and cyclist is a lunatic with a death wish, and you'll have a long and happy driving career.
Happyman42 wrote: » Ask the judge who he would choose to teacher his son/daughter how to cross the road! You or me?
Amhran Nua wrote: » The judge would tell you that a sizeable minority of pedestrians are not competent to show due regard for their own safety, whether they are drunk, on drugs, minors, or mentally unstable. Therefore the onus is always on the driver to proceed in a manner which takes this into account. There might be odd exceptions like that time in Limerick where two lads were on the ground around a bend in a motorway far from urban areas, at night, struggling with one another, wearing dark clothing, but in general it's an ironclad rule. Clipping a child with a wing mirror in broad daylight on a city street is completely unacceptable.
Happyman42 wrote: » And a rap from a wing mirror could easily go unnoticed in the cabin.
the_syco wrote: » The driver was completely at fault. If overtaking a cyclist, a pedestrian, etc, they must ensure they give them enough room. If they did not see the pedestrian, they should either get an eye test to get glasses that will enable them to see the pedestrians, or should be banned from the road.
Bosco boy wrote: » I expect you'll have a short lived career as a pedestrian with an attitude like that!
Happyman42 wrote: » Since when did what happens in a court of law have anything to do with real life?
Happyman42 wrote: » never ever assume that a car will either have the time to stop or is aware of your presence.
Amhran Nua wrote: » The most surprising and worrying thing about this is that someone actually needs to explain this stuff to some drivers. I'll say it again - when a pedestrian bumps into someone they don't run the risk of maiming or killing them. Operators of large and fast moving pieces of machinery on public roads do run that risk. You, as a driver, have the responsibility to watch out for random pedestrians, and proceed in a manner and at a speed which takes unexpected movements into account, from unexpected quarters. If you can't handle that you'll end up a pedestrian yourself, probably after a visit to prison. If that's not real enough for you, I don't know what more can be said.
Chicken1 wrote: » How do you know that, were you there and are you a witness to the event, there could have been any number of reasons why it happened like being too far out on the road when walking with no footpath when one was available on the opposite side. The driver is not always the person at fault here
Amhran Nua wrote: » What part of "a sizeable minority of pedestrians are not competent to show due regard for their own safety" did you not understand?
Chicken1 wrote: » Rubbish I had a very near miss during rag week when a gob...te was messing as I drove slowly over O Briens Bridge and he nearly fell under my car. whose fault is that "Mine" I think not everyone who uses the roads have a duty of care and that includes people walking etc.
Chicken1 wrote: » Rubbish I had a very near miss during rag week when a gob...te was messing as I drove slowly over O Briens Bridge
Happyman42 wrote: » We are talking 'common sense' here.
MarkR wrote: » Neither of these should be an issue for a observant driver. Expect the unexpected and all that.