murphaph wrote: » This is why I will not move back to Ireland to rear my kids there....... Most people in Ireland are decent, hard-working etc. so there's no good reason that a minority can terrorise the rest of us.
Judgement Day wrote: » shamwari - sounds like you had a very unpleasant experience and I trust you wrote to the RPA and Veoila about it as well as posting here?
murphaph wrote: » Drugs alone are responsible for something like 70% of crime in Dublin:
eia340600 wrote: » I have been to London many times and know that when you walk into an underground station outside of peak time your risking, at the your wallet.
feelingstressed wrote: » I'm interested to know if you are including common drugs like alcohol and tobacco here. Cigarette smuggling is rife. And Dublin or every town in Ireland has late night fights outside nightclubs and chippers fueled by alcohol. Leads to other crimes like domestic abuse or drink driving. Something overlooked in the whole head shop debate or shouted down anyway Are these drugs included in the 70% you've posted?
BenShermin wrote: » Finally, the majority of Irish people need to stand up to the minority every single day.
shamwari wrote: A few lads and I made eye contact with each other and I could see that all of us wanted to give this scroat a piece of our minds. I got off at James and left this disgraceful pair to themselves.
I reported the old lady being threatended to the Gardai. I gave my name and address and told them I would identify the perpetrator if they could locate him from CCTV. However they wouldn't entertain my complaint because it had to come from the injured party.I didn't bother with Veolia & the RPA because all I'm doing is reporting matters after the event.
Buses haven't been the same from when they got rid of the conductor. Plenty of times growing up I saw the conductor keeping an eye and chucking 'undesirables' off the bus or just being a general deterrent to scumbags of all ages.
feelingstressed wrote: » This thread is on the red line Does the Green line have any similar issues. I don't get it so I don't know, I wouldn't think it was be as bad at all
Stay Safe with Luas Luas is a welcome part of Dublin's development. Let's make sure we all stay safe. Safety Features At Tram Stop - CCTV - Emergency Help Point located beside Ticket Machine. Press and speak directly to Luas control room. On Board Tram - CCTV - Emergency Button beside door. Press and talk directly to tram driver. - Emergency Handle beside door. Pulling this handle will bring the tram to a stop. - Security Personnel* - Luas Revenue Protection officers* - Tram Driver CCTV downloads can be requested from Luas Customer Care Freephone 1800 300 604 and info@luas.ie. Please note a request must be made immediately particularly if it relates to an incident. The type of information which is required is location, time, Luas line and date. The issuing of CCTV follows guidelines as laid down under data protection legislation and in accordance with good practice. * Luas Security and Revenue Protection Staff are not on board every tram.
Luas should provide you with the utmost levels of safety and security. * All Stops and all trams are equipped with CCTV cameras. * Customer Service Officers will be present throughout the day and until the last tram.
* Our Customer Care Centre and internet site will be available to assist you, to listen to you and to respond to your needs. * We will answer all written comments within one week. * Call Luas Customer Care Freefone on 1800 300 604 Open Monday – Friday 7am – 7pm and Saturday 10am – 2pm * Email: info@luas.ie
Gardaí representatives attend Veolia’s Safety Forum, a twice-yearly event at which antisocial behaviour issues are reviewed and discussed
AlekSmart the thing is your driving, yes you can check your camera and periscope alond with the rest of you mirrors but your still driving, if something kicks off and your doing through a busy intersection you cant' stop the bus right away, best you can do is maybe hit an automated warning
As for the cameras, are all of the ones in the current dublin bus fleet finally real? How good are they in terms of a good visual identifitcation?......
You are right that the presence of the bus driver can go along way to a safer journey but alot just stay behind thier screens and drive. I have made complaints and had drivers shrug it off when I have had to move with my kids away from anti socail behaviour
Thaedydal wrote: » Lets have transport police tied in with a proper metropolitan police and if needed conductors on certain route as well as inspectors.
feelingstressed wrote: » Yes to a transport police but nay to a metropolitan police. I don't see why the cities get a new dedicated service while rural garda stations are being closed
The only time in the last 6 months I have seen a driver intervine was one which I know to see who was new and from Sudan, he had no issue puling over, leaving the driver cab and coming up stairs to put a gang of teen in thier places and tell them to stop kicking seats and y'know what they did, but I am sure that as soon as he is briefed to company policy or has his first serious threath to him or his health that will stop.
AlekSmart wrote: » Thaedydal,I`m not certain as to whether the Busdrivers ethnicity is relevant to his actions,or perhaps it may be an avenue worth exploring..IE: the relative disinterest of the native Irish in the destruction being wrought around them ?
AlekSmart wrote: » The company policy is absolutely clear on this situation. The Driver must not leave the cab to intervene in any inter-passenger dispute. From the company perspective that is a non-negotiable standing instruction. If this mans local management become aware of him leaving the cab,he will be given "advice" on the Company`s Policy. This procedure will formally record the company`s instruction to him individually and thus in the event of a future incident which might result in injury to the driver he will be On-His-Own in every sense. This type of stuff is not of the Company`s making but rather it is necessary to protect it from all manner of subsequent claims at law. The real issue,as many regular travellers note,is the total lack of interest or committment to addressing the ever worsening problem of violent and threateneing behaviour on Public Transport.
AlekSmart wrote: » That problem cannot and will not be solved by the Bus or Tram Driver acting alone.
So bus drivers are instructed to stay in the cab no matter what and not to put themsevles at risk not matter what is happening on the bus and they have very little if any duty of care to the passengers.
murphaph wrote: » This is why I will not move back to Ireland to rear my kids there. My GF (German) is deluded that Ireland is a "nice place" but that's because when we visit there I always have the use of a car and I know how to avoid a bad area...but if we were to move there it would mean her coming into contact with that sort of carry on and I don't want to expose her to the dregs of Irish society: the previous poster is right...a PC bleeding heart liberal agenda has led to a situation where society is paralysed and scumbags are not just belted over the head with a baton by a 6' tall brick sh!thouse culchie Garda, which is EXACTLY what should happen to them. Drugs are heavily responsible for all this though, make no mistake. In Dublin a lot of people still don't realise how bad the heroin problem is (and with it all sorts of other legal and illegal drugs that heroin addicts take to "take the edge off" etc.). The sentence for ANY for of drug dealing (even by addicted users) should be 20 years in prison with NO POSSIBILITY of early release. Drugs alone are responsible for something like 70% of crime in Dublin: it would be money well spent to build a few large prisons in the middle of nowhere with limited visiting and start throwing drug dealers in them for a long time. It would take a while but eventually the message would sink in that getting involved in drugs WILL lead to a long spell in prison. At present there simply is NO STRATEGY to tackle the heroin problem in Ireland, and so it's getting worse. Most people in Ireland are decent, hard-working etc. so there's no good reason that a minority can terrorise the rest of us.