whycliff wrote: » I accept that, my arguement wasnt about things being legal or illegeal its about contributing to criminal gangs and then giving out about it. Being a hypocrite. All I'm saying is as jesus once said "Let He Who Is Without Sin Cast The First Stone". No one is perfect, Gerry never claimed to be either.
whycliff wrote: » Everything we do on a daily basis provides an outlet for criminal gangs. People smoking results in demand for counterfeit cigarettes. Diesel in cars results in counterfeit diesel over the border. Gerry like us all kept his money in a bank, criminals target banks. Is he a hypocrite for that too? I would be willing to say that there isn't one person in AH at this moment that hasnt done something that contributed to criminal gangs.
mariaf24 wrote: » Aaaam, Did you ever listen to his show? :pac:
Monty Burnz wrote: » Your point is complete nonsense to be honest. He bought illegal drugs directly from criminals. Every step in the chain from start in Columbia to the end in Ryan's nose was illegal. He gave money that fuelled the murderous drugs gangs in Ireland. And you compare this to somebody legally placing legally earned money into a legal bank? That's total idiocy.
Fozzie Bear wrote: » Jesus H Christ I can actually smell the sh1te coming off the above while sitting here in front of my screen. I think you have discovered a way of transmitting smell via the web. Just concentrate it. Well done you!
whycliff wrote: » Everything we do on a daily basis provides an outlet for criminal gangs.
Monty Burnz wrote: » Epic bull. We are not all hypocrites. Maybe you are. Ryan certainly was one, with his anti-drug sermons while he was snorting himself. Deal with it.
Wertz wrote: » Was just thinking there about the Katie French thing.....in the same week that happened, a couple of lads in Wexford or Waterford also died from complications of cocaine usage. You never heard a damn thing about these guys after the initial reports, including any inquest results and sure as hell there was nothing mentioned about anyone being arrested or jailed for supplying them with the damp coke. Contrast that to the French episode...people doing time for differing aspects of supply and inaction leading to her death, a whole media frenzy surrounding same...and let's not forget the shock and dismay of the Irish people upon discovering that this beautiful girl was a regular cocaine user. No-one seemed shocked that a bunch of working class lads from some corner of the country could OD on coke, that it was probably their own fault, serves them right etc...but if it's some good looking young one from an affluent part of the Pale, then it's all evil drug barons, gangland and general hysteria. As someone mentioned above, I can foresee a witchhunt for Gerry's dealer(s) emerging, even if the trail may have gone cold. I wonder if the investigative teams in RTÉwill run with this or is it sailing too close to the wind and better left to the Williams and the Sunday World...
Minstrel27 wrote: » Explain how driving to work every day provides an outlet for criminal gangs.
whycliff wrote: » Seriously though, all my joking aside Who gives a f*ck really if he lost the middle part of his nose from snorting it and he was left with one big nostril? It was his life and his money to do so, why are people so obsessed with it?
chordtype wrote: » He got paid with money from OUR TV LICENSE.
DubDani wrote: » He is dead, and if they are sure that he was not killed, then that's it. If I would die under the same circumstances, then there wouldn't be an inquest either. Complete waste of taxpayers money IMO.
123balltv wrote: » what a hypocrite :mad: giving it all that slagging people off on RTE they said he was stressed over the recession WHAT did he live on the breadline I dont think so maybe the price of coke was keeping him up at nights and stressing him out
thewintermute wrote: » Cue media frenzy to track down supplier of cocaine that killed Gerry? (a la French Stylee)I seriously doubt it.
Minstrel27 wrote: » And the advertising. 2FM receives nothing from the licence fee. Licence fee rubbish is for a different thread though.
Monty Burnz wrote: » Because he was a hypocrite. Same as Bishop Eamonn Casey who gave speeches from the pulpit about sex and sin and how wrong sex outside marriage was, while simultaneously having a vigorous sex life himself with some other woman and having a child with her. I don't care that he took drugs particularly (although I'd lose a degree of respect for him there straight away), but I do care when he lectures the ordinary people about the evil of drugs and criminal gangs in between his coke inhalations.
whycliff wrote: » Not from mine because I've never had one. So let me get this in my head, our TV license money pays everyone in RTE's wages and that they should spend there wages on what we tell them to?
"I go first class with Aer Lingus to JFK. There's a big seat, everyone's attentive and nice, I have a few drinks, and when I'm with my family, I see them enjoying the fruits of my labour...Then we get to New York and there's a limousine waiting to take us to Manhattan. "We check into Fitzpatrick's and go upstairs to one of the suites, or as we did last year, to the penthouse...And the path is always greased. Maybe U2 are playing in Giants Stadium, and the backstage passes will be waiting for us in the Rockefeller... "I defy anyone to say that's not a good way to travel."
I'm a great fan of property developers because I believe they turned the country around ... These guys are really our merchant princes. I think there's been a lot of pointless tut-tutting in relation to the amount of money they've made. The likes of Sean Dunne, Harry Crosby and Johnny Ronan pulled Ireland up by its bootlaces and propelled it into the future ... These guys rejoice in profit. And I'm not ashamed to say that I do too ... I find myself most comfortable among those people. I also find myself the least wealthy man in the room ... The guy I was interviewing said: "You get the horn when you're standing beside money" And I said: F***ing right I do!" ... Bertie Ahern is, without doubt, more than any other politician in the history of the Republic, substantially responsible for the success of this country ... Mary Harney asked me if I was interested in standing as a PD ...
Irish Slaves for Europe wrote: » The level of smugness and sanctimonious preaching in this thread is truely shocking, some of you really need to get off your pedestal.