Krusty_Clown wrote: » Sorry to hear that MayoRoadrunner. Hope the recovery is swift. Don't rush it. All those winter miles will still be hiding there someplace, waiting for your next assault. Congrats on a fantastic 10k time.
MayoRoadRunner wrote: » Hi all, could'nt bring myself to even look at this thread the past 11 days. Tore a quad muscle 11 days ago. Spent few hours with physical therapist, few hours in O2 compression chamber, light stretching and iced it every 10 mins during the acute stage of the recovery. Rested it completely save for a light swim and few light spins on turbo trainer. Tried a light run on it last night and could only manage 3 strides when i had to stop because of the pain. My planned race (Rotterdam) is in 10 days so to go from 3 strides to 26.2 miles in 10 days is not looking achieveable. Leg is still very sore so complete rest seems like the only solution. Gutted to say the least as I had put in the hard miles during a terrible winter. Training was going well and had a decent 10km time on paddies day (35.11) so was confident of breaking 2.55. Its not to be. Will wait until I have fully recovered and may aim for a race in late May or else just hold off until DCM in October. To those of you still lucky to be out on the roads I wish you the best of luck with your sub 3 attempt. Hoping ye all stay fit and healthy. MRR
theboyblunder wrote: » ahh jaysus thats awful luck. 35'11 is a fantastic 10k time. you will smash 3 hrs at will when you get back. Plenty of marathons in the early/late summer! Rest up and get well soon
smmoore79 wrote: » Thats a kick in the teeth to say the least! With 35 mins in a 10km, Sub 2.50 would have been very achievable on the day. Hopefully you'll find another marathon not too far off.
Sosa wrote: » Sorry to hear that MMR,as said above 35:11 is a great 10k time,Sub 2:55 is well within your reach...hope your back soon.
--amadeus-- wrote: » Gutted for you. Best of luck with the recovery
Originally Posted by tergat On race day be PATIENT until 18 miles going out at 6.55 pace until then. Make sure to keep the first 4-5 miles at 6.55-7.05 pace and no faster. Then at 18 miles and ONLY then do you pick things up and come home strong.
Peckham wrote: » I have booked an appointment to get this text tattoo'd along the inside of my arm.
misty floyd wrote: » Your quote from the report that everyone slows down at the end, is that true because everyone gets to half way a little too fast? or starts a little too fast?
ergo wrote: » everyone slows down in marathon pace towards the end
ergo wrote: » even or negative split all well and good but since then I've read of studies which show that everyone slows down in marathon pace towards the end (that's the average among overall runners in the particular studies - reference Lore of Running - Noakes (4th Ed p 636)).
ergo wrote: » best of luck tomorrow misty - stick with your plan (obviously!)
Gringo78 wrote: » Some sobering stats from the London marathon:969 runners ran first half between 1:28:00 and 1:32:00 - only 122 or 12.6% ended up sub 3133 runners ran 'even' splits (1:29:45 to 1:30:15) - only 10 or 7.5% ended up sub 3250 runners ran 1:30:00 to 1:31:00 - 19 ended up sub 3 (7.6%)204 runners ran 1:31:00 to 1:32:00 - of these 2 went on to finish sub 3No one ran the first half slower than 1:32 and went to finsih sub 3.239 runners ran 1:29:00 to 1:30:00 - 29 (12%) went on to finish sub 3276 runners ran 1:28:00 to 1:29:00 - 72 (26%) went on to finish sub 3188 runners ran 1:27 to 1:28 - 75 (40%) went on to finish sub 3165 runners ran 1:26 to 1:27 - 99 (60%) went on to finish sub 3Lies, damned lies & statistics.....probably statistical analysis of marathon results are useless for working out the best tactic for running sub 3 because its a target for too many people and thus many throw caution to the wind and go for it when they're not ready??To test this theory, I also checked sub 2:48, a less 'magic' figure (but no less magic) - 195 runners ran 1:22 to 1:24 but only 39 or 15% finished sub 2:48. 267 runners ran 1:24 to 1:26 but only 1 went on to finish sub 2:48. Of the 67 runners who ran 1:23:45 to 1:24:15, only 2 went on to break 2:48.
Sosa wrote: » This sub 3 seems like a near impossible task judging by those numbers. Just shows how hard it is. As you said,it shows no indication of the best way to approach it.
Krusty_Clown wrote: » I still maintain that the best way to run sub3, is to train for 2:55 or better and let that be your goal. How many runners finished 3:00 to 3:01, because they cut the margins too tight?
Gringo78 wrote: » 493 runners ran 1:29 to 1:31 - 48 went on to run sub 3 while only 13 missed it by up to a minute, 18 by 1-2min, 65 by 2-5min & 152 by 5-10min. So it would seem its not poor timekeeping or cutting it too fine.
Krusty_Clown wrote: » I still maintain that the best way to run sub3, is to train for 2:55 or better and let that be your goal.
Sosa wrote: » I wont know for another 6 weeks if you are right Krusty,but thats the way i'm thinking of it aswell. All my pmp miles are around 6:35 pace,i have not done any over 6:40 yet,and hopefully that makes running at 6:52 easier for the last 6.2m. You would simply be cutting it to fine of you did pmp miles at 6:50.
Krusty_Clown wrote: » The goal of racing a marathon is not to run evenly throughout, but to run to the best of your ability. How many runners finished 3:00 to 3:01, because they cut the margins too tight?
mithril wrote: » Constant, evenly paced effort works well for me. Effort will be the same as pace on an even course and adjust as appropriate for the elevation otherwise. My understanding is that you want to avoid spikes where you are running faster than your sustainable level since this causes the lactate in your blood to rise at a much faster rate. By the way, 1:30:02 split for me in Berlin.