Aoifey! wrote: » Are you expected to sit in your house with barely the essentials and nothing else if on the dole?! I think not.
mickydoomsux wrote: » Yup. That's exactly what you're supposed to do. If you want money to spend on non-essentials then get a job. Can't get a job? Tough ****. Another hold over from the Celtic Tiger. "Ah shure, people should still be able to have the craic :pac:". Dole money is for basic living costs. If you have a tenner left over to piss away then you are obviously getting more than you need. Put it in a savings account for a rainy day rather than wasting it.
jackiebaron wrote: » Man, Ireland sucks. 8 cans is all you get for a tenner? In Amsteram you can get 30 500ml cans of lager for a tenner and get well and truly sh1tfaced.
Cheap Thrills! wrote: » :pac: How strong are those beers jackiebaron ?
Copper23 wrote: » Oh god, here we go... To be honest I think the money could go to better use yeah... if you're asking. If someone is out of work then they are well entitled to the dole. Dole money is tax payers money and meant to be for the person obtaining it to still maintain a basic standard of living. So basically that covers, food, water, housing, etc... necessities, not luxuries... So sorry but yeah, the tone of the original post doesn't exactly sit tremendously well. Yeah I know, this will be horrendously unpopular but thats my view and tbh I'm not gonna change it. And what do you mean by "the times"
... please don't give me the whole "recession, recession" rabble. People find themselves on the dole in good times and bad, it doesn't change the rules.
Dein wrote: » only got a tenner left,anyone know what i can buy for 10 euro that will get me smashed up??
Copper23 wrote: » Good to see my taxes are going to good use.
Cereal Rapist wrote: » Buy a buss pass and get a job.
Copper23 wrote: » People find themselves on the dole in good times and bad, it doesn't change the rules.
k_mac wrote: » There seems to be a mass misunderstanding of the concept of the dole. It is not there for a person to spend how they want. It should be spent on the costs of living. If you have some spare lodge it in your bank account so when it comes time to pay for your insurance, tax or tv licence you don't have to moan about not having the money to pay for it. Is there no personal responsability in this country? For the record I don't drink or smoke. I spend my extra money on movies and computers for the most part. If I have a tenner left to my name will I spend it on a movie? **** no. That would be retarded.
Dudess wrote: » You know perfectly well what I mean. You can dismiss that as "rabble" but the reality of it is: there is high unemployment and people are on the dole as a means of income, sometimes long-term unfortunately, not because they are "wasters" so why are they not entitled to a treat such as a measly €10 worth of booze per week? It's what they'd do with their earnings if they were working - and the money is their entitlement seeing as they too were paying taxes when working.
Copper23 wrote: » Nice to see someone with their head screwed on in this thread. This one exaclty proves my point. Someone with a bit of cop on who knows the score. If he does have some extra cash and can spend it on a movie or something, I'm really not gonna argue with that. Its more he bragging about pissing the dole money away is more what gets me. I'm really not sure how I misunderstood you? What I got from you is that given that it is a recessionary time, then people should be MORE willing to spend their dole money frivilously. This being a time where more people are unemployed and on the dole. This in turn, among other things has driven taxes up for those who are lucky enough to be employed. And given times are hard the chances are many on the dole will remain there for longer whereas they might have had more chance to get back working in the past, so they might need any spare cash they have now for bills later on. Sorry, I'm not gonna agree, flat out. Dole money is there to let you have all you need to maintain a normal or standard living condition as best you can. I'd probably not really have a problem with someone spending a bit left over on themselves really if they weren't so arrogant and throwing it my face like the OP. Someone wants to spend some on a few pints? Sure I'd probably feel the same if it was me, but telling people you use your dole money to get smashed? Sorry, I'm just not gonna support that. Yeah, he was probably trolling, I'm just astounded by the level of support he got.
cambo2008 wrote: » Buckfast obviously
Confab wrote: » If it makes you feel any better, I used to spend some of my dole on champagne. I do have a job now though.
patwicklow wrote: » giving out folk on dole and spending a few bob on a drink, sure does,nt more then half the taxes spent on drink goes back to the coffers.