Limerick_Lass wrote: » The new authority they are hoping to form to replace the city and county councils could be here within two years. It will have some input from Clare also. Limerick will then become Irelands 3rd largest city. How do ye think this will effect the city and county? I personally don't see its going to help tackle the many varied problems that Limerick City currently faces. By all means amalgamate the pointless and useless county councils in the region. But Limerick City needs it's own strong governing body given the complexity of the issues. Seems to be a cop out to me!
Limerick_Lass wrote: » What are the opinions I wonder of the people living in these specific areas of Corbally, Shannon Banks ect.?
molard wrote: » don't know where u live in limerick .fyi corbally is part of limerick city.i don't know why you would want their opinion.
munstergirl wrote: » There is an invisible line between corbally (limerick) westbury (clare).
kiersm wrote: » AFAIK once you over the bridge into Shannon banks you're in Clare that's why Clare Co Co put a sub office in the Westbury Centre to pay for car tax etc.
A man in his 60s, who sparked off a search yesterday after he stole a car with a baby in the back, is due in court later today. The car, with the six-month-old boy in the backseat, was taken from a street in Newport in Co Tipperary at around 3pm yesterday afternoon. It was abandoned a short time later on the outskirts of Nenagh town. The baby was uninjured and reunited with his parents. Gardaí later arrested a man in Birdhill in Limerick and he is due to appear before Nenagh District Court this morning.
topper75 wrote: » Just saw on the RTE news site that we have seized parts of Tipp as well. On with the blitzkrieg I say! Lebensraum fur der Limerickermenschen! We will rule Ireland with an iron fist (or maybe a Munster rugby spongehand).http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0917/newport.html Those jackeen geography teachers don't bate kids half hard enough.
molard wrote: » anyone know about the public rally in westbury on sunday 10 oct. is it the residents running it or outside interests
kilburn wrote: » never heard of it to be honest. Well they have already colonised half the bridge and claimed it for Clare so we should blow our half
Limerick_Lass wrote: » By all means amalgamate the pointless and useless county councils in the region. But Limerick City needs it's own strong governing body given the complexity of the issues. Seems to be a cop out to me!
Soulcrew09 wrote: » Rte reporting up to 1000 people took part, i was there heckling myself and the number sounds about right. Vast majority seemed to come from outside Westbury/SB. Now 1000 people protested on a dry mild day. 3000 people live in the proposed extention area, and overall 110k people live in Clare. What does that say?