davecadcm wrote: » MdS?? is that the 7 marathons in 7 days in the desert??? Am hoping to get into that at some stage when i get healthy again. I accept that it is an inconveniance but at the end of the day it is the best way for the charities to function and reach out to more people. As has been previously suggested, having someone stand on the street and not approach people would mabye raise €150 each day. What we do raises on average about €3,000 per day. (broken down the average person who signs up will give for 5 years and €4.80 per week adds up to €252 a year by five makes over €1260. the average fundraiser would get 3 per day so taking away the fundraisers and the companies pay that is over €3000 for the charity. Then there is the further increase of the tax efficent giving by which the charity can claim up to 72% of the persons donation back in tax which could be and extra €181.03 each year.) While a lot of people have had bad experiences with fundraisers it is usually the bad ones who will stand at the door and pester you. the good ones work on the law of averages so they want to get away from the people who do not want to sign up as quickly as possible.
davecadcm wrote: » Been thinkin bout this thread a bit more and its actually pi**ing me off. A lot of people need to shut the f**k up.... People are giving out about what is generally a minor inconveniance. how long does it take to get to your door and say im not interested politely. At the end of the day the charities we are working for are mostly trying to save lives in one way or another.. If my years work of going door to door has managed to save one childs life in the 3rd world or even get a child away from an abusive situation here in Ireland i recon its worth it. At the end of the day, no matter what the motivatin of the chugger, if they convince someone to sign up to support then it is quite possible saving a life somewhere else.... Just because it is no1 you know doesnt mean F**k all to me.... How bout you stop spending so much time bitching and do something about your situation.. Cant afford it?? get a part time job as well... or do a part time course so u can get a better job... Stop making excuses and cop the f**k on...
df1985 wrote: » theres literally one doing the rounds now on my road, not answering, dont give a ****e if she can see the tv on in the window. also anyone notice the amount of "fight against drugs" chuggers around these days and im sorry to be judgemental but a lot of them come across as complete skobes, tracksuits bottoms tucked into their air max's etc. my initial reaction to them is its a scam.has anyone spoke to these and found out what their "fight" is all about? wheres the money going?
eoin wrote: » Between them and the door-to-door sales people (yet).
davecadcm wrote: » have run into the fight against addiction guys a few times. not sure of their legitimacy.. I know they are not paid for it but past that not sure...
davecadcm wrote: » As far as I know they are looking for cash rather than direct debits...
davecadcm wrote: » I agree that the way a lot of charities are just putting a bandaid over the problem but the other option that MIGHT force a government to make changes would be to let these people suffer and die.... the overall problem is the way many of these countries are run. It is estimated that if sudan were to sort itself out they would be able to produce enough food to feed the whole continent of africa as well as stabilise and advance the aftican economy enough to allow it to catch up with the west with 30-35 years. But until the the world finds a way to stabilise these countries the work charities do is the only way... United, the irish public 'will not' stand up and make enough noise to get make a change in many of these places. We cant even sort ourselves out enough to look after out own country (1 in 7 children living in consistent poverty... not gauranteed a hot meal from day to day) what are the chances of us getting up and making enough noise to get foreign governments to take notice.... However we can go out and get people on an individual basis to help make the band aid bigger until it eventually covers the wound while we get to the hospital to get those stitches in
Berty wrote: » I just give them the Im unemployed thing and most go away except for the guy from the "Dogs Trust" who said "You must not like dogs so".
Mike 1972 wrote: » Unemployed people dont like dogs ?
Sheeps wrote: » Just tell them that you couldn't give a shite about starving aids ridden African children.
Berty wrote: » We take our social welfare and spend it on 35 things. (1)Alcohol (2)Cigarettes (3)In the Bookies(4) Other Drugs (5) TV's with really flat screens
Mike 1972 wrote: » FYP !
davecadcm wrote: » Yeah I am being paid to do it and to be honest how many people do you think would spend 40+ hours a week fundraising for a charity.. I do need to support myself as well....
davecadcm wrote: » It is amazing the amount of people i see at doors who will tell me they cant do it because they are out of work and yet point blank refuse to take a job with us... (not only draining money from the gov but turning down the chance to support themselves.)
Gladiator. wrote: » You don't really give 2 fcuks about the starving people ,chuggers get PAID! Why dont you donate every penny you're getting paid for doing it? Instead you boast 'I'm collecting money to save the third world people'... But in reality , you're in it for the money.
Collie D wrote: » Nobody has complained about charities...it's the chuggers who piss people off. If I'm approached by a charity and I say "no, thanks" that should be the end of the conversation. I have no problem dropping a few euro into a bucket or buying a daffodil or whatever but no stranger is getting my account details
CreepingDeath wrote: » In the grand scheme of things, charity bypasses evolution/natural selection, which lessens humanity, not make it stronger.
CreepingDeath wrote: » +1 If you help Africa, then you're shooting your children in the foot. As African conditions improve, it'll be the next cheap manufacturing labour force to compete for jobs. India entered the I.T. sector in force, and a load of call centres and outsourcing of computer programming projects went to them (with varying success). Dell jobs moved to Poland, but might move to Africa in another 10 years, who knows. In the grand scheme of things, charity bypasses evolution/natural selection, which lessens humanity, not make it stronger.
me_right_one wrote: » Look up hypocricy in the dictionary. FCUK YOU:mad:. I wouldnt lower myself, chuggers are scum of the earth. I'd rather go hungry. +1 Best post in the thread. Sums up what everybody's thinking.
billybigunz wrote: » Chugger chugger chugger scum scum scum The only good chugger is a dead chugger.