Liam90 wrote: » Hey was just wondering is anyone else using eircom is having problems. For about the past month everytime i try and play call of duty the connection is so bad i have no choice but to turn it off. I really want to play a good lag free game of cod but can't, im really frustrated! Anyone else using eircom having problems? Thanks
Kersmash wrote: » I'm with Eircom and according to that speed test I have a ping of 30ms, but when I try to find a game of MW2, it always goes way past the games of 50-60ms. Is this just a case of me needing to search more or is there anything I can do to improve this?
sierra117x wrote: » well u may get 30 for a server in say dublin but there may not be any local hosts so when its searching for games in say the likes of the uk ur ping may go much higher . if you had a good enough connection all round (low ping high upload and good download) you could probably host a game yourself but your straying into the region of spending money
Adnan Alves wrote: » Hmmm, a first for me... but I was lagging really bad on 3 bars earlier this afternoon.
everlast75 wrote: » Did anyone get bumped up to the 8mb broadband (what Eircom are calling NGB) from their existing service? I'm still waiting
everlast75 wrote: » Hey all, I've posted this on the other part of the site, re technical info, but haven't gotten any success yet, so was wondering if any of ye had encountered summit similar... I have a Netopia Router, model number 2247-62-2 EIR, provided by Eircom. My NAT setting is "strict" and always have two bars connection. Lads on here have said get that sorted (I'm dragging them down ) I have googled the modem and have not found any websites that actually help. I rang Eircom on three occasions in the one day. 1) I was told that the support guy could alter the NAT settings remotely and that it would be done within half hour. It wasn't. 2) I was told that the earlier support guy should not have told me that he could do that - all they can do is lower the firewall. I was referred on to the Netopia online chat support and told that in the meantime, my ping was lowered. It wasn't. (I rang Netopia and they told me that the hardware was the ISP's responsability and that in any event they did not have the technical knowledge of that router). 3) I was told to go to the website - portforward.com - Eircom could do nothing. (I followed the instructions on portforward... which were to input three sets of figures... which I did. I restarted the modem and still the same). At this stage, I feel like throwing the modem off the wall and buying another, but before I do that, can ANYONE please offer assistance.
celtic723 wrote: » The best assistance i can give you is to get rid of eircom. They are fucking cnuts.
ZuluPunch wrote: » Put your IP address into your DMZ on your router settings. Should give you a NAT open.
Rycn wrote: » Setting up your network settings, when you get to IP address select PPPOE and enter Username: eircom and Password: broadband1. This will set your NAT to type 1 and youll be grand Hope it helps, its easier on the PS3 to do this i hear, have no idea about the xbox.
everlast75 wrote: » I'll give that a shot, thanks!!