brianthebard wrote: » Its just tesco, there's been threads about this before in the booze forum, its a stupid policy they've made up for themselves. I don't understand it one bit, there's at least three IDs recognised by the government as valid for this sort of thing I don't know how tesco get away with not accepting other types. I don't think you should bother getting an age card at this stage, personally I might try to kick up a fuss and get a manager called down, but I rarely get checked anyways so never have to do that sort of thing.
Columc wrote: » When that happened I kicked up a mighty fuss giving out and asked for the manager. But being it at 2am they replied saying the night manager is on his break. At the end of my ranting 2 secruity guards were over making sure it wasnt some drunk cause a problem. Im making sure I never shop there again, it is a pity cause it is the only 24hr super market around and is good for those late nights.
Columc wrote: » I was in tesco last week, and I noticed that their ID requirement to buy cigerates
They couldn't have sold you drink at 2am anyway?
ScumLord wrote: » Tescoes Tesco treat there staff like robots they're not allowed to think for themselves so there's no reasoning with them if the computer says no. Just go to any other shop, an independent off license can make judgements based on common sense.
yer man! wrote: » I'm a Dunnes employee and they are very strict over ID's. If i suspect something's a miss with someones ID i've to call a manager straight away and let them make an informed decision on the case. We cannot except driving licences at all which is stupid really, we had to sign a form so that if we do except one and the person isn't in fact of age then the employee can have legal action brought befpre them so it's easier and safer to decline a sale. I suppose the reason that they stopped taking licences was that so many ppl were using fake ones or ppl who looked like them so it was easier just to stop taking them and reduce the risk albeit slightly of selling to a minor. What is good tho is that Dunnes managers will make an informed decision if you are obviously over 18.
i remember a couple of yrs back i was asked for id in joyces for booze, i produced a provisional licence to show i was in fact 20 and she refused saying they only accept full drivers licence not provisiona
jenno86 wrote: » FYP
rubywoo wrote: » Yup, was asked for ID in Dunnes, Edward Sq (for ONE bottle of wine). All I had was my Drivers Licence. She told me they were not supposed to accept it, but she did because I'm obviously over 18. She said that the Garda card and the Passport were two forms of ID they were allowed to accept. I'm not going to start carrying my passport around and as I'm 33, I've been told that I wont' get a Garda card. Ho Hum. The wine was lovely, by the way...:D
cooperguy wrote: » ... They treat both the staff and the customers as fools. If you are with a group of people buying thing seperatly they will still ID everyone even if your the only one buying drink. As if teenagers dont have the cop on to stay outside if they dont have ID!
ScumLord wrote: » Ye should all grow a beard, you'll never ever get asked for ID if you have a beard.
Sue Ellen Ewing wrote: » Pretty difficult for most women to do in fairness:p
ScumLord wrote: » That's such a defeatist attitude, plenty of bearded ladies would say otherwise. With all the modern hormones around these days I'm sure there's some sort of woman beard slap on down in boots. Great for winter too, you wouldn't believe the insulation they provide.
Messi 10 wrote: » Can I ask why she bothered asking you for your i.d. if she knew you were obviously over 18? I'm 18 and always just use my provisional driving license and never have any bother anywhere
Columc wrote: » But what happens if you produce the driving license, 2 other forms of ID, 2 credit cards and a laser card for proof of being the person. Is the whole driving license being forged a new thing around ireland or has it always been here.