Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » What exactly is it we should do? March day in day out? Rubbish.
Why wait for the government? They are the ones with the power to change, not the people. So that idea you have is completely false. It's a load of shít that this idea of the "peoples republic" belongs to the people. It doesn't it belongs to the arseholes sitting in the Dail on there extremely high wage. It's their republic, it's their country and they control everything. We as a people, cannot do shít, we are not even allowed to re-ellect a new governing body, because the current government will not allow it. I'm not getting 100K a year to run this country. Remember that. .
Stanley Mysterious Gallbladder wrote: » No, absolutely not! You picked me up wrong and I could have made myself clearer. I just meant that it would be nice if they could come back to a better climate someday if they actually wanted to. But why should someone feel obliged, they shouldn't imo
ScumLord wrote: » we should have our farmers ignore the multinationals and start selling locally
The-Rigger wrote: » I'm not losing sleep over anyone leaving. I don't care. Good luck to them.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » If I chose to go to another country to find work, I am considered a traitor? I am abandoning my country, community, family and friends? Fcuk that, I am not sitting on my hole waiting for work to land on my lap, nore am I going to sit around this kip to wait for the government to act on the job crisis and do their fcuking jobs. I'm out of here as soon as I possibly can. I just hope my plans work out.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » Graduates have very little options for them now. There's the WPP scheme which can be up to 9 months free work, which is a great scheme, but that lenght of time on 196 a week including travel and other expenses, is a bit of a joke.
Deleted User wrote: » Its 150 a week for under 25s and the WPP scheme is gonna increase unemployment.....http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055852864&page=9 You couldnt possibly think thats a good idea? Choices are clean toilets for your dole or emigrate? hmmmn....
ScumLord wrote: » I've already said marching is pointless. If that's what you believe then you have given up on this country, your letting them walk all over you. As individuals we can achieve very little, if the towns around Ireland took it upon themselves to look after themselves they'd have more power like in other country's with local government. If people are hungry we have the land to feed them, we should have our farmers ignore the multinationals and start selling locally. If you need food, help the farmer. If OAPs are suffering it's up to their neighbours to help them, if roads and paths are damaged then just about every town in Ireland has the skilled workforce to do something about it. It's about time the people started helping themselves instead of waiting for the government to do something. We're waiting to be spoon feed instead of looking after ourselves.
ScumLord wrote: » I'm beginning to get a bit pissed off with all this talk of immigration. All these people are in effect abandoning they're communities, families and country, they're leaving this state to the corrupt money hungry "fat cats" that they're complaining about so much. Whatever happened to the fighting Irish, no ones prepared to make a stand for this country instead they flee with their tails between their legs. Is it really the government that is to blame when we do nothing to stand in their way?
ScumLord wrote: » I've already said marching is pointless.
If that's what you believe then you have given up on this country, your letting them walk all over you.
As individuals we can achieve very little, if the towns around Ireland took it upon themselves to look after themselves they'd have more power like in other country's with local government.
If people are hungry we have the land to feed them, we should have our farmers ignore the multinationals and start selling locally.
If you need food, help the farmer.
If OAPs are suffering it's up to their neighbours to help them
if roads and paths are damaged then just about every town in Ireland has the skilled workforce to do something about it.
It's about time the people started helping themselves instead of waiting for the government to do something.
We're waiting to be spoon feed instead of looking after ourselves.
Dr_Phil wrote: » Being an emmigrant (an immigrant in Ireland) myself I wish good luck to you. I bet in the OPs opinion you shouldn't have left the hospital, as this was the place you were born, neither your street, your town or your county. Remember, people are free and whoever is trying to enslave you - either by force or psychological tricks (like calling you "a traitor", "you've got free education here", etc) should be told to F**K OFF big time.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » You picked the worste jobs in the whole fcuking scheme. 10/10 for scaremongering. There are excellent job opportunities in that scheme. I for one will be trying my best to secure those opportunities. There will always be cowboys trying to maximise profits and take the government for a ride. Try ignore that aspect and this scheme is actually a decent one.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » This is very harsh and a very ignorant statement. Considering you know very little about me. I have given up on my country? How so? Is it because I refuse to take any more handouts? Is it because I wish to find work and there is very little work in this country for me at the moment? That's not my fault. Nor is it something I can fix.
