http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/1028/1224282144477.html?digest=1
I don't think I have ever heard the "I blame myself" quote from his mouth but in this piece, it falls from his lips in relation to him not knowing the importance of
'keeping a tight rein' on financial institutions.
And he, the Taoiseach of the country at the time!
He qualifies this later on with
'The Central Bank reports but only what it wants to report.'
Then:
'“But who would suppose that people in such responsible positions, of huge experience, committed such culpable mistakes and didn’t exercise self-control?”
This is in regards to 'financial people' as he puts it yet he as Taoiseach, in such a responsible position, of huge experience, committed such culpable mistakes and he didn't excercise self-control.
I think Ahern is still living in bertieland where everyone and everything else is to blame - the guy contradicts himself left, right and centre, read this :
“I agree. . . that we were building too much; we believed that there would be buyers of properties forever "
On the point of why didn't his govt save on behalf of the nation when the pretend money was rolling in, a little more la-la land stuff from the man who can't believe the 'financial people' in such responsible positions could be such careless bastards with no self-control:
"From each side, from each politician, I heard constantly ‘spend, spend’ . . . I was criticised all the time that I spent too little.“If I had cut spending they would have crucified me.”
The contradictions abound.
And finally, on him and the Presidential election, seeing as he's so bored now and with little to do (intimated in the article):
“I am thinking about this. Now, it’s only an idea, but I wonder about running in the presidential elections.“Still, I have a lot of time to think about this; the election is not until 2011.”
So, he blames himself now for not realising one of his main duties was to watch over the economy and ensure proper governance of the financial system (I mean, he was an ex-MoF so what would he know...), that he was too cowardly and unintelligent to shout stop when throwing pretend money away based on what he admits was the govt belief that people would be buying property at hugely inflated prices with pretend money at the rate of knots forever and that he's now bored in his excessively salaried job, a job only 165* other people in this country have and one which can effect profound change on the whole country.
Bored??!
I don't think any ex-Taoiseach of this country has come across as such a boor and utter sleeveen as this speciman.
Not even his daddy, Haughey.
*Actually only 162 at the moment.