Larkin91 wrote: » Sorry, but the Gardaí are some of the nicest, most polite people I have ever come across. It is a shame they do not get enough respect. The only stories you hear about them are negative ones, which is a shame. The majority of people who deal with Gardaí do not speak out and praise them. People seem to only look out for flaws. It should be their duty to behave harshly towards offenders. I know OP you were only pulled over for a minor violation, but the Gardaí have to do their job whether aggressive or not.
Rest_Energy wrote: » The hostility towards Gardaí in this country baffles me.
kjl wrote: » Still not answering my question, why does the cop have to be some egotistical power tripping asshole, he could have dealt with the situation a lot better than he did. Ok I made a mistake, but come on I'm not a criminal.
kjl wrote: » He came out of his car like a raving lunatic screaming at me, I kept completely calm and asked him to lower his voice and slow down, to which he replied I was being hostile.
Dravokivich wrote: » No... I'm not a moran that blindly follows a Sat nav without looking out for road signs around me...
kjl wrote: » Yeah, you're a moron, who can't spell or click spell check.
Rest_Energy wrote: » I'm sure you're aware of how very condescending this is to do. Really? Telling a Garda to calm down when you've just gone the wrong way down a one way street? Seriously. If you did get into a car crash guess who'd have to be called out to assist? Argh.
messrs wrote: » was in car with someone and got stopped in routine traffic check and guard asked driver did he have full licence, which he did, he then asked to see it - he didnt have it on him so he told him he had 10 days to produce it to his local guarda station (fair enough) he then asked me for my licence and i said i didnt have it and he told me i also had to produce it within 10 days! ( i was a passenger!)
kjl wrote: » Which brings up my next point, there was no sign, I went back and checked, but how do I argue that? I "tell it to the judge" according to the cop, so instead of paying a €60 fine I have to take time off from my job where I make €60 in 30 min to go down to some court room and deal with explaining to the judge why I was not in the wrong. good luck to you.
Dravokivich wrote: » Taht cahgnes mi pint becuase?
magicface1 wrote: » ha ha Can I ask what age are you?
PaintDoctor wrote: » I've - through my own weakness of being a speed freak - encounter police in ....
stovelid wrote: » You make this sound unavoidable - like a genetic condition or a disease. To be honest, I can't even take valid criticism of the Gardai seriously from people like yourself and the OP because if this is the (no doubt sanitized/subjective) account you're both giving to us here, fuck knows what you are actually like on the road in real life.
kjl wrote: » Not at all, stupid sat nav drove me down the street, didnt see any sign. Last time was because my Tax was up about a week.
kjl wrote: » Clearly you missed the point of that one, I'm not questioning weather they are capable, I questioning what kind of girl actually does it.
kjl wrote: » And yes they caught me, but still no leads on the scumbag who beat up the old lady 4 doors down from me.
elviscostello wrote: » OP what if you were going up the correct way and some idiot came the wrong way and frightened the sh1t out of you? Would you prefer if the guards just "calm down" and not give that driver a talking to aswell? You went the wrong way, and it's obviously not the first time you've been pulled. Get a few refresher driving lessons and it might eliminate some of the Garda attitude.
kjl wrote: » I'm 29, The point is I can't argue my case without it costing me more money.
messrs wrote: » have to say OP i agree with you - i seriously cannot stand them!
k_mac wrote: » If there is no sign there would have been road markings. If not just take a picture. Send the picture and a copy of the fine to the local super with a letter explaining why the ticket was wrongly issued. If you are right and there was no sign or road markings he can cancel the ticket.
magicface1 wrote: » Your 29 years old... Your acting like a 17 18 year old giving out about a crap mistake YOU made... I know the garda may have over reacted but ffs. Coming on bitching about every garda over one persons actions and if you make €60 euro every 30 minutes thats €120 per hour (can I ask what job your in and are they employing?).
kjl wrote: » Im a software consultant, and no.
kjl wrote: » If you had to deal with the cocksucker I did today you would feel exactly the same way.
magicface1 wrote: » nice... do you seriously get paid €120 per hour or was that a over reaction?
PaintDoctor wrote: » I know. I'm a serial rapist. I do 140 on the motorway, which is clearly a 120 zone. I should be locked up for life.