Who is going to pay for the fields and for the crops to grow in them? Who is going to pay for the harvesting of these crops and the distributors of these crops. You also need to realise that Ireland is a small island, we rely on exports. If we did not have exports then this country would not exist as we know it. We also cannot simply ignore competitors or the rules and regulations set out by the EU.
Suffering in what sense? Lonliness? Disease? It's nobodies obligation to look after anybody else, not including your own dependants. It's a very noble thing to do, but it is not up to anybody to help your neighbour.
Why exactly would anybody pay to fix broken footpaths and roads out of their own pocket? Especially when the vast amounts of money we once had got blown on fancy hairdoos and helicopter rides for our government? We pissed money up against a wall, we couldn't get rid of it fast enough.
You keep saying "we". I rather you spoke for yourself to be honest. This person right here is trying his best to look after himself, I am doing what I can do to survive this crisis.
Stanley Mysterious Gallbladder wrote: » . Now most of them are back and love to give the likes of my Dad stick for never having the balls to leave and that it was because of men like them, who actually left for work and sent money home that the country stayed afloat at all.
Deleted User wrote: » no not scaremongering, when companies replace paid positions with unpaid fas jobs its definitely a step backwards. Schemes like that increase unemployment and encourage emigration
ScumLord wrote: » Ok, perhaps harsh but your statement about this not being the peoples country and there's nothing we can do about it did make my blood boil.
The fields are bought and paid for,
I'm talking about the farmer, the builder, the teacher all coming together to bypass the governments inadequacies. We're not starving yet but it's an example, all the resources and knowledge we need to fix this country are there they're just not being utilised.
I'd have to disagree, people need each other and should look after each other. You or I cannot survive on our own we need others and it's wrong to take and not give something back.
Because it's their path, why not invest they're own money in they're own community besides having the government waste it on the otherside of the country?
I have a job, I'm working on community projects, our town has been completely ignored so we've taken it upon ourselves to do something about it. When they said we couldn't have broadband we went and did everything we could to bring it in ourselves we failed due to regulations but within 6 months the town had broadband. If community's don't look out for themselves no one else will. There are ongoing projects that have been fought for tooth and nail we won't be dependant on a useless government.
Amhran Nua wrote: » I wouldn't hold it against anyone that wanted to leave to find work elsewhere. I wouldn't advise it though - this is our country, our home, where our friends and family are, and I think thats worth fighting for. Put the watered-beer-peddling publicans and the politicans with their ghoulish mé féinism and post colonial wisdom on the boat and lets run the place properly, Ireland could be an outstanding country with just a little effort. Its not right that people should be forced to emigrate against their will through the incompetent mismanagement of the place, and by the decisions of a minister whose father infamously said "we can't all live on this little island", for which he should have been run out of politics. I'm not standing for it and I don't think you should either.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » Nobody is being forced against their will, it's a difficult choice, but it's a choice none the less.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » What would you advise the people who are emigrating to do instead? People, including myself, are simply sick and tired looking for work in this country so we are trying elsewhere. We may get work elsewhere or we may not, but at least we are going to try.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » Your accusations and false claims boil my blood. I am not a rat, nor is it my fault that this country is in the mess it is in, nor is this country mine, nor can I do anything about it.
What fields? Where are they? Who paid for them? Are those people who paid for the fields going to let you plant on them for free? I highly doubt it.
I have the skill set to survive on my own.
