Lando Griffin wrote: » I myself have perfected the regional neutral accent, when i talk to normal people they think what a snob and when I speak to D4s they think im a knacker.
tommyhaas wrote: » See what I mean??, the D4 accent has given Ringsend a bad name...
gulf wrote: » "The fact is that, given the laws of thermodynamics, it takes no effort to look like a slob; to be smart calls for care and attention, not only to one's clothes but to how one behaves. It also means that one must try to imagine what one appears in the eyes of others. Slobbery is the sartorial manifestation of solipsistic egotism; smartness is simultaneously self-respect and respect for others."
mars bar wrote: » Sheesh, selective quoting much?!
tommyhaas wrote: » So what your saying is that with a bit of effort and attention, D4 heads could sound like us normal Dubs??
gulf wrote: » What's a "normal Dub"? Do you have to have a "passion" for GAA to qualify?
unknown13 wrote: » By stuck up teenage girls who hang out in dundrum shopping centre wearing abercrombie and thinking they are god's gift. Fortunately the recession has put an end to most of that crap as Daddy has just got a pay cut.
tommyhaas wrote: » Only in the summer months, usually pack it in shortly before September...
gulf wrote: » Dundrum shopping centre is a consumerist haven for the parasitic middle classes. If you think you're a cut above the rest by emptying your pockets there on a Saturday, you're seriously deluded. It's not just middle class girls who hang around shopping centres. Donaghmede and Ballymun are full of similar adolescents who listen to the same music, are brain-washed by the same TV programs and are in the habit of irritating people in their vicinity. "Hanging out at the mall" is an engineered social phenomenon rooted in consumerism.
gulf wrote: » Dundrum shopping centre is a consumerist haven for the parasitic middle classes. If you think you're a cut above the rest by emptying your pockets there on a Saturday, you're seriously deluded. It's not just middle class girls who hang around shopping centres. I'm sure Donaghmede and Ballymun are full of similar adolescents who listen to the same music, are brain-washed by the same TV programs and are in the habit of irritating people in their vicinity. "Hanging out at the mall" is an engineered social phenomenon rooted in consumerism.
Dublin4Life wrote: » I disagree guys , the accent itself represents old money in the south dublin area and it sets us apart from the scum who are taking over our city by having 10 children with 10 different men
gulf wrote: » I suppose I should say "fair play to ye". I guess I'd make a good politician: to say otherwise would be electoral suicide.
recylingbin wrote: » No, it doesn't. Old money doesn't speak like that. It's the sons and daughters of the auctioneers and accountants that sound like an episode of friends.
tommyhaas wrote: » Theres ordinary people who are neither scam the system knacker types nor do they look down from there high horses at those who wernt born with the silver spoon
Deus Ex Machina wrote: » Bollocks to all this ranting about the pretentious nature of the D4 accent, show me one person who isn't in some way affected. The reason why the D4 accent gets such stick is because it is less subtle than other common pretensions and therefore can be seized upon by even the most gormless individual. The other side of the it is that they are often, not always I concede, from families of reasonable wealth. This means that they are ripe for criticism regardless of what they do, the accent is often the most palpable aspect of their status and therefore it receives the most attention, this snowballs, and eventually everybody is criticising people because they put on their accents, thus making the critic feel someway distant from their own affectation.
gulf wrote: » Some middle class people like to speak with D4 accents and hang out at shopping malls. For others, the culture of the least common denominator appeals to them: football, cheap beer, sex and fast-food. Either way, the consumer-driver illusion of "identity" makes plenty of money for those pulling the strings. Generally, those in the different consumer strata will never have real net wealth. If they do manage to escape the trawl nets, they'll be glorified and put on a pedestal for all to see. Without such celebrity "culture", the system can't operate.
Deus Ex Machina wrote: » I can't really accept anything you said for one simple reason, you mention sex as part of a specific sphere of social status. As far as I can see the sole purpose of social status of any kind is getting one's knob sucked by the people you want to suck it, therefore identifying sex as a mere aspect of a single social grouping seems absurd to me.
Wibbs wrote: » So much so that the Dort/D4 accent adds them where not required. The classic is the word "Height". Irish people trying to "speak proper" add an aitch to the end so it becomes "heightH".
bluewolf wrote: » This drives me up the wall. My mother is guilty of it too, and we're far from D4. Rothweiler, wroughth-iron... :mad: She even refused to believe wrought iron didn't have a h at the end. You can see it as well when people are talking about being "thought" in school.
ch750536 wrote: » To give some insight into the D4 accent... I'm english, have lived in many places and it takes about 2 years for me to get a local 'twang', be it Liverpool, Newcastle, Leeds, Glasgow... you get the idea. Been on the west coast for 6 years, I sound very D4. Not purposely, it just happens. So english with a hint of Irish sounds like D4?