Carcharodon wrote: » I would be happy enough to see the back of Jack if I am being honest, I have never rated him as highly as others and the lack of tactical changes in the last game was dumbfounding. Maybe some of the players that have been left out in the cold will get a look in if he goes. I would say two or three years of rebuilding and then maybe a serious assault on it again.
teednab-el wrote: » As a Corkman here I find it quite funny that you would like to see the back of Jack. Jack O'C has been a real good manager for Kerry. He delivered 3 All Irelands under his management and thats nothing to be laughed at. I always thought he was a clever manager that always made the right decisions (except for the last day against Down) which he got the tactics wrong there but that was only one game. If us in Cork could have a manager that could deliver us one All Ireland I would be happy and I dont think Counihan will do it as he has made shocking switches and tactics before. I would never write off Kerry. This year will hurt them and they will be back again next year with a flash contesting for Sam. Kerry always seem to win All Irelands no matter who starts for them, its a tradition that ye have.
fresca wrote: » Kerry play Lancashire in the All-Ireland Junior semi-final this weekend. looks like it might be our only all-ireland appearance this year!!!!
fresca wrote: » U-21 county championship final this thursday evening in austin stack park, tralee. west kerry v south kerry.
michelin man wrote: » kerry wont be to far from all ireland next year ok they'll lose a few players but there is good young players on the bench.
Mountainlad wrote: » Any potential new players unearthed by the county championship, young or older?
homerjay2005 wrote: » mike maloney has got to be worth a shot, likewise 3 or 4 other players in the crokes team. if they go all the way to the AI final, then surely if they are the best team in the country, they should have more than what they currently on the kerry panel. the played the final without O leary and kennelly. Ambrose O Donavan was superb in the final, he may get a shot in the early stages (Mcgrath Cup) and see what he is worth and likewise Buckley deserves a shot in there. Brosnan and Cremin IMO, deserve a recall to the squad, unless there are personal problems with Jack. Mikey Collins looked lively for the rockies and IMO would be worth a shot more than one or 2 players who made the panel this year. Maloney at full back defo is the main find for me anyway.
thesultan wrote: » I would like to see Geaney do well. No doubt he will get a load of verbals of Cadogan today. Cork might win by two points
DDC1990 wrote: » Good performance from the Kingdom, pity about the final score. Should have wrapped it up when we were a point up, but the lack of a free taker killed us. Sending off happended right in front of me. The two lads squared up as a free/lineball (can't remember but it was out by the line) was being prepared to be taken. Loadsa verbals, O'Leary gave BJK a little dig into the ribs, BJK squared up to O'Leary and motioned his head towards him in a "Im Going to Fight You" way. O'Leary laughed for a second, then punched BJK twice and wrestled him to the ground. Went ballistic when I saw the one red coming out, but fair play to the umpire. I can only imaging BJK was sent off for intention to strike with the head, but if he was sent off for striking it was a joke, he didnt get near landing a punch. Well Done Cork, maybe this will be the matchup in September? Who knows.
slingerz wrote: » Your the only one in the attendance that saw NOL punch BJK, BJK clearly goes for a headbutt which didnt connect and NOL reacted by swingin at him and missing and knocking him to the ground. Handbags except for BJK's attempted headbutt which has no place on the field.
thesultan wrote: » I would be very fearful of the Kerry defence when the two O'Sé's go. I don't think that Barry John Wals hasn't the pace for inter county and is Jacko being too loyal to him from his Kerins experience. Goulding has serious bulk on him and was too strong for Podge O'Connor. Moran again has little speed and not doing enough to be a regular starter. Geaney did well but missed one or two in the second half which could have kicked Kerry on more. Kerry need a freetaker (when Sheehan is missing) that can kick from the ground. Donnacha won alot of ball but should have goaled. Donaghy who was very poor last year seem to have his spark back and that can only benefit Cooper. Pity O'Mahoney got injured. First time I have seem him impose himself on a game since he took a dive against Cork back three years or so.
keane2097 wrote: » Re: midfield I thought Maher (who I'm not usually a fan of) and Moran played very well. They were up against the team with by far the strongest ball winning team in the country and weren't cleaned out. They were under pressure at times, but were dominating for ten minutes or so before Scanlon was introduced. Interestingly, Kerry hardly won a ball at midfield after Scanlon came on. I really think he's been drastically overrated in the last few years and is very far from the guaranteed starter quality that a lot of people seem to think he has.
AOM had a great game, him firing on all cylinders would be a brilliant for a back line that looks a bit lacking in depth.
fresca wrote: » looking forward to croker next sat...
fresca wrote: » how did EB do at centre-back?