Fair play to ye, but not everybody is in that situation, and not everybody really cares, nor should they. Yet, that's not going to fix the country. That's not going to get me a job.
narwog81 wrote: » i think moore mcdowell said on primetime that NAMA would wipe 5-6% of our annual GDP growth for the next 30 years. If thats the case then short of striking oil of the west coast we can forget about ever returning to anything close to the prosperity we enjoyed for the last decade
The equivalent of 5% being knocked of GNP for the next 20 years
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » It's scaremongering. You have linked two jobs and said that this whole scheme increases unemployment and emigration? Any proof on this or is it just speculation? If anything this scheme is going to help people secure a job as it gives them the skills and experience needed to secure a job these days.
Amhran Nua wrote: » Duress doesn't have to mean clapped in irons and dragged out to Shannon at gunpoint.
If you aren't political, get political.
Don't bother rolling the eyes
its as much a fact as the sky being up, and I couldn't really give a damn about the opinion of anyone that doesn't want to accept that for whatever reason.
The heart of all of our problems lies with the politicians and political system, and thats where the change has to happen.
If you take a look at the sig there you'll find a nice little group of people who are actively working at every level from community to national to enact change before the Publican Party drive us off the cliff entirely in a drunken haze. Start your own group, email a TD, whatever. Get involved and let people know that its not okay to sit and hope it all gets better by itself, it won't. They have no difficulty whatsoever signing away the futures of your children and mine in exchange for an easy life now. Lead, follow, or get out of the way. Thats what I advise you do.
ScumLord wrote: » Well if you can't do it no one can and there's no point in trying, there's no point moving to another country either because that's full of people and they can't do anything about their country.
The people of the town paid for it, the farmers are working night and day just to break even they're very open to new solutions, the only reason they stay on the farm is because they love it, it's not for profit.
Really? You can grow or kill your own food? You know medicine? You have the skills to make your own home from scratch? Maybe you are bear grills but most people cannot survive on their own.
If people don't care this country will fail. Most people do care.
Deleted User wrote: » 43minutes 30 seconds into part two of the right hook tuesday (yesterday 30/03/10) podcast:http://media.newstalk.ie/podcasts/popup To illustrate what a 5% reduction in GNP is: 6% is a booming economy - Celtic Tiger type stuff (Celtic Tiger ranged from 6-11% growth) subtract 5% = 1% growth which is stagnation at best.
No its not scaremongering if you were followiing the threads specifically about the WPP1/2 scheme you would see that there are dozens of examples of it being a scam.
One good example is the IBEC website 90% of the jobs are now unpaid. Microsoft are taking on 10 people under this scheme and the job description is that they all need experience.
The scheme will increase unemployment its really very basic economic, if you supply employers with free labour they will increase their consumption of this kind of labour thus displacing paid employment. Pretending or hoping it will help graduates wont make it a good scheme.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » You didn't say duress, you said forced. They are different words with different meanings. Decide which one you want to use.
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » I vote, that's as far as I go with politics. Why should everyone get involved further?
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » Everybody that follows politices even a little knows that, but how do you change it?
Hugo Curved Fibula wrote: » Not the best advice really, start a group? What has your group done so far? What have ye changed? I'd support any legitimate group that actually does something other than rallies and post blogs. It's not an easy thing to do.
ScumLord wrote: » Whatever happened to the fighting Irish
Raggaroo wrote: » Possibly thay are EMIGRATING to avoid being called immigrants !!!!!!
Amhran Nua wrote: » Okay then. Duress:1. compulsion by use of force or threat; constraint; coercion (often in the phrase under duress) So you're perfectly satisified with the options being offered to you by today's parties? Step by step instructions here. Usually a good first step is to join the party however. You don't say. We're had radio and newspaper interviews on the local, national and international level, held discussions with politicians of various stripes, including some fairly high ranking ones, had numerous of our policies lifted wholesale by both main parties, and hopefully they lift the rest soon because none of us are politicians, and as a result of this effort we've joined various committees and groups in our localities to help make the area better for our respective communities. Its a bit more involved than posting a blog, and a lot more involved than sitting moaning on the intertubes.
artanevilla wrote: » This is the attitude I don't like.