Sofa King Great wrote: » Just because there was corruption in the past does not mean it should not be exposed as a risk now. Would you prefer they ignored the possibility of some debt ridden Gardai being "got at"
silent gav wrote: » Not when it's being used as threat.
Sofa King Great wrote: » Read the article and find where it is being used as a threat?
kodute wrote: » Its a pretty ****ty job separating drunken, fighting shams outside supermacs at 2 in the morning. Give them a fair wage.
Sofa King Great wrote: » What he said was: "There is always the likelihood - and it has been proved in other countries where you pay police forces at a rate of pay that puts them in a vulnerable place - that there is a risk of people being got at and that's a fact of life," Just because there was corruption in the past does not mean it should not be exposed as a risk now. Would you prefer they ignored the possibility of some debt ridden Gardai being "got at"
vodafoneproblem wrote: » Gardai, Nurses, Teachers, and everyone else in the PS make more than a fair wage at this juncture of our country. You know it and I know it.
kodute wrote: » Here we go, another Public Sector vs Private Sector debate, whose shít smells the least. Thanks :pac: I don't know that your incorrect statement is true and you certainly don't know it to be true.
vodafoneproblem wrote: » Gardai, Nurses, Teachers, and everyone else in the PS make more than a fair wage at this juncture of our country.
vodafoneproblem wrote: » I know my correct statement is correct! The only problem is our politicians and judiciary and doctors and surgeons and ....
Pay, Reference Points, and Police Performance Alexandre Mas University of California, Berkeley - Economic Analysis & Policy Group; National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) May 2006 NBER Working Paper No. W12202 Abstract: Several theories suggest that pay raises below a reference point will reduce job performance. Final offer arbitration for police unions provides a unique opportunity to examine these theories, as the police officers either receive their requested wage or receive a lower one. In the months after New Jersey police officers lose in arbitration, arrest rates and average sentence length decline and crime reports rise relative to when they win. These declines are larger when the awarded wage is further from the police union's demand. The findings support the idea that considerations of fairness, disappointment, and, more generally, reference points affect workplace behavior.
pasha75 wrote: » . When you talk about corruption is there anything in the last DECADE you can mention where Gardai deliberately were corrupt. Of course there will always be some rotten apples or operations where the Gardai are caught in the middle (SHELL etc) but I know the vast majority are honest decent people. .
heybaby wrote: » EXCEPT ONE, public house on harcourt street frequented by public servants
RoverJames wrote: » I just got this in a PM,
RoverJames wrote: » I just got this in a PM, "Normal Garda on the street, dirrecting traffic, patrolling drunken folks after pubs and clubs close etc could be done by most of the population, therefore it shouldn't command a high salary. Rank and file members are paid very well for what they do." Normal Garda on the street do all those things you've mentioned plus 10 times more, they are on standby all the time and are first responders to 999 calls and see and deal with the most horrific and hairiest of **** so you don't have to. I doubt most of the population could handle infant deaths, teen suicides road traffic collisions, having junkies threaten to prick you needles or have death threats on you. Members of An Garda Siochana agree that the normal Garda on the beat is the hardest and respected job of all An Garda Siochana, its the frontline. It deserves a decent wage. I deal with scum of the earth and see the unimaginable, the heart breaking and get paid to engage with scum of the earth. We protect your friends and family from burglars, thieves and assault etc... more times than you know by patroling your neighbourhoods unseen while you sleep. I earn 350 a week after tax and all those so called allowances. I have a mortgage of 1000 a month, a wife that works one day a week and has two kids to support. My bank goes to 0 each month i'm border line arrears as are many of my colleagues. I live in a ****ty 2 bedroom house. If i don't do overtime i won't make my bills... that simple. So i've taken a bit of umbrage to your sweepingly stereotypical post. Those in management positions i.e. the bosses are well paid but the grunts get fook all - If our work was performance based the rank and file would get little and the grunt on the street would be the highest paid as they do all the work, you really have no idea what goes on behind the scenes Paints a very good picture, no mention of - dial 999 and have to wait up to 30 mins for a squad car to arrive - the guards ferrying their girlfriends or random tramps home in squad cars on Saturday night at 2am ish in full view of the general population while on duty - Guards ignoring blatent scum who terrorise the elderly and families in "rough" areas. we can all add 3 or more points to the list. Who takes out a mortgage of a grand a month when they earn 350/week after tax. Five years ago I was on €50000/annum and thought long and hard about taking one for €850/month out. I wouldn't be surprised if a uniform annoys me over the coming weeks after this to be honest.
kodute wrote: » So you decided to post a PM in this thread to make your point, with the users permission I hope?