RonMexico wrote: » I agree with some of what you are saying here but a lot of people are afraid to stand up to these kids as you can't lay a finger on them or you will be the one to end up in trouble and people are afraid that there house will be targeted afterwards. It is not much fun to have your car windows smashed, house windows smashed, car keyed, garden plants ripped up etc etc.
southsiderosie wrote: » So let me get this straight: * Guards are understaffed * No curfew * No/few after-school programs * No active parents - and especially no active fathers - in many of these homes Therefore, there is no figure of authority at home, in school, or in the streets that could check anti-social behavior from kids. Something has to give here; at the point where people in a community are too terrified to tell 14 year old kids to keep it moving, you're ****ed. A curfew might be a good start. The kids who aren't causing problems will be more likely to observe it, and the kids who are willing to break the law are the ones that the guards would be likely to have to deal with anyway. Plus if is the kind of curfew where you parents have to come get you and/or are fined, 2-3 months of strict enforcement at the outset might get the parents (even if they are deadbeats) to also help with enforcement if, for no other reason, to save themselves the bother of having to pay and/or go to the police station. So it may end up being only a short-term strain on the guards.
aDeener wrote: » what do you think should be done oh enlightened one,:rolleyes:
ScumLord wrote: » But that's where a good solid community would be able in unison, to run the kids off the estate and should anything happen the poor fellas they fell of their own accord and there's 200 witnesses here that will say the same thing. People need to stop depending on the government for everything. It's not their fault your community in tatters. You can get so much done without them. Anything from playgrounds to securing your own town or area.
meditraitor wrote: » If the parents are scumbags then almost invariably the offspring will be little scumbags, But there are other reasons for scumbag kids, bad parents are not always scumbags just bad parents with problems that keep them from giving the kids the upbringing they need. Respect and honesty for a start. Most of the little scumbags I know are from broken homes, children of people with mental/drink/drug problems and of course scumbag parents.... The answer to this is ................................................
pickarooney wrote: » For once in a blue moon it snows - the lot of youse should be out in the streets engaging in one massive snowball fight stretching across the country.
hooradiation wrote: » oh please, this whole "ZOMG TEENAGERS ARE OUT OF CONTROL" bullshit is as old as time itself. for example You're just getting old and crotchety OP, your rocking chair and sanctioned list of "things what were better when i were a lad" have been sent to you and will arrive shortly.
j1974 wrote: » yes you are being naive and abit silly. fact is, they then know where you live, you could be replacing your front windows regularly in this case, or putting out your car. ive seen this happen al too frequently in finglas with scumbags. the major problem is that these are second generation scumbags, the father (if he can be found) and mother, are also scumbags and therefor have little empathy for others. they're just glad to have their dole and loan parents etc. it all come down to breeding in my book. I dont know what the row was about, but if you think that cos you've a flat dublin accent, they might fear you, you're sadly mistaken. Once you start woth these guys, you have to be prepared to go all the way, go outside and clatter the head off the biggest one or two of them and follow through on any subsequent threats you issue, they only understnad, force, violence and fear. If you have none of these in yards, then best just offer a kind ear and any other support to your neighbour, once the smoke clears.
kraggy wrote: » Ireland's gone to ****. If I were in government, I'd have it that 16 year olds and younger have to be accompanied outside by an adult after 9pm. If not, slap a big fine on the parents. Once money comes into things, parents aren't long copping on. I'm really beginning to hate Ireland. The amount of scum in our country is worse than Britain at this stage. I've lived there. It's not as bad as Ireland.
hooradiation wrote: » It's been shown time and time again that better social programs and encouraging a better home have a better effect on anti-social behavior than any of this zero tolerance shit. The problem is that they aren't instant and don't give the keyboard warriors of AH a chance to tell everyone how they should be allowed to beat/kill/sterilise anyone that they are afraid of.
BraziliaNZ wrote: » just outside my window now a load of kids in pyjamas etc (presume from the flats around corner) were throwing snowballs .
Ordinary man wrote: » I believe any law breakers should lose all entitlements to dole etc for life. .
Magnus wrote: » The Chinese have one thing right - licence for children. Have more than 2 and you get a bullet. They don't behave - bullet. Speak without raising their hand - bullet.
Mike 1972 wrote: » Show me someone who reckons theyve never broken any laws and Ill show you a self deluded hypocrite.
Bonito wrote: » Haven't seen you post in a while Rosie how's things, your xmas go well? Now to these pressing issues! Curfew? YES Guardaí should adopt a "take no guff" attitude, regardless of age? YES Hefty fines for neglegent parents? YES Reducing age punishable to full extent of law to 16? YES Whoever condones behaviour displayed by these "thugs" should be slapped! May we all pray that some day they'll all turn on each other and we'll be rid of the lot of them :rolleyes:
tedstriker wrote: » I was punched in the face at the Sandymount luas stop about 3 weeks ago by some teenager for no apparent reason. Had to wait 8 hours to get 3 stitches, great fun. The kid must have been wearing the finest argos gay-partner-for-life ring or had a key or something to leave the gash he did on my face from a not particularly hard whack. He wasn't provoked, he wanted money for the Luas and I said no. Sandymount is a nice area so that shouldn't really happen there but it did and it does. I was told by the security that the late nights on the Luas at christmas were greatly reduced compared to last year because of all the late night trouble. The guards who were called patrol the Luas line constantly and they told me that it was common place. I live in the city centre and have done for around 4 years now and never had anything like that happen to me there. Anti-social is the wrong term because kids like this think this IS being social. It was part of his night out and it is part of the night out for plenty of kids. If you want to encourage kids to do good then there are a million things that need to be done in order to get to that position. They/we are a product of our surroundings and if there are many elements of disorder around us we will see this as the norm. I am a fan of the "broken window" theory. The gardai don't tackle this sort of low level crime too much because it is tough to get any results and also there seems to be a slightly habitual resentment of the public by the gardai which is another issue altogether. It is time the Gardai tackled the smaller crimes with more enthusiasm and as a result you would find people in this society would feel safer. The government of course also need to ensure that the laws are there to allow good policing... not so long ago you could beg legally in this country, not that it makes a difference now the laws were changed.
dolliemix wrote: » Do you mean Sandymount Dart station? Or Sandyford Luas? Thats awful that happened. Just wondering cos my parents live near the sandyford luas station
Dudess wrote: » Who here actually lives in a community where they have to put up with significant intimidation from "feral" teenage gangs on a continuous basis? Encountering them in town the odd time before you head off home to a neighbourhood of zero anti-social behaviour doesn't count. OP, I lived in that very same area of Dublin, and really, you're in no position to be worrying about who'll protect "us".
tedstriker wrote: » Sorry, yeah I mean Sandyford Luas. It's bad it happened but to be honest my first reaction was to laugh. They guy was a whimp, he just ran off. I didn't even know I was bleeding until I got on the Luas. I'm still not at all upset really by it. He'll do it to the wrong guy some day and end up in A&E himself. .